Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Cons: Just about everything needs to be upgraded/repaired.
- Uncomfortable bed - Fruit flies - No stopper in sink - Ten minutes for hot water to appear from shower head, by which time there's standing water in the tub, because the tub doesn't drain properly
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to events attending

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: There was a lot of history surrounding this hotel. If there had been more time I would have learned more about it.
Cons: A listing of places to get food that is near by.
This is an older facility. It was very close to the events we were attending and it worked well for us. There is a lot of history here. The room was clean and quiet. If you are looking for a modern, new building this place is not for you. I would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by barb

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
When we went down for breakfast at this bed and breakfast at 8 (breakfast was to be from 6-10) no one was there. No one at the desk no one in the kitchen the place was Empty I called the number left at the desk which went to a voicemail that was never answered. So we left the keys at the desk and left
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Nice People

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: The people who ran it
Cons: Well......it is an old building....reduce the price
Location: You can go to Virginia Tech from here....not a bad little drive. Beautiful rural roads
The people who run this place are very very nice. It is a 1938 run down hotel and they make do with what they have. One of the the staff said "Most hotels have perks, we have peculiarities" and that they did. If you are ok with a youth hostel this is good......but it is way over priced
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield, VA

Hotel is like a historical B&B

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: more comfortable beds
Location: Close to Appalachian Trail. Offers unique horse & buggy rides
Friendly staff, clean (but outdated) rooms, nice breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
bed was very hard and uncomfortable. Bathroom tub needed replaced. Paint was also peeling in many places.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Expected more for the price.

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Owner was interesting to talk to.
Cons: Better mattresses, 4 pillows for each double bed. Remove the stink bugs.
Location: Looks like lots of river access close by. Appalachian Trail close by. 30 miles from Virginia Tech.
The owner checked us in and was an interesting guy to talk to. The rooms were clean except for a dozen or so stink bugs that were clinging to the walls about ceiling level. Couldn't reach them to remove them. My 10 year old had a hard time sleeping for fear of the stink bugs flying around and landing on her. The beds were ok but only had 2 small, flat pillows per bed. Some of the amenities that we are used to having at other hotels were missing. No hairdryer, no ironing board, no refrigerator in the room, no coffee maker, etc. May be my fault for not looking deeper into the amenities available before booking. Easy check-in and check-out. Other than the stink bugs, it was just a simple, bed for the night kind of room.
5 out of 5
by William from Dublin, OH

OSU vs VT football game trip

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
Staff was very professional. Made us feel welcome.
5 out of 5
by Nathan from Troutville

Great hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Great location. Slept great
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2015
The worst hotel I have stayed in. I wasn't expecting much but it was bad