Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Amy

Comfortable

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff. Comfortable, clean room
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
Jena's a small town, but even so it has ti be said that the location and facilities of this hotel are very good. People were lovely, the reception bar and restaurant area on the 3rd floor are very nice, the restaurant and breakfast were very good, and I liked my room. The location is right next to the university and downtown and is really convenient. The best choice for Jena.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017
Dear Traveler, Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are glad, that you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the service and the staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again! Kind regards, A.Zeitler General Manager
5 out of 5
by Steffen

Great stay- couldn't have hoped for more

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Awesome hotel... conveniently located... excellent service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Couldn't be better. We loved the view of the old observatory from our window.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, A. Zeitler General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was very nice, clean, inexpensive, and in a convenient location. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. It was very warm the week I was there. There appeared to be air conditioning, but I'm not sure that it was working. The vent near the ceiling seemed to be blowing out warm air. Opening up the windows helped some... Also, one night, at about 4 in the morning, there was a very loud clanking which sounded like a faulty generator. Thankfully, the primary business portion of my trip was finished by that time so it was not too much of an issue. All said, I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017
Sehr geehrter Gast, vielen Dank für Ihre positive Bewertung. Wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu können. Freundliche Grüße, A. Zeitler General Manager
3 out of 5
by Matthew

2 nights in Jena

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
Traveling on business for a couple of night, its in a great location to get into the center of town within a couple of mins walk. The room was spacious and had all the required amenities, my issue came with the bathroom where the water was not working when i first entered. I found a couple of taps on a wall which seemed to be a master valve for room water. I ran the sink and shower after arriving late i wanted to freshen up but the water was a rusty orange color. It was clear that the room mustn't have been used for a long time as after 10 mins of running the taps the water cleaned up. It wasn't the most appealing after a long days travelling to brush your teeth in. the other grumble was the room was very noisy during the early hours, with what sounded like trolleys being moved across a hard floor above my head from the floor above. The staff are polite and attentive at breakfast and the selection is very good, the hotel is clean and tidy in all other areas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017
Dear Matthew, Thank you for your time to rate your stay. We are glad that you mostly enjoyed it. We apologize profusely for the inconvenience with the water. Currently we change the water pipes in our house and we hope to satisfy your expectation at your next stay. Kind regards, A.Zeitler General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Well placed business hotel in the centre of town

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Central, clean, comfort, free wifi
Cons: More choice in restaurant
Location: Very central, next to main shopping mall and streets as well as the university and concert venues
Good hotel, good central location, very clean and comfortable, free WiFi. Overall really good value although the breakfasts are comparatively expensive. Mostly set up for business visitors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by A. Zeitler (General Manager) , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your good review and for staying with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Best Regards
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Excellent hotel with amazing breakfast

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
Big, comfortable rooms, great service, amazing breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017
Dear Andrew, Thank you very much for your feedback. We hope to welcoming you soon again. Kind regards, A.Zeitler General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2016
The check-in staff wasn't too pleased with my booking through Expedia! He told me that I have a very special price and can't get airline mileage points. All in all I had a good stay but the check in could have gone smoother.