Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jan 2, 2017
The guest house has lots of potential with a nice location and good facilities. The staff are friendly, the breakfasts were good and the communial areas had nice sea views. However, we paid extra for a superior room which said it had a balcony and sea views but it had two windows opening onto a public parking lot and the other opening onto the hotel beach entrance. The effect being that we had to keep the curtains closed and be in a dark room as there were people constantly walking by who could see in. We complained about this. If it was not busy season we would have gone elsewhere . The staff mentioned that many people have complained about this. In our opinion, unless you book the most expensive executive room, if you want privacy and a sea view from your room, it's not worth it. If you don't mind these then booking would be ok as you are on the beach (not the main swimming beach).
5 out of 5
by Stewartnb from Sevenoaks

Beach break

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Brilliant!!! just the most ideal quiet beach location.
5 out of 5
by Milagros from Buenos Aires

Excellent!

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel. We got a free upgrade and got a larger room. Literally in front of the beach, with easy acces. Great breakfast. Excellent service. I definitely recommend!
2 out of 5
by Anne Marie from USA

Not recommended

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
I spent just one night at this hotel with my 2 daughters and requested 2 rooms next to or close to each other. They didn't honor my request and put us in different sections of the building and my daughters on the ground floor with outside door (There was a metal gate in front of the sliding doors that they had to lock and my daughters had to turn the alarm on when in or outside of room)...doesn't give you a feeling that they will be safe. Food at hotel during breakfast was great. I would not return here because I didn't feel safe...
4 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Perfect place in beach

Posted Mar 8, 2015
cozy and luxurious swank room in a great location. Fantastic breakfast to say least. Great staff, the manager he is a Gem. Can't complain about a thing...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC Canada

Quiet location on the beach

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: Loved the location on the beach
Loved this hotel. Was located right on the beach. Staff were very friendly. Great Breakfast. Nice for long walks on the beach. Romantic. Quiet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield UK

It really is on the beach

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: ???? nothing
Location: J bay is a thriving surfers paradise. Beautiful beach walks (I'm too old to surf) and a nice little town
An absolutely beautiful place to stay. To be fair we did stay in the best room, but the condition throughout was outstanding. The view from our window was amazing, and the staff are really helpful. It was a shame to close the curtains at night and I couldn't wait to open them in the morning. Very quiet (except the waves). Try it you won't be disappointed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels
Great common room with amazing view!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by mattata from Johannesburg,South Africa

A lovely getaway!

Posted Sep 17, 2012
Pros: The view the view the view
Cons: Nothing
Location: On the beach,baby.
Best beach view in ocean suites,and penthouse.breakfast in the lounge,is great ,fabulous eggs benedict,and has all around beach view,it is simply stunning I every detail.waverly is a little quieter side of town for those of us who are old,but who still love the ocean.