Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here - Please read an honest review

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: They had a very nice lobby. Good location. Also, the desk staff were very nice. Hotel looked good from the outside.
Cons: Room housekeeping is a disaster!!! No air conditioning is a crime. No excuse!! Engineering need to PLAN for this type of thing in advance
Location: Great location. Less than a mile from Herod's Gate. Garden Tomb close
Room was very dirty - Sheets smelled like sweat and cigarettes, and a visible layer of dirt was seen around the base of each bed. Balcony was loaded with dirt that was tracked in on our feet. Temps. were 85 on day one, 89 on day to and 95 on day three. Hotel would not turn on Air Conditioning, even though the hotel description says they have air conditioning. On day one, we asked the desk staff about the AC. They said that they had to ask the Manager for permission to turn it on. On day two the Manger said that he needed to ask the Owner for permission to turn it on. On day three the Manger said that they needed to order filters and it was not in working order. So the story changed every day. Even if it was the truth all along, a good hotel plans for Air Conditioning start up in ADVANCE OF HOT SEASON. So day three (we were suppose to stay for 5 days at the Addar) we checked into the Olive Tree Hotel across the street, which was an AMAZING Hotel. The desk staff had mentioned that we were not the only guest to leave in protest of no AC. In summary - This Hotel does not care about its customers based upon the dirty rooms and disregard for comfort. It seems obvious that this hotel has fallen on hard times, which is a shame.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Great choice to stay nearby the Old Jerusalem

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Very friendly owner and hotel staff, very accommodating to our needs Free wifi from the room and also from the room. Great sleep in their comfortable
Cons: Continental Breakfast is very expensive $10 US ( slice of pita bread, butter, jam and coffee)
Location: The hotel is located within 10 mins walk from Damascus Gate in Old Jerusalem.
It's a beautiful hotel with a room and a separate living room with TV and leather couch and a kitchen (2 burners, plates,coffee cups and a kettle) Very clean bathroom and change of towels everyday. We had to pay for parking nearby behind a gas station.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Decent and close to Old City

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Decor in lobby is so interesting. Staff are friendly.
Cons: Filthy area (garbage and cigarette butts) outside our sliding doors was never cleaned in spite of my several requests.
Booked room for four nights at discount price. Perfect location for walking to Old City in Jerusalem. Room clean and modern. Coffee, toast and juice breakfast is what we like.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted Apr 19, 2017
We were under the impression that it was at 2pm check in from the Expedia app. However, very abruptly told by the staff that it was 3pm and would have to wait. The lobby is very dated as is the room. The whole hotel feels like it needs a good deep clean. But we decided to be positive and go for a walk. Upon return we found a swarm of ants on the bed side table (the picture really doesn't do it justice). We rang the reception and told them the issue and he came straight up. He essentially said what do you expect with warm weather. Considering this is spring and not summer I'm very concerned for their summer guests. We were also told to be thankful as we were given a bigger room at no extra cost. But he ensured us it would have a deep clean first thing in the morning. The next day when we came in, we found the room hadn't even been cleaned, nothing had moved. The hotel manager apologised because he was short staffed and we couldn't expect him to do it so we would have to wait. The breakfast is appalling. Consists of pitta, butter, BAD coffee and three types of jam. And a two sliced toaster for the whole hotel... which as you can imagine caused quite a queue. The duvet was far too small for the bed and the "fresh towels" often smelled of cigarettes (as did the hallways). Free wifi! That you have to sign into every single time your phone locks, or you don't use it for more than 1 minute. No exaggeration
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Terrible Stay

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Terrible stay.... I paid about $ 700.00 for 5 days, and what I got in return was so horrible. Ants in bed, dirty sheets, smoky towels. The most dirt hotel I have ever seen. They health Dept. Should shut it totally.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Budapest, Hungary

Great price and a amazing location

Posted Jan 17, 2017
We expected worse tbh, but it was really okay, even the breakfast wasn't that bad (after others comments i was prepared for much worse). For this price I couldn't imagine better. Seriously. They were flexible and answered all of our questions. Thanks for the great stay in Jerusalem!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Basic but pleasant hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: The person at the Reception during the night was very pleasant. He was very helpful and assisted in booking a tour , calling a taxi for us
Cons: Breakfast was very basic (sliced bread and jam with coffee / tea)
Location: Quite central in East Jerusalem, fairly near the Old City.
Hotel was old fashioned and fairly basic, but the price was very reasonable, the location was good
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

0 star hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Heating not working in room, i have paid breakfast not for bread and butter when I ask for tea rude staff reply me "I will not go and buy tea for you" first and last time with this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels