Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Older hotel. Clean. Well maintained. Very friendly and caring staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by PK, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

It's not quite a dump, but very close

Posted Nov 9, 2017
This motel is old and out of date. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, but it hasn't been updated in a very long time. The complimentary breakfast was pathetic. Your choice of two generic cereals, instant oatmeal, or a make-your-own waffle. No fruit, no eggs or meat if any sort, no yogurt. Watery coffee, orange juice, and milk. Powdered creamer. Obviously the owners are not putting any of the profits into guest upgrades.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by PK, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad the room was clean and comfortable. I'm sorry you did not like the breakfast offered, we are attempting to get a restaurant back after the other one left unexpectedly last month. We do hope you'll give us another try in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel was a convenient location.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: The convenience of the location, the price, and the breakfast included.
Cons: Make sure a room is functioning, totally clean, and without damage before sending people to it.
Location: It is located in a small town, with plenty of restaurants and activities nearby.
We had a good check in and check out. We had to change rooms because the sink in the first room wasn't connected. The second room was reasonably clean, but had a socket that didn't work, a hole in the bathroom wall and mismatched paint, and the tub wasn't very clean. We heard some of the rooms had been remodeled, and wished we'd had one of them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by PK, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us we appreciate your business. We are sorry that you had to change rooms and the 2nd one was also not fully read. We do hope you return soon. Hopefully by Spring we'll have the rooms fully renovated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Creston, NC

Older facility, but okay place to stay

Posted Oct 19, 2017
This hotel is what I would call past its prime and could use a renovation, but it was an okay place to spend the night. The price was better than most hotels in the area and the room was clean. It served its purpose.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by PK, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business. We are happy that you found us comfortable and affordable. We hope to see you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jefferson, North Carolina

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Room was fine, but after going to bed, had bugs in the bed. They were on the sheets, pillows. Moved to the other bed, and had a few on that bed too. Did not sleep well. There were at least 20-30 bugs that I killed. They had blood in them, when killed. Don't know what kind of bugs they were. Reported the bugs, and my money was refunded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by PK, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We are very sorry that you encountered a bug problem. They are hard to detect except at night when they come out and it had gone unnoticed. We refunded your money and we have put the room into a heat treatment to kill the bugs. We do hope you'll stay with us again in the future, and we are very sorry for this issue.
4 out of 5
by Shweta

Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2017 by PK Sinhal, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by Sherry

Check It Out Before You Book

Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel room is a decent size and has fridge and microwave. Bed was comfortable. The air/heating unit had a bad smelll. The restaurant people quit that night with no warning so there was no breakfast bar as advertised.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2017 by PK Sinhal, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, I"m sorry that there was a disruption in the breakfast. Blue Ridge Bistro did indeed stop service unexpectedly. They gave no notice to the Days Inn that they were closing down. We have since made other arrangements to make sure people get a breakfast. We do hope you will return in the future and stay with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charlotte, NC

Close to fly fishing in the mountains.

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: quality of food service
Location: fishing, hiking, mountains
Convenient to fly fishing in nearby mountains. new carpet in our room and many others. Restaurant is old and very out of date. Breakfast is weak, but the staff is very nice. Clean room with good rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2017 by PK, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to the mountains. We have done some renovations and are pleased you like the direction they are taking. We do hope to see you again soon.
1 out of 5
by Dianna Steedley from Buxton nc

I'll never stay there again

Posted Oct 5, 2017 on Hotels
The days Inn is disorganized, had reservations and called ahead to make sur the 2 rooms were side by side and on bottom floor because my mother is in a wheelchair and my husband is an amputee, they assured me that it was all set, when we arrived our rooms were separated by 2 other rooms! The gentleman apologized and redid our rooms which had not been cleaned so we didn't get in till after 4 o'clock after riding over 8 hrs! the rooms are not clean(watched the housekeeper wipe everything down with the same rag and NO cleaner) ripped my shirt on a nail sticking out of the door jam that had been busted,couldn't take a bath because the stopper was broken. towels but no wash cloths, went to office for do not disturb signs and the boy had to go to other rooms to get them. This place is a dive!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by PK Sinhal, Hotel Management
I'm sorry there were issues with your stay. We will do better next time. We do hope you'll give us another chance in the future. Thank you for staying with us.
3 out of 5
by Christina

It was okay...

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
It was fine over all, however our shower had no shower curtain. Everything else was fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2017 by PK Sinhal, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. I"m sorry that the shower curtain was missing for some reason. Most likely the housekeeper had taken it down and washed it and forgot to put it back up. I'll have them check the room. We hope to see you again soon.