Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible experience

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Absolutely nothing!!!
Cons: No comment
Location: View, lake and beaches and bike rental
Could not even check in!!!! Owner was not present, did not answer phone, did not return calls and employees were rude and not helpful at all!!!! Employees said they could not check us in then sat and played on their cell phones!!! Worst experience ever!!! Locals said this happens all the time at this hotel and that it is not a good place to stay!!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Nice boutique hotel in lovely Chautauqua

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: The unique décor of each room and the generosity of the general manager to help us pick the best room for our stay and to help us find dining...
Cons: The noise - floors were very squeaky and that sound carried to rooms below (but probably to be expected in an old place like this).
Location: We loved lunch at the Blue Heron Inn on Findley Lake and dinner at Scallion's Bistro. Southern Tier Brewing was a fun, casual night out.
We had a great 2 night off-season stay at the Spencer Hotel - the general manager, Bob, is very friendly and accommodating and took proactive measures to correct one unexpected change in our stay. The only thing I would caution visitors about is that noise travels easily between rooms and you will likely hear voices and squeaky floors. We enjoyed sitting on the porch, though an odd room configuration had our neighbors going to and from their room via the shared porch. Bed was very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Mendota Heights

Location, location....walk, walk

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice quiet room with private bath, in the heart of town.
2 out of 5
by R

dump

Posted Jun 20, 2015 on Hotels
Its a dump I couldn't stay in it. I want my money back
2 out of 5
by R from Buffalo, NY

It's all about expectations

Posted Jun 15, 2015 on Hotels
There is a reason the hotel had the availability it's small rooms although clean were old and needed refurbished badly. The hotel only loosely looks like the photos on the site. I had the impression it would be like the St Elmo but it wasn't. BTW: A storm had just passed through and they had no power for the last several hours I left without staying. Can I get my money back?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved It

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels
Was here for business. Was great. Food was great. Nice and quiet. Super cute, super relaxing.
4 out of 5
by Dan from Syracuse.

a trip back in time.

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely turn of the century resort. A little hard to find but worth the search. If you are into large modern hotel rooms its not for you. More like an old inkeepers cottage. Great breakfast. Make sure its what you want because they give refunds on cancellations.
5 out of 5
by Diana from Pennsylvania

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels
My friend and I attended a quilt show that was 3 days long. The hotel was very close to everything we needed to see and buses ran the entire day to get you from one place to the next. It was a great area and the people at the hotel made you feel like you were part of their family. Loved the place and will stay again. It was very charming and relaxing.
5 out of 5
by Tom from Yonkers

Breathtaking

Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels
Gorgeous hotel and lakeside community. The innkeepers are very friendly and professional with delicious meals and personal care. You will fall in love with Chautaqua! Only caution is not to rely on GPS to get you to the hotel. The community is gated and the street names are impossible to find if you aren't aware you need to approach the closed gate (even though when I was there the gate was closed, not attended, at it wasn't clear that the hotel I was staying in is behind there).
4 out of 5
by Nicole from Pittsburgh, PA

Adorable literary-themed hotel in Chautauqua

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels
We booked our stay at the Spencer Hotel on a whim, and were very pleased with how it turned out! While this is a hotel, it feels more like a bed-and-breakfast; each room has a different theme and is decorated to reflect that, there's a lovely sitting room with board games galore, and tasty breakfast is served up each morning by the owners! We were NOT there during the Chautauqua Institution's season, which is probably a very different experience. But our room was clean and bright, the bed was comfortable, and it's located right in the middle of Chautauqua, so walking around was easy peasy. We'd definitely suggest checking it out!