Ratings based on 1,128 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Hotel was very close to restaurants and shops. The breakfast was very good. The bus into Manhattan was right across the street and very affordable. Only was elevator was working so we wasted a long time sometimes and I requested extra linens and waited over five hours for them but overall a very pleasant stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Surprised

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Not a heck of a lot.
Cons: The entire facility must be upgraded. Safer access to the parking garage. Light up and clean up the garage.
Location: The location is convenient to many local roads.
It was my first stay at a La Quinta. I expected somewhat more from the facilities. The hotel is nine stories served by two elevators. For the four days I stayed one of the elevators was out of service. Waits for the working elevator were long and there were frequent stops with a full car. The elevator car itself was in sad shape; the floor tiles had been worn down badly. The door to my hotel room was "loose." It didn't close completely even when locked from the inside. When I arrived the bathroom light was not working. I explained to the front desk that the room needed a new florescent bulb. It took them two trips and an hour-and-a-half to make the repair. Parking was available, but was inconvenient. There was no direct access to the covered garage. One has to cross a busy driveway with poor visibility. Once inside the garage there is a dark driveway with a blind turn at which a pedestrian could be hit. The garage itself was dark and pretty dirty. I was up and out early so was unable to use the breakfast offered. The TV did not offer MSNBC (although there were plenty of Fox offerings.) Overall, the facility could use better maintenance and a badly needed upgrade.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We apologize for any inconveniences you may of experienced including the elevator service and parking. Steps will be taken with our maintenance team to correct those problems. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience. Respectfully, LQ Customer Care
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Elevator woes

Posted Apr 21, 2017
This was our second stay stay here. The rooms are neat & clean, the staff is great and the free breakfast is actually real food (and pretty good food, at that). The hotel is literally across the street from the bus to the Port Authority and coming back, it drops you in front of the hotel. BUT, having only one elevator (apparently for several months now) is very inconvenient. More than once, we climbed the stairs to our seventh floor room...kind of a pain after a long day of walking the city. Otherwise, we were very happy & comfortable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with bus rides to NYC right at the door

Posted Mar 19, 2017
It was a good stay, staff were very friendly and rooms very comfy and clean... We were able to take buses which come by every 7-10 minutes right at the hotel entrance!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from BERGEN COUNTY, NJ

PET FRIENDLY

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: PET FRIENDLY
Cons: THEY DO HOWEVER NEED A LOADING AREA. I WAS TRAVELING ALONE WITH MY DOG AND NEEDED TO LOAD MY CAR AND GOT A TICKET AFTER THE FRONT DESK SAID I COULD P
Location: YES, HOME GOODS AND PET SMART VERY HAPPY ABOUT THAT.
IT WAS FINE, ENJOYED THE BREAKFAST AND THE LOCATION.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, NC

Nice view of New York City

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Free Breakfast
Cons: Better cleaning of the rooms
Location: Close to New York City
The hotel is located right across from the bus stop, which is a major plus for tourist for New York City. The room had a view of New York City. Only downfall was the elevator went out and took the maintenance men several hours to get it up and running, which made it very hard on my husband to go up and down the stairs with his bad knees and me with my COPD.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FP

Easily accessible to public transport

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Very nice hotel which is very convenient in all means. Bus transport in front of the hotel and very close to New York.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a great choice

Posted Feb 28, 2017
The electroc putlets were either loose or didnt work at all! The tub was disgusting! There was no vent to circulate air in the bathroom! There was some sticky candy gum on the arm of the desk chair!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Easy access to New Jersey bus stop

Posted Feb 28, 2017
We were overall statisfied with the room and the hotel's overall cleanliness. We liked the fact that the hotel offered free shuttle service to and from the local shops and restaurants. There is also a bus stop in front to catch the New Jersey transit bus that takes you into New York City which was very convenient. However, we were disappointed to find out that the pool was closed for renovation at check in. It was closed for our entire stay (7-days), yet we never once saw any work completed or any workers renovating the pool for that matter. Also, one of the two elevators was out of service the entire stay. Being on the 8th floor made it even that much more annoying only having one elevator working.... it took time away from our vacation and enjoyment daily. We also ended up missing the buffet breakfast on 2 mornings because of the elevator wait time not to mention that the buffet cleanup crew was extremely prompt to put it all away very quickly. Overall, we would consider staying here again but hopefully after the pool and the elevator issues are resolved.
2 out of 5
by jean

Amenities may or may not be working

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
The room was nice abd the breakfast was great...however, the room key didn't always work, the pool was closed for repairs when we got there on Friday. It finally opened Saturday late afternoon. Out of 2 elevaters, one was out of order the whole time. With 7 floors there was a lot of waiting. The soda machine was not working but there was no sign, however, after waiting for the elevator for some time, I finally got down to the service desk...the employee evidently knew the soda machine didn't work but she allowed me to get one out of another refrigerator. Also, the shuttle we planned on taking was "not running".I won't be very anxious to return to LA Quinta.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding your recent stay at our location. We are very sorry that you had such a negative experience while staying with us. We appreciate the constructive feedback and will forward your review to management so that we can continue to improve our guest's experience. Sincerely, LQ Customer Care