Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Fine hotel, everything there, clean, and the breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Florida, USA

Clean, Comfortable

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Clean, breakfast and great staff
It is great hotel for someone wants to just sleep there and get moving doing other things. very clean, comfortable, and staff are nice. According to US standards, this hotel would be a 3 star not 4. They need to improve providing room necessities to be 4 star hotel. But overall, it was a great stay for the price. I would for sure come back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly hotel

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Modern rooms, the cleanliness, the staff
Location: The hotel in in the Mount of Olives. There is not much to do near by. The location is not great.
The room was modern and looked recently refurbished. Everywhere in the hotel was clean. The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful. The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the Old City. The price was very reasonable and I feel that I got value for money for this stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K

Good location with friendly staff

Posted Feb 23, 2015
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. If you stay at this hotel, catch the bus from outside the hotel to the main station and you can get to Bethlehem the Dead Sea etc from there. If you are not the type of person who eats rice and vegetables for breakfast, tell them and the chef will happily make some other options. Enjoyed my stay, only down point was I expected a double bed not 2 singles
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham/uk

Good friendly people, bottom of mount olives.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
We stayed at this hotel for three nights, when we arrived at 11:30. They gave us our keys to the rooms straightaway, considering check in time is 3:00. Walking up to the temple is a mission as its uphill. It's away from the old city and restaurants. There is a pizza shop close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Moody British Columbia Canada

A day off the cruise ship

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Every thing
Cons: They have it spot on for the class of hotel.
Location: see above
We were on a 14 day cruise and had a two day stay in port. Instead of traveling back and forth to Jerusalem which is 1.5 hours from town and $100US taxi ride we opted to stay at the Commodore Hotel in Eastern Jerusalem. It is within walking distance from the Herod Gate. The bus 75 which stops right in front of the hotel was much faster and very convenient. The hotel is isolated unless you have a car but for one night it was great. Breakfast was one of the nicest we have had in some time. The best part about the hotel is the front desk. We forgot our converter on the boat and they very quickly found us one. We were given a complete overview of the area and it make us feel more at home. Being in the Muslim area of the city outskirts one got a very good feeling of being in an exotic location but feeling very safe. Nothing like walking the streets of that fable city after all of the tourists have gone. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kepi from honolulu, hi

Everyone staff member was helpful, inviting.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
The staff: Anatta, Abumusa, Monte, Nader, Naseem and Ramsi were pleasant, friendly and helpful during my stay. I would recommend staying here to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Lower Alabama

4-star equivalent except for room size

Posted Mar 3, 2014
My wife and I just spent two nights at the Commodore. After reading some of the reviews, I was concerned to learn that we had been placed there after a blind bid online. However it was much better than expected. While traveling around Israel and the Palestinian territories in the preceding days with a tour group, we stayed in a number of 4-star and even one 5-star hotel. The Commodore was a match for most of them except that the rooms are small. Without exception the staff bent over backward to accomodate us. First, when I explained that my wife and I use CPAPs to sleep at night, they immediately disabled the motion sensor system in our room. Breakfast the first day (Saturday) was great -- good coffee, fried eggs or omelette on the food bar, too many choices to name. An attendant was there constantly to make sure everything was replenished. Unusual in our experience in Israel was that they also had a fruit bar. The second morning (Sunday) must have been the cook's day off, because the quality of the meal was far below the previous day. This was the day we had to go to TLV for our flight out of the country. Coincidentally it turned out to be the day of a massive demonstration by the Ultra-Orthodox Jews. They closed down Jerusalem (including all collective taxis) and even closed the highway to Tel Aviv! The staff at the Commodore made sure we got a private taxi and that we left early before things got bad.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

horrible location

Posted Jul 8, 2013
The hotel was nice but the location was terrible, no restaurant close, no bar close. The area arround was very bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cdfdale from Northern California, USA

Two Couples-Late March-3 Night Stay

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Pros: Helpful staff, WI-FI, and buffet
Cons: exposed streetside parking
Location: Mile from the Old City in Arab section...wasn't a problem
PROS: GREAT Staff (especially Chef Mohammed and Desk Clerk Anette(?)). Great buffet and breakfast, recently renovated, quiet neighborhood after dark, close to Old City, bus stop out front, hospital nearby, fast elevator, small gift shop, TV and wi-fi in room. CONS: traffic noise during the day, limited parking, mediocre room views