Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Historic Inn

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Came to Virginia for a family wedding and chose the MacArthur Inn for it's price and proximity to the wedding site. The history of the Inn and the friendliness of the staff made our stay enjoyable. Got to meet the owner who shared his knowledge of the area and the Inn and made our stay all the more special. Would have no problem staying again at the MacArthur Inn.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Sheets were dirty!

Posted Sep 29, 2017
The most alarming part of the whole experience was that the sheets had not been changed. One set had blood on them and the other had crumbs and a foul odor. The room smelled strongly of food odors. There were insufficient towels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

visit

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: history
Cons: offer continental breakfast
Location: hiking and history
gentlemen; whom runs the Hotel was very friendly and accommodating!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Scary experience - might be good for Halloween!

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
House of horrors! There is only so much that fresh paint can cover up. Upon check in, I was given a fob with two keys - I asked what the second key was for and was told that was a key to the outside door for "after hours". The door handle and security latch to my room were of closet door quality - definitely not very secure. The cable TV in my room did not work, as most channels were jumpy and unwatchable. No drinking cups in the bathroom, and no bath mat. The toilet seat was not level, and the sink looked like it would fall off the wall at any time. I tried sleeping on the pancake thin pillows, and proceeded to swipe at a variety of bugs that proceeded to land on me in the night. The ceiling tiles in the bathroom were stained and about to fall down. When I went to shower, there was a strange, 2-inch long centipede creature in the tub that I cautiously washed down the drain. After showering, the water backed up about 1/2 inch in depth in the tub...when it finally drained, a nasty brownish/black sediment gurgled back up and left a nice sediment in the tub. Last, I left the hotel before 5am in the morning..there was no way to drop the room key in the drop box at the desk and lock the exterior door. I finally figured out to exit through the emergency exit doors at the end of the hall. I have stayed in a lot of different hotels and accommodations around the world, including third world countries. This one ranks in the bottom 3 of all that I have visited.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Cons: Just about everything needs to be upgraded/repaired.
- Uncomfortable bed - Fruit flies - No stopper in sink - Ten minutes for hot water to appear from shower head, by which time there's standing water in the tub, because the tub doesn't drain properly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to events attending

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: There was a lot of history surrounding this hotel. If there had been more time I would have learned more about it.
Cons: A listing of places to get food that is near by.
This is an older facility. It was very close to the events we were attending and it worked well for us. There is a lot of history here. The room was clean and quiet. If you are looking for a modern, new building this place is not for you. I would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by barb

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
When we went down for breakfast at this bed and breakfast at 8 (breakfast was to be from 6-10) no one was there. No one at the desk no one in the kitchen the place was Empty I called the number left at the desk which went to a voicemail that was never answered. So we left the keys at the desk and left
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Nice People

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: The people who ran it
Cons: Well......it is an old building....reduce the price
Location: You can go to Virginia Tech from here....not a bad little drive. Beautiful rural roads
The people who run this place are very very nice. It is a 1938 run down hotel and they make do with what they have. One of the the staff said "Most hotels have perks, we have peculiarities" and that they did. If you are ok with a youth hostel this is good......but it is way over priced
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, VA

Hotel is like a historical B&B

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: more comfortable beds
Location: Close to Appalachian Trail. Offers unique horse & buggy rides
Friendly staff, clean (but outdated) rooms, nice breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
bed was very hard and uncomfortable. Bathroom tub needed replaced. Paint was also peeling in many places.