Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Bruce from San Jose, CA

Ready yourself for a morning surprise

Posted Mar 20, 2013
Cons: Being an unwilling guest at morning prayers.
Location: The hotel is right up against the road. Caution to those who have their own car (no parking). The sign is also hard to see--even for the tax driver.
A nicely-rated hotel near the Old City at a good price...but I found out why it might have been priced so affordably. It was my first night in Jerusalem and I did not yet understand their bus/train system adequately. So, I took a cab to the hotel and found that it was located in an Arab area of the city. I had no problem with that and presumed that this hotel, which seemed to be in good shape, would be like any other hotel. That was, at least, until 4:00 in the morning. My body clock (still on U.S. time) woke me a few minutes before 4. Then, as soon as the clock turned to 4 AM, Islamic prayers started playing through a loudspeaker and it was so loud that I thought the speakers were right across the street. As someone who is not used to that, it was rather unnerving. The singing was very lovely, but it was a reminder that I was not in Kansas (or, well, California) anymore. And it was FOUR AM!! The prayers stopped after a few minutes and started again about 10 minutes later. Another five minutes and they were done....until the scene repeated at 5 AM! If you either don't mind waking up at 4 AM or prepare yourself with some good earplugs, you'll be fine, I suppose. The room was very clean and the bed was comfy. The breakfast buffet was decent, as well. After breakfast, I was told that I could catch a bus into Jerusalem "right across the street", but I'd have to wave it down. I did so and (with suitcases beside me) waved at the approaching bus--which roared right past me.
3 out of 5
by Iman from La Habra, CA, USA

Good Value

Posted Jan 4, 2013
Cons: Noise
Location: Location is not great but within minutes to the Old City
We stayed here for 2 nights on Dec 27 -29, 2012 The location is about 2 miles from the Damascus Gate, or right outside the Muslim Quarters. Pros: The room is not spacious but clean and the bed is comfortable. The bathroom is designed for a single person use at one time else, you'll find it hard to move around with 2 persons in it. The staff are very friendly and courteous. They offer Free wifi throughout the building including in the room, however we found the signal was weak and intermittently dropped during our stay. The breakfast selection is decent with some of Arabic dish which was very good. If you are looking for a place to stay and decent, this is the place. However, it’s not located on a major street with cafes or stores nearby. Bus no 75 and stops right in the front of the hotel will take you straight to the Damascus Gate. Cons: The location is right in a neighborhood so it was a bit noisy. The room walls were so thin we could hear phone rings from next door or when someone inserting the key card when they enter a room. The lobby was dark and had old décor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Albert from El Salvador

Amazing hotel!

Posted Dec 28, 2012
Pros: Location and service.
Cons: Odd smell in bathroom.
Other than an odd smell in the bathroom, the hotel is amazing in service as well as in location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mimi from New York, NY, USA

Good hotel with fabulous staff

Posted Oct 15, 2012
Contrary to the image of Jersusalem having no customer service culture, the staff at the Commodore hotel were extraodinarily friendly and helful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay.with your family.

Posted Aug 8, 2012
Pros: Service and they way they treated us.
Cons: Trying to get a taxi to take us to that part of town. Tention between the Israelits and Muslims.
Location: Good location
People treated us very nice. Breakfast was good to. My family really liked the Hummis. Not as nice a spread as other hotels for breakfast. But what they provided was good and included in the stay. We slept well on the beds which really made us feel good for the next day. Service to the rooms was very good. When we needed more towels, they brought it up right away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from köln

Arabisches Hotel in Altstadtnähe

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Das Hotel liegt im arabischen Teil von Jerusalem. Das ist nicht schlimm, hat aber den Nachteil, dass man von jüdischen Taxifahrern nicht gerne dahin gebracht wird und das Problem fängt uU schon beim sherut am Flughafen an. Das Personal ist sehr freundlich und stets bemüht, das der Aufenthalt angenehm ist. Das Frühstücksbüffet ist super reichhaltig und lecker. Die Zimmer sind klein, der Schrank hatte kaum Ablage aber die Betten waren super. Dusche auch super. Man kann mit dem Bus, der quasi vor der Tür hält, direkt bis zum Damaskustor fahren, oder wie wir zu Fuß gehen. Dauert ca 15 min und ist relativ beschwerlich Davies immer rauf und runter geht.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gastvrijheid

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Personeel is erg gastvrij! Stonden continu klaar om ons te adviseren of te helpen gedurende ons verblijf. Ook later uitchecken was geen probleem. Ligging is goed. De taxibusjes brengen je voor 1 euro naar het centrum, dus binnen 5 minuten sta je bij Damascus gate, Old Town. Ondanks wat anderen eerder gemeld hebben, zijn wij geen een keer gewekt door moskeeën. Prijs/kwaliteit niveau is erg goed en Jeruzalem is een beleving. Zeker een aanrader!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the old city, very friendly staff

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: Location. Staff.
Cons: Sound proof windows!!
Location: Mount of olives, old city
This hotel is located on the mount of olives. It is very close to the old city. The staff was wonderful. Room 306 was however quite loud since it's close to the road. You will hear the sound of cars. I recommend getting sound proof windows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Monica from Barcelona

Great value but 20 min walk to anything

Posted Jan 12, 2014
The hotel is new, clean, comfortable and great value compared to others we checked before making a reservation. The only inconvenient is that it is 15-20 min walk to the old city (steep road) or to any restaurants or shops. There is nothing around. There is a convenient bus to get to the old city. After being there, we thought it might have been a better idea to stay in Jerusalem center, closer to restaurants and Israeli life, as the old city practically closes at night. Double check this idea though: when the shared taxi took us around Jerusalem center to get other guests, we saw some hotels that were also isolated from any city life. Maybe taxi is the only option.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 福岡市

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: 部屋が清潔、快適。 朝食の種類が豊富。 スタッフが親切。
Cons: 頻繁に停電する。
Location: オリーブ山にあり、旧市街(ダマスカス門近く)へはホテル前を頻繁に走っている75番のバス/シェルートで10分程度(5.5NIS)。