Ratings based on 343 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to old city very nice staff

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Nice city see all old churches safe place hotel is nice blend between old and new facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An oasis in Jerusalem

Posted Apr 20, 2017
You'd be pushed to find a better hotel in Jerusalem. It was lovely, really like being in an old colony embassy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago.il

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
The hotel does not justify its high rating, the staff are courteous but the rooms are clean and not of high standard. The location of the hotel is good for those who have a car but we did not feel safe enough to explore the area on foot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Jeremy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback . You have not chosen to share with us what exactly was not of a high standard which makes our improving that very difficult. We are sorry you felt this way . The area around the hotel is very close to the Old City and has some interesting sites, and we believe is safe as do most of our reviewers, so again , we are sorry that is how you felt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hospitable, friendly and characterful hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2017
A piece of history, close to the old city and the light rail - you can be in Ben Yehuda mall in 10 mins. Cosy bar, pool and garden cafe. Staff happy to arrange trips, transfers etc. A tranquil haven from the buzz of a great city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, historic hotel near the Old City

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Location: It is a safe, quiet area, about 20 to 30 minutes walk to the old city, close to public transportation and with easy access to taxis.
The American Colony is not just a hotel, it is a part of Jerusalem history. The beautiful old buildings are set in lovely gardens and courtyards. Rooms are elegant, spacious, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast is ample and delicious, and the restaurant serves a large menu of local and classic dishes. The staff are uniformly pleasant and professional. It is about a 20- to 30-minute walk to the Damascus Gate into the Old City, but there are always taxis available if you don't want to walk (and the taxis here won't try to rip you off, which is not always true elsewhere in the city, unfortunately). It is expensive, but if you can afford it, it is worth every penny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Delightful, unusual, beautiful, inviting

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: Bring the food up to the standard of the hotel.
Location: Smack on the border of Old and New Jerusalem. You will need a car or a taxi to get anywhere.
Situated in an historic compound, stone buildings, arches, cosy garden, free parking, wonderful, but wonderful service, on the border of Old and New Jerusalem, large rooms, very clean, well furnished, reasonably priced. The food in restaurant is good but not as superb as is the hotel. Still, I would not trouble myself to look elsewhere unless I was staying at the hotel for more than a few says. This is definitely not your standard hotel -- it affords a uniquely pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from amman, Jordan

Jerusalem classic

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Immerse yourself in luxury and history at this Jerusalem classic. Great location near the old city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel walking distance to the Old City!

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Excellent but do not use hotel transportation. Nice gardens and bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: I think it was like steping into the past....old fashioned charm.
Cons: Nothing really building is Quirky
The hotel was good but not luxury.... they upgraded us to a suite which was nice although a strange but different experiance. One thing was the view it was awful and balcany was covered in bird excrement.... this was call Palm House section of the hotel. Away from main areas. The Hotel was away from anything local, however a not too dufficult walk to The Damascus Gate.
1 out of 5
by Kate

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
We have had the most disappointing stay at the American Colony Hotel. I was so excited to stay at this hotel as I had heard such good things from the reviews, so I feel compelled to warn others about this hotel, unfortunately. First the plus, visually it is beautiful. It has a lot of charm, from a visual perspective. Now for the bad. We requested adapters for our western plugs, and they delivered them, but the adapters kept shorting out. Over and over, so we couldn't plug in our laptops, phones, etc. They kept coming back to fix, and finally said, just don't move them, the plugs are very sensitive. Ok. Then we went to sleep, at 3am or so we were awakened because the room was too hot. It was as if the air conditioning wasn't working at all. So we opened the windows to try to get some air, so we could sleep comfortably. Which meant from 4am on, we heard the call to prayer, a rooster crowing, and kids playing near by. It was a miserable night with little sleep. The next day, we ask if there is anything they can do. They come to the room, check the AC and heat, and realize yes its not really working at all. They move us down the hall so we have to move all our stuff out of our room, which is of course a huge hassle for two weary travelers. Then they say, wait here we will get you the key for your new room. We've now been waiting for over 30 minutes for them to bring us a key. Still waiting.