Ratings based on 316 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Alejandro

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leamington Spa, England

Oasis of hotel with sense of established history

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: I liked the food, its convenience to the main areas of Jerusalem, especially the Old City and its general ambience. I felt that I was in 'good hands'
Cons: Perhaps only minor ones; A steam room would be appreciated and a relaxing 'easy' armchair in my room.
Location: As mentioned, the position of the hotel was convenient for my particular activities and also acted as a useful base.
I enjoyed a very pleasant stay at American Colony Hotel which provided me with most of the facilities I needed for my 7 day stay. The breakfast was quite awesome and because of the summer heat and activities etc. it sufficed for the main meal of the day. Walking to the Old city was fairly convenient and just a short walk from the tram enabled West Jerusalem to be seen easily. Service was good and the staff helpful. My only minor 'gripe' would be that fact that my room lacked an 'easy' relaxing armchair to 'crash out' in to watch TV on occasions. But, overall, I was very satisfied.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cranston, RI

Romantic hotel minutes from old city

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Recently stayed for 20th wedding anniversary. Upgraded to junior suite and worth every shekel. The junior suite has vaulted ceilings and arched windows which lends to the overall feel that you are back in the time of the pasha. Veranda overlooking the pool, rain shower and clawfoot tub lend to the charm. Food is excellent and service is even better. Everyone I encountered was genuinely hospitable and concerned for my experience. The front desk was very helpful booking tours and transportation plus providing recommendations. The hotel is located just a 10 minute walk from the Damascus gate so it is very convenient. If I was returning to Jerusalem I wouldn't even consider staying at another hotel. The American Colony is both wonderful and wonderous. I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamburg

Super Ambiente mit toller Atmosphäre

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Die Gärten und der Service.
Cons: nichts
Location: siehe oben
Hotel liegt fußläufig zur Jerusalemer Altstadt (Damaskus Tor). Der Service ist sehr aufmerksam und nach einem langen Besichtigungstag kann man sich am sehr schönen Pool erholen. Man muß abends nicht zum Essen ausgehen, da das Restaurant und die Gartenbar neben regionalen Speisen (sehr gut) auch internationale Gerichte (ebenfalls von hoher Qualität) anbieten. Ein Kleinod in Jerusalem mit bemerkenswerter Geschichte.
5 out of 5
by david from London

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
A fantastic hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place within easy reach of Old City

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: An individual charm and style, but with all the comforts. You wouldn't forget it, it has it's own sense of place and history.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Easy 10minute walk to Damascus gate of Old City
Thoroughly enjoyable stay over four days. The reception staff very accommodating, managed to arrange rooms next to our friends and with an upgrade. Fabulous rooms. Breakfast, a lot of choice. Decent sized pool for relaxing around or swimming lengths. Beautiful gardens. Great time there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A private oasis

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: The hotel itself is beautiful and has far more character than any of the equally expensive business hotels in the area.
Cons: It misses the mark of a 5 star US/Europe experience but I think it is better that way, a perfect microcosm of place and time.
Location: 5 minute walk to the Damascus gate and the most historic city on planet earth.
I have not stayed anywhere else in Jerusalem but I will be staying here again when I return. The hotel takes you back in time in much the same way as the old city of Jerusalem. The pool is in an enclosed old stone courtyard with chilly (but welcome in the summer) water, lounge chairs and palms. Daily prayers ring out from mosques across the city. Meals can be taken in an enchanting tree ensconced court or on the hillside garden. Cuisine covers local and western pallets and enjoyed everything we ordered (dining in 5 of the nights we were there). There is a small but functional gym and the Damascus gate to the old city is a 5 minute walk away. The service is relaxed but always friendly. Combined the surroundings, amenities, rooms and service will perfectly compliment a visit to Jerusalem.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cancun

Great Hotel Located in East Jerusalem

Posted Jul 30, 2015
A little bit far for tourist looking to go to the Old City or Mamilas Mall. But overall great hotel, staff and good rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Hotel de charme avec personnel aux petits soins et cadre somptueux
5 out of 5
by Ann-Kristin D. from Oslo

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
Takk for at vi fikk oppleve et hotell med en slik fascinerende historie. Takk for fantastiske omgivelser og service