Ratings based on 460 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethlehem PA

Convenient

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Stayed here while we attended Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show. It was convenient-- quick ride into NYC-- and had good facilities for the dogs. However-- the snow/Ice removal leaves a lot to be desired!! Climbing over frozen snow banks and traversing icy parking lots (not salted) was difficult and dangerous!!! I fell on the ice when leaving, hurting my back and hitting my head on the curb!! Doubt I will stay there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is convenient if you need to get to the city

Posted Feb 14, 2017
I have stayed there several times usually no problem. I paid for the superior room but got a standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Good stay for the price.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Clean rooms. Nice beds. Had to switch rooms because of no hot water. They changed our room and no further problems. 10 minute drive to Secausus Junction and 10 minutes on a train you're in Penn Station!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Quick choice

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Good area
Cons: Wall lamps needs some work and the hotel needs a few upgrades.
Location: Easy access to the highway systems, several good restaurants a short drive away.
Had to find a hotel for a New York trip at the last minute. It's close enough to the Teterboro Airprt and to many good restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chino Hills, United States of America

Hotel close to the Ferry

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Its location
Cons: The room needed to be updated.
Location: There are restaurants nearby and very convenient if you want to catch the ferry to Manhattan.
The hotel is very outdated and definitely not impressed by the shower.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 20, 2016
For a low budget stay clean and convenient. Good bus connection to downtown NY.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not sure what the plus is for

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The price was definitely low being below $100 in October. Also the NJ Transit bus to get to Manhattan was relatively close.
Cons: The smell (probably from the Hackensack River flowing right behind it), the lack of wifi, no breakfast and the TV was terrible. There was a dead rat on the walk to the bus stop but that's more a statement about New Jersey then the hotel.
Location: If you just consider that you need a place to stay and only that then this is an affordable way to see NYC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Seneca

Close to Liberty and Ellis Island.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Convenient location. Accepted pets without paying extra.
Cons: Room numbers should be easier to follow. At least some simple eating area.
Location: Nothing close by.
Friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms, but room numbers not in sequence and difficult to find without following the signs. Rates were better then NYC and easy to get there via bus and train. Ferry close by to reach the Statue of Liberty. Wished there were breakfast facility.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not expensive, right location for NY visit

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Room was clean, with fridge and microwave oven.
We were used to have hotels in Secaucus area to visit NY. Hotel LaQuinta, Secaucus was our stay for many years, but price when up, cleanliness down the hill (and very disappointing) for rooms. Red Roof+ was a nice discovery, were the price was more affordable, with cleanier room, good location to take the bus and enjoy New York. We will return :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
The hotel stay was good overall. The only downside was the hotel didnt have a breakfast option, something i was willing to pay for. There is however a breakfast restaurant right across the hotel so it made it up for it a bit. The other downside was access to get to NYC. I picked this hotel to save money on staying right inside NYC since its so pricey. The closest bus to NYC is about a 11minute walk from the hotel , which got really annoying after going back and forth a few times. FYI an uber or lyft ride to NYC from the hotel cost $30 to $40. Other than that my experience was good overall and staff were accomodating to the best of thier abilities.