Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel in pretty surroundings

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Rooms, communal areas, surroundings, staff, breakfast
Cons: Beds could be more comfortable but this did not affect our sleep.
Location: 15 minutes' walk from Jaffa Gate, near restaurants at First Station and Cinematique, a cinema with a nice restaurant is 2 minutes' walk away.
We stayed here for three nights in September. Both superior rooms were spacious, clean and very nice, not "tired" as some reviewers have described, with decent view of hotel gardens, which are very pretty with lots of foliage and flowers. Staff are very friendly and helpful, lobby area great for a drink with stunning views of the old city and lots of nice seating options. Breakfast was excellent, in lovely, spacious restaurant. We didn't use the spa but the pool area is, again, lovely, with lounger and sofa options. Pool is largely in shade by about 5pm in September, but that was fine. The hotel is an oasis after a busy time sightseeing. Due to an injury we didn't walk to the old city but would estimate it taking 15 minutes on foot to Jaffa Gate. We ordered taxis at reception which turned up in just a few minutes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lyon

Hotel bien situé avec une jolie vue

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Cons: la serrure de la porte ( carte ) qui ne fonctionne pas tout le temps !
Location: La vieille ville,le mont Zion?
Hotel proche de la vieille ville, en face du Mont Zion, très agréable avec une terrasse et une piscine agréable, personnel avenant et facilitant Petit déjeuner excellent
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi

Pleasant hotel close to Old City.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: View, location.
Cons: Breakfast offer. Swimming pool opening times.
Location: Short walk to Old City, and - in the other direction - to the old railway station, where there were a number of bars and restaurants.
Spent three nights at the hotel with my son. Room was clean and comfortable, with a good view over part of the Old City. I would have liked to have used the swimming pool, but by the time I returned from touring the city it was in shade and so not an attractive proposition - and my attempt to have a swim before breakfast was thwarted by the fact that it was locked. (I could have checked what time it opened subsequently, but wanted to get into the city). The most disappointing thing was breakfast. This was billed as "full", but unsurprisingly was kosher so no bacon, sausage, etc: fair enough. I wouldn't have minded if there had been decent alternatives, but there was e.g. next to no cereal, and the cooked food looked inedible to me (I assume it appealed to locals). I have travelled extensively, but rarely been so disappointed by the breakfast at a decent hotel like this. At least they agreed to waive the exorbitant charge ($33 per head).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Fab hotel. Great position lovely pool area

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Jines on the reception such a great guy with always a smile on his face. Most of the staff excellent and so helpful. Will definitely be back and staying hear again. Thank you for a great stay. Excellent breakfast it was superb. Such a clean and lovely hotel. In a fab setting. Thanks for a memorable stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

super place to stay; relaxing

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: delightful
very relaxing; stylish; well positioned; super staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Close to the Old City

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Close proximity of the 'Old City', and great views from practically every window at this hotel.
Cons: A quick maintenance check of the rooms every so often would minimize guest dissatisfaction.
Other then the stains on our carpet and the wire to our TV in need of repair (fuzzy screen), the partial view from our courtyard window was fantastic.. Something to be aware of is; the wall are very thin. We heard our neighbors talking until 1am and their loud TV on at 4am. Breakfast buffet was most enjoyable with lots of veggies, cheeses, breads and fresh pressed orange juice. Beware of some staff trying to sell you a tour of Isreal.. Albeit really friendly otherwise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a disappointment

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Location, pool, history & architecture.
Cons: Breakfast management and service. Updating of room furnishings etc. Replace grubby dining room chairs.
Location: Location is excellent & loads to do locally.
This hotel has "lost its mojo". Decor & room fittings look worn, dated and tired. Breakfast closes at 10.30 on the dot. No chance to relax a few minutes after with an extra cup of coffee, very poor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
I loved the view and the style of the hotel with magnificent ceramic equipment. But the rooms are not in the best shape and need a renovation for the prices charged. There was a lot of walking to the various rooms, but there was a charm to the old world feel. The swimming pool is good. Breakfast was lovely. Overall a renovation is needed.
5 out of 5
by Pierre

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Peter from CH

Klasisch

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
Ein schönes Hotel, klasisch, nicht 08