Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Rev Trev from Seaham Co Durham UK

Budget hotel in great location - but noisy

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: Situation above Jerusalem Air conditioning was good.
Cons: No Lift, Double glazing for sound Get rid of the dog.
Location: In a very special place, Old City of Jerusalem a taxi ride or walk away.
First night transferred to 7 Arches Hotel which was good. Each night at the Mount of Olives Hotel it was very noisy, dogs barking, traffic noise and a very load Muezzin next door. Breakfast was very middle eastern, tea and coffee available free all day which was good. Very heavy traffic all day and evening as coaches go to view Jerusalem from near the 7 Arches Hotel. The area and road names have changed so don't rely on Them check out on Google Maps what they are if using Sat Nav.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jon from Birmingham UK

Ok Hotel if your on a budget

Posted Aug 24, 2013
Pros: People, Cost, Views, room was ok.
Cons: Maybe a TV as there's not much stuff to do around the hotel in the evening.
Location: Not much around hotel really. View was nice
Well the hotel isn't to bad wouldn't recommend it for families but ok if you don't mind roughing it a little. The staff are friendly and helpful however the food in the hotel isn't that great but then neither is the food that great anywhere in Jerusalem Old City. The Views from the hotel are very nice however be aware you are in a predominately Palestinian area and the locals weren't always that friendly. Restaurants around the hotel are dirty but a short taxi ride away near Jaffa gate you'll find a lot of nice restaurants and a more tourist friendly atmosphere, about twenty minutes walk. The thing about this hotel you need to keep in mind is if you have mobility problems like I do unless you want to get robed by taxis (who all seemed to be blaggers and thieves) you do have quite a steep climb. The "mount" kind of gives this away I thought there may be a bus but there isn't. Overall the hotel was good but location poor if your not on a budget stay near Jaffa gate!
2 out of 5
by Alvin S from Las Vegas, USA

Very noisy at night

Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels
At first, I thought Mount of Olives was ideal. Great location, great price, breakfast included. Great choice, right? WRONG! From the moment I was ready to leave the airport, this hotel was doomed for failure. The shuttle driver at Ben Gurion airport in Tel Aviv, would NOT bring me to the hotel. I couldn't understand why(I thought he was rude). But I was about to find out. Anyway, I got to the hotel at about 4PM, and the door was locked - I had to be buzzed in(in the daytime!). The man at the front desk(I think he was the owner of the hotel) was very sincere and the entire staff including housekeeping was also very sincere and professional. I was advised not to walk around especially at night(and I didn't). Furthermore, the first night there I was in the lobby surfing the internet, and hear yelling and shouting. I look and two people ready to fight are both restrained by hotel staff - in the lobby! The police came by a half hour later to cool things down. Then the next day another altercation although not as bad. But that was not all- for hours until very late at night horns consantly honking, people yelling in the street. It was so bad I didn't stay the final night of my 4 nights. I was so happy to leave. It's a shame this all came to pass- the people at the hotel were very nice. I do not recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ray from Vermont

Good Find

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: Value and cleanliness. Very nice
Cons: No complaints
Location: Eat on the roof of the little restaurant on the left across the street - view excellent. Religious sites on the mount very close. City walkable.
I was on a solo trip to Old Jerusalem. This hotel offered a very reasonalby priced, clean room from which to set out. Free breakfast was very nice. Facilities were somewhat tired; but rooms were clean. No elevator, but only two stories. Staff was helpful and bridged my lack of language skills. The view is fantastic from here. If you are walking, be aware of the 500 steps from the top of the Mount down to the bottom of the valley.
3 out of 5
by Jon from US

shouldn't drive after 7pm on Friday on Ramadan

Posted Jul 22, 2013 on Hotels
Traveled to this hotel on Friday night during Ramadan it was completely stopped traffic as the Muslim's were exiting the dome of the rock. 1.5 hours instead of 15 min drive. I was with an Israeli Jew got a couple odd stares. This FYI is a Palestinian (Arab) hotel. They had the call to prayer at 4am which woke me up. and Ramadan was going so there was very loud yelling late at night. I think I would avoid this time if possible. Otherwise the beds were there, they gave free wifi, they have a computer from ~2000 that anyone can use with internet. Also their breakfast was half an hour late, but again I think it is related to Ramadan. It was basic, but similar to a hotel on the beach I paid $170 for a night. Great deal for the money if you don't go on Friday night of Ramadan/get a room off of the street. Little bit rougher neighborhood graffiti, and is in the poorer Palestinian neighborhood, still part of Israel though no check points, 5 sheckels to get the bus to the Damascus gate(very cheap). Get ear plugs and headphones, bring a guest and it will be a cheap experience of Arabic hospitality.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2013 on Hotels
Overall, the staff was polite and very helpful. The view from the hotel's windows is very beautiful.For someone coming to a conference in West Jerusalem and without a car (arrived by taxi) I could not do much in the evening. The room was big and comfortable ; the furniture and towels quite old but I think that everything was reasonable for the low price paid.
5 out of 5
by Mark from Knoxville, TN

Biblical Location

Posted Jun 25, 2013 on Hotels
Perfect location for Christian tourists. Nice staff. Clean rooms. Short walking distance to Observation Point overlooking Jerusalem. Near the location where Jesus ascended into Heaven and where He will return at His Second Coming. Good hotel overall. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

great view

Posted May 25, 2013
Pros: the view, the price
the hotel is on top of Mt of Olives, which offers a great view, but there is not much else up there, so you have to back down into town if you are looking for a good meal - or an alcoholic beverage. When we were there, we were the only Western guests, the breakfast buffett was rather bare, coffee in styrofoam cups. But for the price, the hotel offers decent value and is clean.
4 out of 5
by Leonardo from Brazil

good location

Posted May 20, 2013 on Hotels
Good hotel with a very good location! near from old city and sightseeing points! good service and very friendly staff!