Ratings based on 651 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgusting smell

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Good Location
Cons: Please check the ventilation system
My family stayed the hotel two days(Jul 11 and July 15). On Jul 11, we went to the hotel and hotel stuff can not find my booking on their system. And asked me to contact with Expedia directly and we wasted about one and half hour to panic waiting there because no other hotel is nearby at all! And there was disgusting smell in corridor after check-in. (The room was fine and upgraded by Expedia due to the check-in issue). On Jul 15, we came back the hotel again. They assigned us a room right above Kitchen: there was a horrible/disgusting smells in the room instead of corridor this time.(They even put two fans and air fresher can in the room to try to blow away/cover the smell). I complained the front desk and they said that they could not do nothing! If possible, please avoid the hotel and I think that the ventilation system has some issue in the hotel so it can not ventilate properly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Fabulous location

Posted Jul 11, 2017
The hotel is in a fabulous location with views out onto the Athabasca Glacier and surrounding mountains. the rooms are good, parking easy, however very busy with all the other tourists. Onsite cafe, restaurant, gift shop, tourist information desk and ticket facilities for the glacier experience and skyline walkway. The only complaint is that the prices for accommodation, meals, glacier etc. are very high! Deep pockets are needed!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

satisfied - excellent location

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: roomy, clean, better than expected.
Cons: no air conditioning, no fridge, no microwave which is understandable.
Location: excellent excellent locatoin, just at the 3rd floor of the ticket office and visitor center for glacier advanture and skywalk pick up location.
As the only hotel around 150km radiaus, I was satisfied with this hotel, better than what I expected. the room was at 3rd floor, and it had two stories. second story only has two single beds which fit to my two boys very well. room was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastbourne UK

Excellent views of Glacier

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: View of Glacier
Cons: Chalet restaurant quality.
Location: This hotel is ideally situated for trips to Columbia Ice Field and Sky Walk. There is nothing else nearby.
We had difficulty locating the main entrance to the hotel which is inside the main Glacier Adventure Centre. The view from our room was spectacular. Trips to the Columbia Ice Field and Sky walk start from the Centre. The food in the Chalet was poor quality and cold. The food in the main Altitude restaurant was very good but at certain times there is a queue and long wait.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This hotel is all about the LOCATION

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: The restaurant 'Altitude,' the deck up top (BYOB of wine ;) ), the space in each room.
Cons: The views (if you get "mountain view"), the way to enter, parking, some bonuses or amenities, maybe offer a discount at the restaurant for guests.
Location: Literally right across the street from the Athabasca Glacier (and the Icewalk).
This hotel was just okay. We booked it the night of doing the Icewalk, so we could just pop over to the hotel after. That was great. The meal was great. After that, it falls flat. We got a mountain view room, not glacier view. That means, you can see the sandy mountain above the parking lot where the staff takes their cigarette breaks. There is no AC so to keep the window open, you are always hearing the staff discuss. You also have to park where the tour buses park, and lug your stuff across the bridge, through the Brewster Tourism entrance, fighting through the tour crowds, and into the lobby. Once you check in, you have to go back out to the crowds, and get to the elevator to take it up to your room. We did have a huge loft room which was nice. And I was pleased to find out, they have new eateries. I was prepared for them only to have the cafeteria, so brought some food with me. Once we found out they had a new restaurant (the cafe was closed by the time we finished the icewalk), we went to check it out. It was Altitude. The setup and decor was beautiful, the views were great, and the food was even better. That was a pleasant surprise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset UK

Only hotel at Glacier

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Pros: Enabled us to do first trip onto the Glacier of the day.
Cons: Better signs for hotel entrance. Perhaps a discounted breakfast could be offered for hotel guests.
Location: Glacier trip.
Plenty of free parking. Not well signed to hotel. Very helpful staff when booking in. Room felt tired. Coffee machine did not work had assistance new machine arrived but still did not work, tried the other plug in the double socket machine worked. Stopped at hotel because we wanted to do the first trip of the day. Husband took sunrise photo's amazing. Only 13 of us on first glacier trip of the day. Did Sky Walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous views!

Posted May 25, 2017
Our room had a great loft with two single beds that made our 2 children under 8 feel pretty special and added some privacy for mom and dad. Was a bit of a hike from where you have to park to check in and wasn't clearly signed exactly where to go to check in from the outside. The location is great and the views of the mountains and glacier is spectacular. The bed we had was a queen and had seen better days as it was dished out and we were rolling into each other, good thing we still like to cuddle ;) We went for breakfast in the morning to the restaurant, the menu was a little weak and the service was slow. The saving grace was again the scenery! Wow! We would stay here again overnight but that's about it. It was a little pricey for what you get but when you factor in the remote location it must cost a lot to run.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Lodging at the Columbia Ice Fields

Posted May 22, 2017
At least 100 kms from Jasper and 130 from Lake Louise, the only reason to stay here is to enjoy the Columbia Ice Fields and Athabasca Glacier. The onsite restaurant has a limited menu but the food is excellent. Rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. Very relaxing atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location and service

Posted May 21, 2017
it's nice to have a place to rest between Banff and Jasper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017
Very enjoyable stay. Rooms were huge! The one thing we wish we had looked into before was restaurant times, since we arrive pretty late to find the kitchen had just closed.