Ratings based on 2,051 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Very nice hotel big rooms but u need a ride to take you to Manhattan
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Wifi wasn't working very well. Signal wouldn't stay connected which resulted in using excess data. Check in staff was a bit rude when answering questions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Never Before Has This Happened

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Rooms, facilities, location, breakfast. All the standard items of a HI Express.
Cons: Front desk customer service!!!
Location: NYC, what else to say?
My family and I like Holiday Inn Express as they're standard and we know what to expect. The hotel itself wasn't bad and we found it comparable to all the others we've stayed in the past. HOWEVER...the front desk service was the worst I've ever encountered in 15 years of traveling all over the world. It took 20 minutes to check in as the clerk kept getting side tracked with other tasks that were more important that an arriving guest and once done with the check in forgot to return my credit card. After asking about the shuttle service to the city, he said it is included in the tour price if we book it online. What he forgot to say, despite insisting he did between the 3 interruptions while explaining the shuttle/tour process, is that a front desk clerk has to call in the tour reservation for the shuttle to be included so we booked ourselves online unaware we had no way into the city. When we asked about the hourly shuttle which we'd just pay since we had tour tickets, we're told the next shuttle isn't for 3 hours. So frustrated at that point that when I explain his instructions were unclear and chopped between the interruptions, he actually started yelling at me in front of my family that it was my fault for not listening more clearly. Even when my customers make an obvious mistake, I still find a way to help them out to soften the blow. This front desk staff needs to attend some customer service training fast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great location, closer to Lincone Tunnel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Over all a good experience. Would surely recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Great alternative to a Manhattan hotel!

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: The convenience of the shuttle was an added bonus.
Cons: The shuttle service was disorganized and chaotic at times. They would never know if they had enough seats. They should presell all tickets!
Location: A bit isolated. Go to the nearby Aldees store and stock up on bottled water so you don't pay $3/bottle in NY! Same price for a case there.
We had a rental car and were grateful we didn't have to drive into Manhattan on our own. They have a shuttle service to Manhattan, so from the moment we arrived, our car remained parked for the duration of our stay. Judging by the cars around us that also never moved, this was a popular choice. We actually navigated our way to New York with public transportation one day, but it was not much of a cost savings and definitely less convenient! The accommodation was basic but provided well for our family of 5. Breakfast was good and there were a lot of daily offerings with enough staff to regularly refill items.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel direkt am Lincoln Tunnel

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Etwas in die Jahre gekommen, typisch amerikanisches Hotel, geht für ein paar Tage. Sauber, aber der Geruch von Desinfektionsmittel hängt immer in der Luft. Vorsicht: Der Shuttle zum Times Square ist nicht kostenlos, 12$ Hin- und Rückfahrt, dauert je nach Verkehr 30-60 Minuten.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Bergan, NJ

New York visit

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Day desk staff excellent but night desk staff rude, disresectfully to female family members. Problem with room lock and excessive dust from air conditioning unit ignored. Night desk staff not professional compared to day desk staff (Eric?) who was very professional and helpful and a credit to the company. This is a poor reflection on Holiday Express which I use world wide. Staff training needs to be given to night desk clerks and maintenance personnel as to treat female guests. All other staff were excellent. The hotel requires total refurbishment go meet corporate standards of other hotels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

very unkind, smell terrible

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Front Desk staff education program is strongly recommened.
Location: Nothing nearby. Easy access to Time Square.
Front Dest Staff was very unkind. The room smells terrible. I do not recomment this hotel. Breakfast was ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Could not get a early check-in So I lost a day on my weekend getaway in new york Then EXPEDIA said I was one day late for the guaranty low price for hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Excellent hotel for stay. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. I would go back again to stay.