Ratings based on 795 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orlando

Average hotel nothing exceptional

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Front desk person was not friendly as if she didn't care to be there. Room was a handicap room. Shower didn't work properly. Carpet looked old and dirty. I personally would not stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, outdated rooms

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Complete refresh of the rooms (furniture, décor and bathrooms)
Location: Beach, good food, astounding natural setting.
The location is the best part about this hotel. It is steps away from the beach and the surrounding area is absolutely lovely. The staff was wonderful. The rooms themselves are outdated (furniture, décor and bathrooms), and bed was hard. Even though the hotel is steps away from the beach, none of the rooms actually have a beach view. As for the rooms that do at least face in the direction of the beach, the wonderful sounds of the shore are drowned out by they music being played poolside. This hotel has great potential, just need to decide to invest in updates and then maybe they will start getting the reviews that they could be getting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, affordable lodging

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Location: This is a beautiful island and well worth the $6 fee for access. Tour Driftwood Beach & the "cottages" (mansions) at the old hotel.
Loved our stay here. Hotel is surrounded by nature, including a lovely short path & boardwalk to the beach which is beautiful and really expansive - tons of room so you are not anywhere near other beach goers. Lovely, large super clean room. Nice pool. Wonderful Southern breakfast buffet. A beautiful destination.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mooresville NC

Disappointed

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Bike rental very nice for checking out island.
Cons: Hilton honoring resvervations, not overbooking & customer service since every time I was told the manager would give me a call -never heard from them.
Location: Loved Driftbeach Restaurant and Jekyll Island Club Sandwich Shop. New shops near Westin are fun as well as shops in Historic District & cottage tours.
Have stayed at this hotel many times while on Jekyll as a Hilton member but unfortunately this trip we were called around check in time as we were traveling to the hotel & were told they did not have the reserved room for us. I had reserved more than 2 weeks before our trip and even called the hotel directly a few days before to ensure they had our reservation. They offered a stay at another property on the island that definitely was not comparable. No one in the family slept that night due to uncomfortable bedding. When we went to rent bikes as we often do on the island, the bikes at the hotel were in such bad shape & not appropriately adjustable that we had to head to the Hampton to rent theirs. The front desk clerk when she called said they would issue a refund to me through Expedia. My disappointment came when I waited 3 days before calling Expedia to check on my refund & they had not even been notified by the hotel of the situation at all & the customer service from Hilton that followed. I found out from Hilton each hotel sets their own policy on who they can bump from a reserved room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mariwtta, GA

Be ware of breakfast

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: A beautiful pool area.- after the breakfast. The beach was close by but wasn't visible from the hotel due to a large dune. + hot tub and fire pit.
Cons: I had reliability issues with their wifi in my room. Weak and drop outs.
Location: Restaurants were available but sometimes you needed to make the Brunswick or St Simon 30 minute run for dinner'
I gained 1 lb a day just on breakfast. I have since good breakfasts at other hotels, but it doesn't seem possible that nothing was left out from the Hampton's breakfast - fruit, juice cereals, breads, eggs, meats, waffels and endless coffee. The only downside was there was only one toaster, which became a bottleneck similar to the 1 waffle maker .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and close to beach

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Clean, comfortable and enjoyable. Children loved the waffle makers!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N.E. Florida

Not worth the high price.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Our A.C. unit didn't work properly- blowing alternate heat, then cool for a little bit. Room never got below 75 degrees.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Great hotel, good price, July 4th stay.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Great Hotel, Great Staff, good room, only complaint: the smallest "queen" size bed I have ever slept on. More like double size. The Manager explained it was a standard hotel queen. Still, I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again. I had a double queen suite, would go with the single king suite next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Very nice hotel close to beach. Maybe a tad pricey for what you get but not by much. Very nice breakfast buffet included. And bike rentals very reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

July 4th

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Great hotel. The staff were awesome. Very clean and well run. Good location.