Ratings based on 2,079 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
Clean. Convenient to bus stop. Would come back nice location. Hotel staff very helpful n friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilkes-Barre, PA

best for visiting New York

Posted May 20, 2017
We visit New York often and finding a convenient, reasonably priced hotel in Manhattan is difficult. We never considered staying in NJ but The River Inn worked for us. Bus #320 to port authority is right across the street and next to a wide variety of chain restaurants which are open late. Bus tickets are available from a machine at the shelter. Bus runs every 15 minutes until 1AM. 20 minutes to NY if you have no traffic. It takes longer than that to get to midtown on the subway from the upper west side hotels we usually stay in. The rooms are spacious compared to the closet sized rooms in Manhattan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IN

Comfortable place to stay.

Posted May 18, 2017
I would definitely stay again, clean and staff are helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Perfect

Posted May 17, 2017
Everything was perfect front desk staffs were very Friendly and nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Convenient

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: 24 hour breakfast and accommodated request for first floor. The staff was very nice and helpful
Cons: Cleanliness and updating
Location: Restaurants and theatre
Located conveniently to shopping and restaurants but room was old and not as clean as I would have liked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location if visiting NY city.

Posted May 15, 2017
Price was reasonable/affordable compare to other hotels in area and location was fantastic as bus stop is literally in front of hotel. Place could use some upgrades as is a touch old. Staff was really friendly and ready to help when needed. Breakfast was great, best one I've had in any hotel that has breakfast included. Will go back and recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location was very good

Posted May 13, 2017
Location was very good for why I was staying there. Biggest issue was my room key NEVER worked and I had to go to the front desk every time I left the room to get the card updated. The elevators are the slowest moving in the entire world. Breakfast wasn't very good. Staff were very nice though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017
Acceptable overnite accomadations. A little spartan for multi-night stays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Clean hotel, friendly staff. Please don't force people to actually write a review. It'd be nice if I could just rate it and leave it at that. People don't want to write things. This is why people won't rate you. But seriously, the hotel is nice. One of the less expensive ones in the area. If you're going to NYC, the bus stop is about a five minute walk. It's across from the Outback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Union City, NJ

convenient and pleasant

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: convenient
Cons: check in process can sometimes be quicker
everyone was kind and friendly and the room was very comfortable