Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Alcazar Hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2012
My door had a tinted window that let too much light from the hallway into my room at night. It was very distracting. Other than that, I was pleased with my stay. The staff was helpful whenever I asked them for something. The neighborhood was no problem, and my tour bus picked me up from there. The hotel is walking distance to the Old City
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Blythe from Nyc

We loved our stay in this little family run hotel.

Posted Mar 27, 2012
Pros: Staff and tea/lounge area. Suberb!
Cons: In the Arab quarter so a little daunting at night going out to old city. But cabs there are cheap
Location: In Arab neighborhood. Amazingly good food for way cheaper than Israeli neighborhoods
Amazing family run hotel in Arab neighborhood! Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Jan 3, 2012
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Liked eerything
Location: Central to all attractions
Very good will recommend to other people as the hotel staff were absolutely brilliant ,, helpful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

Rather tired hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2010
It was okay but I would not go back. Rooms a bit dismal and old. Paper thin sheets. Breakfast was fairly good though. Young staff that we there were pleasant but the older man who was there most of the time we were there was rather surly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

The staff were wonderful, I actually miss them and didn't find any other hotel half as nice.

Posted Jun 9, 2010
Remember you are in Israel! The rooms are not what we would probably be accustomed to in the US. But we also would be accustomed to such a great group of people. What I loved about this place, the lobby was an actual gathering place for the staff and the guests. We spent many hours sitting in the lobby either doing the internet from our laptop, or rehashing our daily experiences with other guests, or just enjoying the atmosphere. I recommend spending some time on the roof! The nightly calls to prayer are amazing to hear from the rooftops.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rome, Italy

Wonderful people, shabby room

Posted Jun 2, 2010
The people in the hotel were wonderful and the breakfast was great! But the room was awful; shabby and in need of repairs. The sheets didn't fit on the bed and left you lying on an old mattress. The bathroom was terrible and had old used soap and no other amenities. I had to buy a hairdryer. But again, the people who run the hotel are very, very nice and polite. The room was very inexpensive for Jerusalem and quite close to the old city but you have hills to walk up if you walk back and forth. There are some small grocery stores nearby which is convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago

A very friendly hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2010
The hotel treated the guests very well. A gentlemen called Yousuf was ultra nice. Although it is a basically no-frills hotel, with the exception of the warm breakfirst, you feel at home. Other plus: 10 min walk to the Old City. Minuses: noise in the morning; boring neighborhood
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Best Hospitality in Jerusalem

Posted Nov 25, 2009
The staff at this hotel are wonderful. Yousef and Nader who manage are friendly and go out of their way to help you - very personable and knowledgeable. The breakfast included with the room is delicious - they prepare omelets and pancakes for you along with a bar of fruit and vegetables and a toaster. There is also always hot water to make tea or instant coffee. The hotel feels safe, and is a short walk to the old city. There is also a 24-hour fruit-stand and bakery nearby. The only drawback are the rooms. The hotel lobby is beautifully done and clean, but the rooms don't quite match. They are clean in a sense, but are a little run down with old mattresses and pillows and stained carpets. Wireless internet is good in the lobby, but hit or miss in the rooms.