Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location

Posted May 31, 2017
I stayed for a week. The room was clean with air con, a hot shower, TV, fridge and tea/coffee/kettle. Staff were polite and helpful. I was on the street side of the building so I was expecting it to be a bit noisy, however, they have double glazed the windows so that wasn't too bad. Unfortunately, there was noise within the hotel including a major altercation one night. The street lights were very bright, whilst the curtains were quite thin, which made it difficult to get a decent night's sleep. If you stay here take ear plugs and sleep mask. Its strength is its location on the edge of the old city in East Jerusalem. Most sites are within easy walking distance. The Arab bus station, the one closest to Damascus Gate, is convenient for a day trip to Bethlehem. It was also easy to get to and from the light rail. I think that balanced against what it cost I would give 3.5/5.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MSP

Location is good close to Herod's gate but...

Posted May 21, 2017
The location is great it's about 3-4 minutes to Herod's gate. But the area is a little bit uncomfortable if you are not use to the local area. I feel safe but the area is not clean. The hotel is below average. The room is your basic room, bed, fridge, tv, and air conditioning (great). The bathroom is ok clean, all of the fixtures though are falling apart. Soap holder, toilet paper holder, towel holder they are all almost coming off. They didn't clean my room on my 2nd day. I had to ask for my towel twice. I stayed at room 306 I could not even close the door shut unless I pull them hard and make a loud noise. The hallway on the 3rd floor always smells smoke because the 4th floor there are employees that smoke in the stairwell all the time. The good thing about the hotel is the overnight staff are always nice and accommodating the location is nice and close to the old city wall. But that's about it. If you are looking for convenient and a place to sleep and have a bathroom on your own then this is the place. For the price I paid it was the right amount for what I got. Hope this experience help you on your decision. Thanks.
4 out of 5
by Christopher

Central to tourists locations

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
1 min walk from Harrods gate. A great place to stay if you want to spend most of your time in the walls of Jerusalem. On a busy street, but it quiets down at night. Hard to find street parking. Easiest to find parking at night. I parked when I arrived, and didn't move my car for 3 days. Many of the historical sites and current day Jerusalem hot spots are within 30 mins walking distance. Taxi's are prevalent if you prefer.
4 out of 5
by Syed

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, comfortable hotel. Helpful staff.

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Jerusalem is more amazing and fascinating than one ever imagines. And the Jerusalem Metropole is very near to both the Old City and the bus stations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Cleaning Staff Robbed Me When I Left the Room.

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Orbitz
I left my room for four hours and when I returned I found someone had cleaned my room and stolen gifts which I had brought from America to give to friends in Jerusalem.
5 out of 5
by huda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Omaha

Budget Hotel close to the Old City

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Extremely friendly, helpful employees. Location to Old City. Hotel is near many shops.
Cons: They need to clean the carpets and breakfast should be offered daily and on schedule. Room cleaning should be consistent.
Location: Several shops and just steps away from Herod`s gate.
I`ll be honest here. This is a very low budget hotel very near Herod`s gate of the Old City. The halls have a musty odor, the shower stall is tiny, the air conditioner dripped condensation on my pillows as it is wall mounted above the head of the bed and room cleaning was sporadic. There are no signs on the door handles " do not disturb/ please make up room". The first two days, there were several groups here, so the breakfast room was pretty full. The free breakfast is very average. When the groups left, I went to the breakfast room and no one was there and there was no food out. The cook was sleeping on a couch, however, when I went to the front desk, an employee named Mahmoud made me a very nice breakfast two days in a row. Friday I could not find anyone as this is Ramadan and all Muslims go to the Dome of the Rock to pray, so I had to fend for myself that one day. I`m not real picky about accomodations. As long as I have a clean bed, shower and lock on the door, I`m fine. To be honest, I have stayed at some expensive properties but the hotel staff were rude. So this hotel was fine for the price and the employees were all friendly, helpful and became like friends. So I give this a three star rating. The best part about this hotel is location. It`s just meters from Herod`s gate and there are many shops in the area. I love, love love Jerusalem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Haverhill

A good hotel right near the old City wall

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: Breakfast, staff, location
Cons: bed-side lamp, English language channels
Location: Shopping in numerous bazaars inside the city wall, short walking distance to Al-Aqsa compound, Church of Holy Sepulchre and Wailing Wall
The reason I chose this hotel was because of the location; only two or three minutes away from Herod's Gate, one of the main entrance into the city wall - for Al Aqsa, Dome of The Rock, Western Wall and Church of Holy Sepulchre to name but a few. However some taxi drivers (especially Jewish drivers) would be quite reluctant to pick or drop you off at this hotel as this hotel is smack right in the middle of Palestinian area even though in my opinion, it's very safe! Breakfast was plentiful, staff was friendly and helpful, wifi was great! The room itself was quite basic - TV with lots of channels (mostly Arabic channels), there's no bed-side lamp so you have to use the main light instead!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2016
this hotel is very basic it may be a little over priced for the quality of room. the staff is very friendly and helpful. the location is excellent since it's walking distance to the old city of Jerusalem. It is on a busy street which provides shopping and dinning. my only down point is that at arrival there were no towels and the tv was not functioning. the issues were resolved quickly. I would recommend this hotel but to specific people who i believe would not mind basic conditions.