Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Alright

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms could do with a lick of paint / new carpets.
Location: Great location, just off the Jaffa Road, very close to the old city as well as the market districts
Located in Modern Jerusalem just off the Jaffa Road, the Zion hotel is excellently placed. There are some decent bars next door, however it IS noisy at night, so ear plugs are advised if you want an early evening. The breakfast was OK, slightly limited choice. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The rooms could do with a spruce up, but on the whole i would recommend the Zion Hotel if you are on a budget and the location is great with many landmarks within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Perfect location in the heart of Jerusalem

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Excellent staff. Excellent location. Good air conditioning, and good breakfast.
Stayed for 8 nights in August 2016. The hotel is in excellent location, 15 minutes from the Old City (walking), 10 minutes from Mahane Yehuda Market. Walking distance to Central Bus Station. Very polite, knowledgeable and helpful staff. Breakfast was included in the package. Air-conditioning worked well, wi-fi was a little slow but adequate. Will go back to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Treated like family...

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The character, the feel of the building and most of all the staff.
Cons: You can pick apart anything if you want, I personally loved this hotel!
Location: Hotel Zion is probably the most centrally located in the middle of the old city, there is more to do than you can imagine.
I came to Israel and could have stayed at any hotel. Instead I stayed at a place that treated me like a family member. The staff and management at the Hotel Zion were incredible, just salt of the earth people who made my stay more than I expected. Why? Because they actually care about their guests, taking time to help schedule tours, give directions and suggesting places to see and tours to take. They made it easy to feel at home, nice cold water in the lobby, relaxing and very comfortable sofas and chairs, awesomely fast WIFI, and a beautiful Israeli breakfast every morning with a great selection of foods, juices, coffees, teas, and good company. To many people will be critical of a hotel that's not perfect, the building is over 200 years old and has such a warm welcoming vibe to it. Is it fancy? No! Is it spotless? No! Is the bed comfortable? Incrediablely! Was the staff quick to assist with any requests? Without hesitation! Was my room cleaned everyday? Very well by very thoughtful service staff who smiled and always kept your towels, soap and shampoo stocked. Look! You need to get out and see the old city, you need to enjoy the awesome nightlife, the cafes, the restruant's and street food, the local vibe is alive and great to be around. If I had a million dollars in my pocket I'd still stay at the Hotel Zion, because they know their guests and remember your room numbers and are a joy to talk with and most of all they treat their guests like family. Best time ever!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix

Nice hotel close to restaurants and tram.

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Location: Center of Jerusalem. Great location!
Overall this hotel was OK. The kitchen staff was very helpful. It was difficult getting my gear up the 3 flights of stairs. On the evening after Shabbot, the nightlife extended until 3-4 in the a.m.. I had a hard time sleeping that night. I would recommend this hotel to people under the age of 55.
3 out of 5
by Ana from Seattle

Good Location

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
I wanted to be within walking distance to Ben Yehuda and the Old City. This hotel was ideal for this. Main problem was the many stairs. Not good for bad backs etc.
3 out of 5
by KAR YUEN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Graciela from New York

standard hotel in good place

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
good for the price
1 out of 5
by Eugene from Brooklyn NY

THE WORST TRAVEL EXPERIENCE IN MY LIFE .

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
AFTER 30 MIN. AFTER WE ARRIVED I JUST CANCELED AND MOVED TO ANOTHER HOTEL. IN MY OPINION THIS HOTEL HAS NO PLACE ON THE MARKET. DIRTY, FILTHY DISCUSTING.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Close to the Old City

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was really good, olives and cheese and eggs and more!
Cons: It is not the fanciest hotel, they rooms were cleaned every day but there were stains on things sometimes, as long as that doesn't bother you.
Location: A 15 minute walk via Jaffa from the Old City!
This hotel sits in the middle of Ben Yehuda boulevard, so a taxi cannot just drop you off there. So make sure you know beforehand exactly where you are! In some ways it is nice because there is not a lot of traffic, there are a lot of shops on Ben Yehuda, it's close to Jaffa where you can get on a train, and it's about a 15 minute walk to the Old City. Don't except a fancy pants hotel, but it was fine for a crashing place while we were busy and out and about. Most of the staff was very helpful and can help you get around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Decor
Location: Old City
The hotel is very well located. 3 minutes walking to/from the train stop and 8-10 minutes to/from the Old City. Nice area. Currency exchanges very close by as well