Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pricy

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
We booked this hotel for the pools, the outdoor pool was out of service and the indoor pool they charged 9,000 won per use, not per day! The staff was friendly but it was way overpriced for what it was. I have traveled a lot in Korea, all the buffets have had an omelet station except this one. There was a very limited selection of food especially for the price. The coffee was tasty and it had a beautiful view. We really enjoyed the waterfalls and feeding the fish in the pond.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seoul, Korea (US Military)

Not worth the cost

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff but overpriced for the quality Haenyeo Hoetjip (raw fish restaurant the hotel and rooms. Everything was super pricey for food and quality was not 4 or 5 star. Buffet was only option as hotel was out of the way unless you drove or took transportation. Buffet was $40 a person for breakfast or more for dinner and quality of food was average nothing exceptional. Only part of the hotel that was upkept was the dinning and lobby. There was mold in the bathrooms, carpet was stained ever where, paint peeling. the exterior of the hotal was itself peeling. The view was amazing and that was the only real reason for the cost. the pool outside was closed even though still warm and they cjarged for use of the indoor pool area... $8 a use..not for the day. also requires pool cap. ugh...overall more stressful and not budget friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia america

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Everything is good. Except little dirty floor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Seogwipo KAL - nice hotel that is showing its age

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
The Seogwipo KAL is an old hotel that is showing its age. My wife and I have been to this hotel a couple of times before but this most recent trip will be our last until it is upgraded. Although the rooms were quite well maintained and clean, there is only so much that can be done to keep old things from looking tired and worn out. One of the big disappointments was that the outdoor swimming pool not being open. We visited in the first week of July. Apparently it did not open until the 10th. I did not see any information about the pool being closed online. The outdoor pool was one of the main reasons we booked the hotel. The hotel does have an indoor pool, sauna, and gym. However, these need to be paid for. The indoor pool is very small. The gym is old and small. The sauna is nice though. The hotel is in a secluded area. Again, this is a reason we booked KAL as it is very peaceful. There is a regular bus service from the airport to the hotel, but a rental car is advisable in order to get around more easily. There is a small town a few minutes drive away. Once you have arrived, there are many local restaurants. We ate at these restaurants as we felt that the hotel dining options were overpriced. There were positives of course. The hotel grounds are beautiful. The staff are also very kind and helpful. As my wife used Korean, I cannot say if the staff were able to communicate in English. Furthermore, the hotel Wi-Fi (available in-room and free) was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grand

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
Room was clean and large with an excellent view of the ocean. Took service were extremely helpful, friendly, and humble.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seoul

Nice position

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: Its position, near the sea
Cons: It should be entirely refurbished
Location: It has a very nice park near the sea, i do not know much about the things to do nearby
The hotel is very old, in a very nice position, everybody there is very professional
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jung Sook P.

Wonderful place,

Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Orbitz
I like, great view, very kind employer....good price I will come back again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Valuable for promotion price.

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: Outdoor environment and sea view are pretty relaxing
Cons: Dining in restaurants are rather expensive...
Location: Many restaurants in Seogwipo city. Local market nearby is good.
Good service and helpful staff. Rooms are a bit old and small. But really like its outdoor environment~ large landscape and beautiful decorations. It's really suitable for photo-shooting.
2 out of 5
by Jay

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by James Thompson from Clarksville Tennessee

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels
Overall it was pretty good But transportation wasn't that good If you do not have a vehicle you should rent one Without personal vehicle transportation costs will be high