Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel in a great location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
We had a comfortable stay. Hotel a little dated but inkeeping with the area. Great location, only a 10min walk to town centre. Hotel staff helpful and friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On a main road

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The complimentary tea, little tubs of milk, and toiletries.
Cons: A front desk where you could speak to someone
Location: It was ten minutes walk from town and a bus route was local and regular, but there wasn't really much to do.
On arrival we rang the bell and had to wait quite a while before the handyman answered. We weren't greeted by the owners, as other reviews suggested. There was never anyone around should we have decided we wanted breakfast which was supposed to be booked the night before. We had a problem with TV reception but again, no one was around. We had to go looking in the back room to find someone for our checkout, this was when we did finally meet the owners. I picked this guest house based on reviews that led me to believe the owners were helpful in advising the best places to visit, eat etc but sadly we were left to come and go in basically an empty guest house.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, lovely staff, a couple of reservations

Posted Sep 26, 2016
We arrived and had to ring the number on the door but the owner quickly appeared and gave us lots of info and showed us to our room. It was a king sized bed with an en suite shower room. It was a gentle flow of water rather than a power shower but it was ok. Clean towels every day. The room had lots of storage, full sized quiet fridge, microwave, fan, hairdryer, trouser press. Everything you need and a bit more really. Breakfast was plentiful, freshly cooked and hot and as good as any you would get anywhere. we explained what a gin sling was and the barman was generous with his measures. We had a couple of snags which were the room could do with a good clean. The areas like bedside tables an dressing table were clean but there was dust on the trouser press which someone has written 'clean?' in. We left it and it stayed there all holiday. Also there was mould growing in the fridge seal. The lick on the room had 'personality' and we had to lift the key in the lock to the right spot before it would open. It did cause my hubby some problems but he got the knack of it by the last day! It was conviently located. We enjoyed our stay at the Bay View.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

needs updating radically.

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Overall the hotel is in need of refurb. and implies a bay view which it is not. Room was basic and bathroom very cramped with shower needing some work. Landlady was helpful and welcoming. Overall you get what you pay for but to much clutter in lounge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N E Lincs

Reeth stay

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Was given an upgrade at no extra cost which was a pleasant suprise
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice hotel and good location

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Friendly and helpful owner.
Cons: It would be helpful if the internet worked. Also, the beds were clean and firm but it would be good to change the carpets and freshen the paint.
Location: Located near the downtown shopping area and Liberty Square where we caught the Island tour buses.
The owner was very pleasant and helpful finding our way to our Island tours. The breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sale Cheshire

Friendly staff & a great location

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: plenty of milk in the room which also had a fridge and microwave. The TV had a built in DVD and there was a room full of DVD you could borrow.
Cons: To be honest I couldn't say they need to change anything
Location: beach with sea water swimming pool, restaurants, pubs, local shops and bus stop EVERYTHING you could ask for more...
Only 2 min away from the beach, bus stop just across the road which will take you in to town or you can walk it with-in 10 - 15 mins. There are a couple of restaurants on the same road and a great pub (The White Horse) at the top of the road the staff and food there are wonderful. The owner Carolyn allowed us to leave our bag there all day on the day we were due to leave for FREE so we could go out and enjoy our last few hours with-out dragging it around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel in a good position

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Stayed there for four nights in August. Very welcoming and in a good position for walking on the beach and close to bus stops for getting around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mixed rating

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Please don't be fooled by the name, this guest house has no view of the bay! Our room and most of what we saw was tired and dated, there was mould and hair in the bathroom which was very cramped, dusty bedroom with an eclectic mix of furnishings and finishings. Breakfast is a total contrast, bright, clean room with a fantastic choice for a small establishment, very well cooked breakfast and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Pleasant and Comfortable

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Very Homely and comfortable
Location: The Bayview is located on the main bus route into town and Gorey Pier, You can also walk into town in about 15 minutes through the tunnel
First time in Jersey and we enjoyed staying in the Bayview. It has a nice comfortable Bar that is nice to have a drink before you go out or a nightcap when you come back in, Caroline made us very welcome, Fridge and microwave and kettle in the room. Nice pub three doors along which is friendly. Great restaurant across the street with fantastic Fish and Chips, Lovely to walk along the front with stunning views.