Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS, Canada

Ski resort with heated pool

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Great location, near the town of Jausiers, and very convenient for hiking.
Cons: The hotel needs some touch-ups (minor repairs, coat of paint, etc.). Also, dish washing supplies should be provided.
Location: We went on a lovely hike from Larche (AMAZING views/scenery). There is also hiking within the Mercantour National Park.
We stayed in a house-keeping unit (with kitchen, balcony, etc.). There was a lovely heated pool with a great view. The location was very convenient for excursions into the mountains (GREAT hiking a short drive away!!). We made our own meals, but the for-fee breakfast seemed pretty good (from what we saw). The laundry facilities were 2 washers (no dryers??), shared with the hotel cleaning staff. We decided against using them. We had to ask for dish detergent, dish cloth, and dry cloth, and what we received were very poor quality and very well-used (e.g. stained). There was a dish washer in the unit, so perhaps most people just use this. But how are you supposed to wipe off the counter without a cloth? It was a bit strange. The place overall needs some touch-ups (e.g. new coat of paint), but was otherwise fine. There is a small parking garage on-site, and a few spots outside.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Picturesque but services are lacking

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed there for 4 nights, in one of the more modern building (not the castle itself). We rented the studio and it's pretty small, even by french standards: the bed (double) is walled on 3 sides (!), the bathroom is actually a good size with a large tub (but no overhead shower head!). The kitchenette is functional but there isn't much beside pots and pants (no salt, pepper, oil...). There is a small table and sofabed (which when open will take all the space in the dining area). Free Wifi was supposedly available in the room, but it turns out to the worst that I have seen in a long time, barely usable (provided by a service provider Noodo - avoid them at any cost). No phone in the room, didn't try the TV (which was a tiny 22" flat screen thing). No room service for 4 days either!!!! There is a covered parking (which should be great in winter). The pool is covered and really long (50' at least), good for doing laps. The hot tub was cold, but the sauna was nice. In the end it was reasonably priced for the services offered, but probably won't repeat tho.
5 out of 5
by Joyce from USA

Great hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
Our room was upgraded for free. Beautiful view of the Alps from our balcony.
4 out of 5
by ChrissieM from Nice

A proper Château!

Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels
There really is a castle in the Château des Magnans, although our room was in one of the other three buidlings of the complex. Our studio appartment was very warm and cozy, and it was great having the kitchenette. The hotel location is great, near many different ski areas and Jausiers is very close to Barcelonnette which has more dining options if you're looking to eat out. Facilities are great, although the pool and sauna get very busy as you would expect in the early evening when everyone gets back from skiing.
4 out of 5
by Malcolm Stuart

Posted Sep 22, 2012 on Hotels
Great location with magnificent views. Good value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2018
Bon séjour dans l’ensemble, dommage que l’espace spa ne fonctionnait pas
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Voyage en famille

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Excellent hôtel. Nous vous le recommandons. Emplacement génial et pratique. Duplex vraiment magnifique et spacieux. Tout le confort et même plus avec une piscine chauffée et le sauna dans la résidence. Très bon souvenir nous reviendrons.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nice, FRANCE

Très mécontent !!!

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Location: IMPOSSIBLE de joindre les photos ???
Les portes et le lit grincent, la literie est bas de gamme, pas de connexion opérateur Orange ni de wifi dans l'appartement, il faut sortir sur le balcon ou utiliser le salon dans un autre bâtiment. Digne d'une auberge de jeunesse mais pas d'un trois étoiles !!! Chahut dans les couloir, déménagement de meubles à des heures tardives, les portes qui claquent.. L'espace ludique piscine est en travaux, le sauna en panne, le jacuzzi en panne, le hammam, à utiliser avec précautions (risque de panne) et les heures ont changées le lendemain de notre arrivée. Le parking fermé n'est pas respecté, certain prennent deux places et personne ne dit rien. Beaucoup de travaux de maintenance et de remise en état devraient être réalisés. Bien pour une nuit si l'on ne trouve pas où coucher mais pas pour un long séjour comme nous. Monsieur EXPEDIA devrait se renseigner avant de vanter les mérites de cet hôtel. Les logement du château sont peut-être mieux ??? Ceux des annexes sont décevant. Je ne pense pas refaire confiance à EXPEDIA pour mes prochains déplacements. Cordialement, René K.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Drôme

super week-end prolongé de la Toussaint !

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
beau duplex spacieux, lumineux et très propre, très belle vue, personnel très gentil, accès piscine hammam jaccuzzi tres reposant après les randonnées. juste petit bémol. .. attention sol pres des marches et 1ère marche de la piscine glissant mais ils ont promis d essayer d y remedier. merci pour ce beau sejour. nous retenons l hotel et ne manquerons pas d y revenir.