Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Damascus Gate

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Very close to the old city. Friendly staff and good breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Steps away from all religious sites

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel in the Eastern part of Jerusalem. Very convenient location. Short walk to shopping. Aqsa Mosque, Jewish Quarters and Christian Quarters. Friendly staff. Sufficient breakfast buffet. Limited car parking area. Free wifi. Not a lot of restaurants in the area. If you're looking for nightlife this is not the place. If you're looking to experience the true historic old Jerusalem city then stay here. 30 minute drive to The Dead Sea. Would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location but over priced

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived at 2am due to plane delays and they did not have a room available for us and sent us to another hotel 10 mins away which after looking into was at least £40 cheaper per night. They did not refund this part of the room rate. The breakfast was quite poor, not refreshed very often so meant that there were always cold eggs when we went to the dining room. Room was small and even though it was supposed to be non smoking smelt very strongly of smoke. Location was good, close to Damascus gate and the light rail.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location. Nothing else

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is an extremely convenient location, a 2 minute walk from Damascus Gate. However, there is not much else to commend the hotel. There is no lift so you must walk up stairs to get to reception. At check-in there had been a mess up. I initially had one reservation for 5 nights which I had then amended to one reservation for 4 nights and another for 1 night, I would be away for a night in between. This was done about 2 months before I travelled. However the hotel seemed to have the first reservation and charged me accordingly. I had to rectify it the next day with the reservations manager. There was a difference in the rate, which is fine. However the manager then tried to overcharge me by about 3 times the amount I owed. Luckily I had done my calculations so I refused to pay more than I owed. Breakfast was poor. A large selection but not great. Consider making a smaller variety of good quality products instead. The room was very poorly cleaned. There was a tiny elastic on the floor on the first day. This remained there for the 4 days, and when we returned for the last night and were put in the same room it was still there. The glass in the room was not washed once during the time we stayed there. Once again, the location was excellent. Close to everything worthwhile, no need to use public transport unless you are going out of the city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just outside the Damascus Gate

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was very helpful and the breakfast buffet was exceptional. It is located just outside the Damascus Gate so entry into the old city was very easy and after a long day of shopping and sightseeing, being close by is a real benefit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for sight seeing the old city and to sleep

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
This is a good 31/2 star hotel not 5* as indicated in hotel.com. Very good location near Damascus gate. Good breakfast with lots of variety. It is a good hotel to sleep and sight seeing the old city after breakfast. There are no luxury but it has good wifi and the rooms, although small, have all the basics. You can also book tours to other sites in Israel. I stayed for more than a week and my sheets were never changed, but they did change the towels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Stay is O.K., will recommend to friends.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: The hotel is near Damascus Gate . Via Dolorosa is a short walk from the hotel where souvenirs could be purchased. Good buffet breakfast.
Cons: There is no elevator , reception and rooms are at second floor .There is no refrigerator or coffee maker inside the room.
Location: There are surrounding groceries, small shops and food stalls. Via Dolorosa is a short walk from the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is ok but location is bad

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros:
Reviews and pictures on the website were very different from reality. Hotel is ok and staff was very friendly and accommodating but the hotel location in the middle of a very crowded, not so good area and hotel parking that looks like a mechanic shop, I immediately felt very uncomfortable staying there with my 2 daughters. I would not recommend this hotel for a family. Maybe ok for singles who don't care where they stay. I had to go to a different hotel also because the hotel could not find my reservations that I have made through cheaptickets.com and even after receiving a confirmation e-mail.
4 out of 5
by Ryan from USA

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Good value, good location, good breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Mohammed from Durban, South Africa

Great stay at Golden Walls Hotel Jerusalem

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyable stay and great breakfast