Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Disappointing

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Staff are cheery and helpful without being too imposing. Swimming pool is great (cold water, the way I like it)
Cons: Complete change of ALL furniture including carpets, complete refurbishing of walls and ceilings (removing old paint, drying, repainting.
Location: Within walking distance there is a beautiful masjid (mosque) and a pharmacy but you have to cross a crazy busy road to get to either one.
I used my expedia points to book a Royal Club Room and I now feel that I wasted $500+ worth of points!! The whole royal club floor (5th) smells like mildew and rotting furniture!! The carpets are ancient, the room's ceiling and walls has humidity spots where the paint is peeling, the bathrooms are not that clean neither is the room. Some of the towels were dirty. Overall this is not what you would expect in a decent 4 star room let alone a "Royal Club" one.. Even the quality of food is deteriorating (I've been staying in this hotel on and off for three years now). There was a dead insect in the swimming pool that stayed there for at least 2 days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Cluster General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr, Maan Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at Radisson Blu Hotel, Jeddah. We are really sorry that we couldn't meet your expectations. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Best regards, Shakeel Al Hamid Cluster General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NEED TO IMPROVE

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Providing Arabic Coffee like all hotels in Jeddah
Location: Good central location
I RESERVED A TWIN BEDDED ROOM, but was given a king bed room and the front officer manager (his name is Nawaf) insisted that this was what I had requested and told me "we have no twin beds available". The Duty Manager found the truth and gave me a twin bedded room. Housekeeping never cleaned the room without requesting that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Shakeel Al Hamid Cluster General Ma, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to complete this review, Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel. Best regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel is in need of serious refurbishment... Facilities are run down and inner court is dirty
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Badr Abd Al Aziz, Hotel Management
Dear valued Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review You are absolutely right some of our rooms needs refurbishment and this what actually we are doing right now as we just completed 3 floors and by end of October the entire hotel rooms will be done Thank you very much Looking forward to welcome you back Best Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riyadh, KSA

Location was OK but A/C did not work properly!

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Location, upgrade
Cons: A/C was too noisy and not functioning
Second time in same hotel, upgrade was appreciated but breakfast was too simple with very little varieties to choose from, A/C did not work properly till I called front desk at 5 AM! Parking is little complicated as you have to drop the car by from door and them collect keys and walk to parking lot when you want to leave!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Badr Abd Alaziz, Hotel Management
Dear Bandar Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review We are sorry that we didn't meet some of your expectations, however we will definitely use your valuable comments as a constructive feedback to improve our services Thank you very much Looking forward to welcome you back Best Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jordan

Good Hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Clean room, good service
Cons: Answering the phone at night (sometimes)
Location: Not bad location but not the best also
Nice service, good hotel and some of the staff were very helpful, the receptionist Akram Jomaa was very helpful, I liked the hotel, however, the location is not the best
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Badr Abd Al Aziz, Hotel Management
Dear Suleiman Thank you very much for taking the time to complete this survey which we believe always that our guests feed back is the only way to improve our services to meet their expectations Thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk UK

Practical, comfortable and good value

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Staff.
Cons: Fabric, but it doesnt matter, everything worked.
Location: No idea
As others have said, the staff at this hotel are what makes it. They cant do enough to please and smile all the time. Breakfast is good value, and the waiter went to find me a cafetiere of coffee because I dont like instant (the norm in KSA, Im afraid). Rooms were a bit tired but bed and linen, towels were new, and very comfortable. This hotel was good for a woman on her own. Safe too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Cluster General Manager, Hotel Management
Deart: jan Thank you for your comment. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Radisson Blu Hotel, Jeddah. Your satisfaction is a great compliment! We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel. Best regards, Shakeel Al Hamid Cluster General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Very nice hotel and friendly staff. I would stay there again. The food is wonderful. Good location if you want to go around in Jeddah. Mecca road is very accessible from the hotel. Many restaurants are in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Badr Abd Al Aziz, Hotel Management
Dear Walid Thank you very much for the time you toke to write this review Looking forward to welcome you again
2 out of 5
by Mamoun

Poor choice for a hotel.

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was a bad choice. To begin with, the location of the hotel on google maps and hotels.com is WRONG. We went to three different locations around Jeddah until we finally reached the correct hotel. While we were trying to navigate for the location, we called the hotel and the staff were not helpful at all. Shower head in the bathroom was broken, The room should have been blocked and not given to guests in this manner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017
Dear Mamoun, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We regret to hear you had trouble finding the hotel and for the disappointing service you received when you called the hotel. We are also sorry your shower head was not working. We appreciate your comments and will use your feedback to improve our guest experience.
5 out of 5
by Asghar

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017
Dear guest : asghar Thank you for your comment. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Radisson Blu Hotel, Jeddah. Your satisfaction is a great compliment! We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel. Best regards, Shakeel Al Hamid General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
nice and big hotel with positive people like to work
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Shakeel Al Hamid, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing the Radisson BLU Jeddah for your recent stay here in Jeddah and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Please be assured that Radisson is very committed in its efforts to provide a professional service up to the luxury standard to all guests, which is our principal objective We apologize that our service as indicated in your review did not meet expectations and rest assured we shall be working to improve in those areas as indicated. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Your constructive feedback is highly important to us and any point shall be taken on board.