Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: clean .smoke on the balcony
Cons: my bed
Location: location was good safe no problems roof top view of the dome of the rock
my hotel was nice clean the breakfast was good. shopping was ok.clean
3 out of 5
by Ken

Convenient and clean hotel.

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
Basic clean room for travelers on a limited budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Loved it. Easy access to old city.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Near old city and cool locals.
Location: Old city.
Good breakfast, Great staff, so easy to get into the old city from nearby gate. Highly recommend this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2016 by Nadim, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for staying at our property we are always happy to make you feel at home Nadim
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Great location to visit historical sites, Hotel staff is very cooperative , Breakfast have plenty of choices.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas

Dangerous part of town!

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Dangerous part of town full of Muslims. Do not stay at this hotel is you are American, Christian, Jew, white looking non-arab. It is not safe! Trash everywhere and smells like people urinate and poop outside. Would not refund any money on a 2 week paid vacation. Go to the other part of town. Seriously.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2016 by Firas , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Warm Greetings from Holy Land Hotel and we thank you for your feedback. Please do realize that the area we are in is actually a prime pilgrimage and tourist area where 95% of the Churches and the Christian pilgrimage and archeological sites are to be found. Our location is simply 10 minutes walking to the Way of Cross where many many Local Christians actually live and is quite safe for all nationalities that stay in our Hotel. In any case, we do thank you and regards Holy Land Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oz

Right next to Herrod's Gate.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: The location next to the old Jerusalem City walls, you can see the Temple of the Mount from your window (some windows can).
Cons: The shower leaks (saw this before on a review and so was prepared to put a towel under the shower door to keep from flooding the bathroom).
Location: Basically all the sights of the old city are within walking distance (you might need a cab for the Mount of Olives if you are not much of a walker).
If you want to be close to the old Jerusalem city, then this is pretty close. One block away from Herrod's Gate, and in the Muslim Quarter. The hotel is what you would term "functional" which is okay if you are going to be spending most of your time visiting the sights in Jerusalem. Generally, clean (hallway carpets have seen their day) rooms - with simple features. The staff are nice and for the most part very helpful (finding a place, getting a cab, etc). It is an older hotel so sound proofing is weak - you hear the street traffic and everyone's door opening and closing during the night. The breakfast buffet is okay - enough to keep you going (unfortunately it never changes - so if you are there for five days or more it becomes a bit boring - it would only take adding one different thing a day to jazz it up a bit). Be careful with the air conditioning because it is directed right at the bed and so you can easily get "frozen."
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul from LDN

Great Location, Great Rooms, But No Wifi

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: The standard of the room.
Cons: Wifi in the room on the 2nd floor.
Location: You can walk to Damascus Gate and Lion's Gate as well all the major sites the city has to offer.
The location is great as I could walk to all the major sites and there was a money exchange shop around the corner. The standard of the room was high, very smart and comfortable. The TV didn't work very well and there as no wifi in my room which I expected, so had to use the reception area instead which was a tad annoying. But I would return there again.
5 out of 5
by Abel from Hong Kong

Perfect Location and Price

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels
Perfect view of rooms: can see the Dome of the Rick right from the Room; Close to the Old City; recently renovated, far better than most "hotels" inside the old city, police station and post office just one street away; Less than perfect things: seems like not the cleanest (bed lining) though okay; the lift are not the most responsive one (but consider the average age for buildings around Old City, having a lift is already a big bonus)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maria from Saltaire, Shipley, West Yorkshire, UK

A perfect base, to access all the main attractions

Posted Nov 1, 2012
Pros: With out doubt the staff and the views from the balcony. The size of the rooms and the cleanliness.
Cons: The hotel is in need of a lick of paint, and refurbishment.
Location: Near to everywhere.
From the moment we arrived until the second we left the staff were efficient, courteous and very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The room was very spacious and very clean, nice balcony and amazing views overlooking the old city, The Mount of Olives , the garden of gethsemane, and much much more. A hotel which located in the palastinean, east side of Jerulsalem and gave a very different point of view of life in the City. Which is a big plus for visitors who wish to experience what life is really like in the City. We felt truly fortunate to stay here and met folks from every corner of the the world and passed the time away exchanging views with Canadians, Americans, Poles and Russians, French, Spanish, Germans,Italians,arabs etc.. With out a doubt the unanimous decision was that, the hotel was a good place to base a stay in the City, If you are looking for luxary, this is not the hotel for you. If you want to feel part of the whole experience and want to get to everywhere meet genuine people, then this is the place for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary from Manchester, England

Very easy access to the old city

Posted Oct 26, 2012
Pros: Location - very very close to both the Herod and Damascus Gates into the Old City.
Cons: Location - set in avery run down and scruffy area of East Jerusalem.
Location: See above.
A very dated hote,l but very clean. Make sure you get a 'city view' room as on the other side of the hotel you will have the constant noise from tour coaches bringing in tour groups. Outside the streets are very scruffy and ladies might want to cover up a lot more than normal in the area. Staff friendly enough, but service a little slow. No balcony furniture or English speaking TV channels, but the hotel couldn't be better placed to stroll in to the Old City or the Mount of Olives.