Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Easy access to Manhattan via PATH

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Great, reasonably priced option for a family of 5 visiting NYC. We had a nice big room with 2 queen beds and a folder out couch. Located right across the river, there are some great views of Manhattan a short walk from the hotel. It was super easy to get to Manhattan. We just went next door to the Newport Path station hopped on the subway and were at 33rd Street in midtown Manhattan right near the Empire State Building. There is also a direct route to the World Trade Center to access downtown. The NJ PATH subway system and NYC subway system are not directly connected, so you will need to purchase separate cards to access both, but its not too difficult to navigate. We had plenty of late night returns via the subway, had no trouble and felt perfectly safe. There is also a restaurant in the hotel and well as several other restaurant options close by. There is also a light rail station across the street for easy access to Liberty State Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location, easy access to nyc, spacious room

Posted Jul 24, 2016
we stayed here after visiting ellis island, had a good stay and went on to nyc via the PATH the next day. it was comfortable and convenient and the staff was efficient and kind.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to PATH

Posted Apr 17, 2016
My wife and I love the location. There is a market down by the square along with a park. It's a nice setting. We took advantage of the valet service which is a nice bonus as well. Our check-in went without a hitch, and the room was nice and clean-except for the some smell that I couldn't quite put my finger on (see #2 below). The issues we ran into were 1) we were unable to book another night or change rooms at the front desk because the system was down/slow and 2) someone staying near us loved to start off their day by smoking some marijuana. I knew something was off when we first entered the room but it was very faint. The morning of checkout though, my wife could't even stand to be in the bathroom to get ready to go to our professional conference, and it woke me up. We told the young man at the counter who promptly did nothing about our complaint, other than offer us free M&Ms and soda. Thanks but no thanks. If it wasn't for those two things we would't hesitate to stay again, and I still might recommend it to friends who are just staying for a casual overnight near the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2016 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay here with us. So sorry that your stay was not enjoyable due to other guest smoking in their room. Marriott is free smoking brand. I will review your comments with our night security and our front desk staff to make sure in the future they are more attentive to our guests. Sincere, John Rojan General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice hotel with convenient transpo option to NYC

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Great go-to hotel for people who want to visit NY but not stay in the city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Staff needs proper training

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Do yourself a favor and stay at the Westin Jersey City...I am in jersey Once a month and have stayed there...I took a chance and stayed at the Courtyard Marriott, don't even bother...Front desk staff is terrible, stay at Westin, and save your money...They treat guests with respect...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2016 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you for giving us feedback regarding your stay here with us. So sorry you did not get the very best of our staff. We use our guest feedback as a way to improve our services. I will certainly review your stay with our staff and make sure this was an isolated incident. We value your business and hope you will give us another chance to prove ourselves, I am sure you will not be disappointed. John Rojan General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place with easy access to NYC

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Location, whirlpool and fitness center.
Location: It's NYC-- what else can you say?
I've stayed here on my last 8-10 trips to NYC. The rooms are very spacious, good amenities, and most importantly, it is very convenient to get in to Manhattan on the PATH train that is just a few steps from the building. The price is fair for the quality of the room and the convenience. Expect an extra charge of $22/day for valet parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice hotel. Close to PATH. Only there for one nigh

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: Nice atmosphere, clean, and close to PATH
Cons: One more mirror in room for more that two people getting ready.
Location: Close to NYC
We were able to get five people in out room with the pull out sofa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and location!

Posted Dec 18, 2015
From checking in to checking out, everything and everybody exceeded my expectations. The hotel's location was literally a hop, skip, and a jump away from the PATH station that takes you into Manhattan in about 15 minutes. I would def recommend and stay again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Undisclosed fees

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: The area
Cons: Parking should be part of the hotel fees
Location: Restaurants and shopping
I didn't learn about the parking fee until I checked out. $20 for just one night. The food besides being expensive was not fresh. It's better off to go out and eat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

We would definitely stay there again

Posted Dec 2, 2015
The staff is very helpful. The rooms were clean. Very nice place for the money. The best part is the path train is literally right out their front door. Easy access to the city.