Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by john from Australia

Great location

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Only stopped in for the night, was clean, comfortable, and affordable. Great location, beautiful looking out over Jerusalem in the morning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will not stay here again

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Breakfast was supposed to be included but we had to pay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sasha from SKOPJE

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2014
2 out of 5
by Benny from Montana

Not a good Hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Thus place is terrible, pay more for somewhere in the New City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Hank from Los Angeles

Outstanding Location!

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Pros: In addition to location, wonderful buffet breakfasts were served. We stayed five nights on two different visits at the start and end of our trip.
Wonderful Experience. Hotel is next door to Mosque of the Ascension, constructed on the site of a church built in 380 AD commemorating Christ's Ascension. It is also 100 meters from the Church of the Lord's Prayer (Paternoster), a five minute walk from the Garden of Gethsemane, and a 15 minute walk down the Mt. of Olives to the Old City. We had a wonderful time. Because the hotel is in "East Jerusalem" some Israeli taxi guides will refuse to go to "the other side of the tracks," or they will want to charge extra to get there. Find out before you get in the cab, if the taxi or sherut will charge extra to go to the Mt. of Olives. This obviously is a statement more about the taxi drivers than the hotel. Our family, four kids ages 6-11, had a great time staying there, and I would recommend it to all families on a budget and ready for a more cultural experience.
2 out of 5
by Rev Trev from Seaham Co Durham UK

Budget hotel in great location - but noisy

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: Situation above Jerusalem Air conditioning was good.
Cons: No Lift, Double glazing for sound Get rid of the dog.
Location: In a very special place, Old City of Jerusalem a taxi ride or walk away.
First night transferred to 7 Arches Hotel which was good. Each night at the Mount of Olives Hotel it was very noisy, dogs barking, traffic noise and a very load Muezzin next door. Breakfast was very middle eastern, tea and coffee available free all day which was good. Very heavy traffic all day and evening as coaches go to view Jerusalem from near the 7 Arches Hotel. The area and road names have changed so don't rely on Them check out on Google Maps what they are if using Sat Nav.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jon from Birmingham UK

Ok Hotel if your on a budget

Posted Aug 24, 2013
Pros: People, Cost, Views, room was ok.
Cons: Maybe a TV as there's not much stuff to do around the hotel in the evening.
Location: Not much around hotel really. View was nice
Well the hotel isn't to bad wouldn't recommend it for families but ok if you don't mind roughing it a little. The staff are friendly and helpful however the food in the hotel isn't that great but then neither is the food that great anywhere in Jerusalem Old City. The Views from the hotel are very nice however be aware you are in a predominately Palestinian area and the locals weren't always that friendly. Restaurants around the hotel are dirty but a short taxi ride away near Jaffa gate you'll find a lot of nice restaurants and a more tourist friendly atmosphere, about twenty minutes walk. The thing about this hotel you need to keep in mind is if you have mobility problems like I do unless you want to get robed by taxis (who all seemed to be blaggers and thieves) you do have quite a steep climb. The "mount" kind of gives this away I thought there may be a bus but there isn't. Overall the hotel was good but location poor if your not on a budget stay near Jaffa gate!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ray from Vermont

Good Find

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: Value and cleanliness. Very nice
Cons: No complaints
Location: Eat on the roof of the little restaurant on the left across the street - view excellent. Religious sites on the mount very close. City walkable.
I was on a solo trip to Old Jerusalem. This hotel offered a very reasonalby priced, clean room from which to set out. Free breakfast was very nice. Facilities were somewhat tired; but rooms were clean. No elevator, but only two stories. Staff was helpful and bridged my lack of language skills. The view is fantastic from here. If you are walking, be aware of the 500 steps from the top of the Mount down to the bottom of the valley.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

great view

Posted May 25, 2013
Pros: the view, the price
the hotel is on top of Mt of Olives, which offers a great view, but there is not much else up there, so you have to back down into town if you are looking for a good meal - or an alcoholic beverage. When we were there, we were the only Western guests, the breakfast buffett was rather bare, coffee in styrofoam cups. But for the price, the hotel offers decent value and is clean.
3 out of 5
by zafar from London, UK

it is a basic budget type hotel.

Posted May 18, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: bathroom
Location: convenient. to transport and for photography.
it is a basic hotel, location is good and the staff is very polite and helpful. The bathroom is too small . one can hardly squeeze in. Lift has been missed terribly.