Ratings based on 1,938 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for providing us with your recent review, we do hope you had an enjoyable stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Wifi was free but did not work inside the rooms. Free shuttle bus into NYC was amazing extra amenity.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Our Staff do apologize, but in such a case , it must be informed to our staff, in that way, we can work to get it fixed. We will surly look into the situation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will be staying here again

Posted Nov 5, 2016
I knew what to expect. I wasn't paying for a room at the Waldorf Astoria; I got a room at a roadside motel. My expectations were realistic and the motel exceeded them. Minor annoyances notwithstanding (TV remote only controlled the cable box and not the TV power/volume, toilet flushes were quite noisy, and I hate always-on bathroom fans) I was quite satisfied, and the room contained amenities I did not expect, including a safe, a fridge and a small microwave. I spent two nights there and both nights, I slept well. Transportation to Manhattan is very good (just don't hesitate to flag down a passing jitney bus instead of waiting for the bus that is parked in front of the hotel to get full.) Access from the freeway was convenient and there was enough parking. The breakfast was a bit Spartan (I was hoping for some pastries, not just a bare toast with jam and butter) but hey, it was breakfast. Staff was friendly and willing to help when I asked for assistance. Wi-Fi was reliable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Super8northbergennj@gmail.com, Hotel Management
Hello, Our staff would like to thank you for your recent review, and we are happy to help make your stay enjoyable. We will continue to make the necessary updates so that future stays will be more at home. Warmest Regards, Super8.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont stay there

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Its a dive with bars on the windows, rude staff, dangerous area. Dangerous unsave furniture. Dirty bathroom and old. Bars on the windows and old man yells and forces you out of the non smoking lobby when trying to have breakfast. Dont go there its a dive!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, We are very sorry you felt this way about the Hotel, there is always a way of expressing your taught, and saying what you said , if you were not satisfied , you should have spoken to the desk clerk as soon as you checked in, knowing you didn't feel comfortable. There is always something that can be done to make every guest comfortable. And the comments does not match our rooms. But sorry for any inconvenience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Excellent hotel when going to new York city. Shuttle picks you up at the front of the hotel. Continental breakfast should be skipped. Overall great location to the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Super8northbergennj@gmail.com, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying with us, and it's our pleasure to make you as our repeated guest. We do hope to see you again. Warmest Regards, Super8, North Bergen
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
It was a very good hotel! Would stay here again. The only issue was a random stranger knocking on our door for 30 min, not saying what he wanted (freaky!)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you fro staying with us. and we do sincerely apologize for anything out of the ordinary. We are not sure as to whom where knocking at your door. But there must have been some explanation. In any such situation, always remember to dial the Front Desk, immediately , so they can rectify the issue. We do hope altogether your stay was wonderful. Warmest Regards, North Bergen, Super 8
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Orbitz
online it said that the hotel peovided free shuttle ro timesquare and i even called to make sure and that was a lie they actually charge. the last night there we come back to the room and noriced that rats ate a pizza we had left wrapped in a bag and crumbs of the bag were all around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Super8northbergennj@gmail.com, Hotel Management
Hello, We are sorry that you encounter such a problem , but this is not something that occurs in our rooms. If so it needed to be reported immediately, so we can have the room checked. To clarify that we do not provide free shuttles. If you carefully read what you see online , it clearly states that if booked with the tours, they will pick you up and drop you back, and that is free. If you are taking the public shuttle to and from the city, it a charge. We are here to help all our guest, and if bashing us, is your way of working thing out , then it's quite ok. But you need to fully read the information, and be clear as to what you are speaking about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Comfy bed and clean room
Cons: Breakfast is only till 9am. Need more time.
Location: There's no too much things near, so you would need uber for everything.
Hotel is good for the price. The hotel counter staff are good. We can't said the same for a man who was in charge of the breakfast are on the separete building. A morning a lady arrive late to breakfast and in a very rude way he told her to take the breakfast and leave the room immediately cause he was going to close. Hey, she is a guest. Also one night we have a bad experience whit the bus that take you to NY. On the way back the driver doesn't want to go all the way down to the hotel so he leave us on a shopping mall at the other said of the road to take a bridge and walk back to the hotel. I was scary cause we don't know the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Super8northbergennj@gmail.com, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your wonderful stay with us, and we do hope you will continue to visit us in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: room was clean and comfortable....also near places I was going to
Cons: parking was tight ...could use a bigger parking lot