Ratings based on 347 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close to Old City

Posted May 3, 2017
My first time to Jerusalem and I spent three nights at the ACH. It was the perfect place to use as my home base. Will definitely be returning to Jerusalem in the near future and can't imagine staying anywhere else. The garden, food, staff, bar and buildings are all first rate!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to old city very nice staff

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Nice city see all old churches safe place hotel is nice blend between old and new facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An oasis in Jerusalem

Posted Apr 20, 2017
You'd be pushed to find a better hotel in Jerusalem. It was lovely, really like being in an old colony embassy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago.il

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
The hotel does not justify its high rating, the staff are courteous but the rooms are clean and not of high standard. The location of the hotel is good for those who have a car but we did not feel safe enough to explore the area on foot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Jeremy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback . You have not chosen to share with us what exactly was not of a high standard which makes our improving that very difficult. We are sorry you felt this way . The area around the hotel is very close to the Old City and has some interesting sites, and we believe is safe as do most of our reviewers, so again , we are sorry that is how you felt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hospitable, friendly and characterful hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2017
A piece of history, close to the old city and the light rail - you can be in Ben Yehuda mall in 10 mins. Cosy bar, pool and garden cafe. Staff happy to arrange trips, transfers etc. A tranquil haven from the buzz of a great city.
5 out of 5
by Betsy

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel and garden are charming. The breakfast buffet was well done and the bar and restaurant served good food. Staff was helpful
5 out of 5
by francois

Great hotel with a true History!

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel, perfectly located to explore the Old City. Extremely welcoming staff. Traditional Middle East food at affordable prices. A definite must!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, historic hotel near the Old City

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Location: It is a safe, quiet area, about 20 to 30 minutes walk to the old city, close to public transportation and with easy access to taxis.
The American Colony is not just a hotel, it is a part of Jerusalem history. The beautiful old buildings are set in lovely gardens and courtyards. Rooms are elegant, spacious, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast is ample and delicious, and the restaurant serves a large menu of local and classic dishes. The staff are uniformly pleasant and professional. It is about a 20- to 30-minute walk to the Damascus Gate into the Old City, but there are always taxis available if you don't want to walk (and the taxis here won't try to rip you off, which is not always true elsewhere in the city, unfortunately). It is expensive, but if you can afford it, it is worth every penny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Delightful, unusual, beautiful, inviting

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: Bring the food up to the standard of the hotel.
Location: Smack on the border of Old and New Jerusalem. You will need a car or a taxi to get anywhere.
Situated in an historic compound, stone buildings, arches, cosy garden, free parking, wonderful, but wonderful service, on the border of Old and New Jerusalem, large rooms, very clean, well furnished, reasonably priced. The food in restaurant is good but not as superb as is the hotel. Still, I would not trouble myself to look elsewhere unless I was staying at the hotel for more than a few says. This is definitely not your standard hotel -- it affords a uniquely pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from amman, Jordan

Jerusalem classic

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Immerse yourself in luxury and history at this Jerusalem classic. Great location near the old city.