Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by NIcholas

Architectural wonder

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Awesome hotel. Great rooms and service in an architectural wonder.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Thank you for your recent stay at InterContinental Hangzhou. Its unique design and magnificent golden global architecture make the hotel one of the city’s newest landmarks. Guests can enjoy scenic views of the Qianjiang River and lighting show from their rooms’ floor ceiling window. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms stink...literally

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
At first glance the hotel and rooms are beautiful. But closer inspection of the rooms reveals stains, scratches, and generally a need for a major renovation. All of that however could be overlooked if it wasn't for the persistent musty smell of mildew/mold. Running the AC all night only vaguely masked the odor. It became apparent that this is a bigger issue, when, upon asking for a new room the next morning due to the bad smell, the girl behind the counter said "I know. Many people say they don't like the smell". The new room smelled just as bad. My five colleagues staying on various floors all over the hotel also complained about the smell. This is clearly a hotel-wide issue. Until this is resolved, I highly recommend staying elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies for any issues that you had encountered during your stay. Please be assured that is not indicative of our usual standards. We have shared your feedback with relative department and will plan to check all rooms to make sure the air is fresh and clear.We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your experience as best as it can be.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rebecca from Hong Kong

Staff needs more training

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
the staff should be better trained. There was a girl at front desk who was rude to her colleague in front of me, in fact this colleague was just asking the girl to speed up the security registration for me. Feel like I was staying at a 2-3 star hotel. Also, the staff at coffee shop are lack of training, they don't know the basic and not attentive, this really damaged the hotel image.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice and comfortable

Posted May 28, 2016
Nice hotel, our room had good view of river. Comfortable and close to places by car.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Intercontinental but not really...

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
While being part of the Intercontinental group of hotels, this hotel is run by locals so it is not the standard I have become accustomed too from Intercontinental group. Room was interesting and nice but the service lacked with many misunderstandings taking place. Reminds of coming to China a decade ago or so. Perhaps that was the reason the price was reasonable compared to others in China.
3 out of 5
by Carola from Shanghai

Overall just ok

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel itself is quite impressive and the rooms are large and clean. However (as with many hotels in China) the rooms smell like at some point guests were allowed to smoke in them. You get used to the smell when you spend some time in the room but every time you come in from the outside it is clearly noticeable. The hotel is in the new CBD part of Hangzhou so location wise you will always need a cab to get anywhere. The following comments are just related to the Western food as my husband and I did not sample any other. Once again, like many Chinese hotels the Western food is of relative poor quality. We did try the dinner buffet as well as the breakfast buffet. Its both ok. Not more not less. I do understand that this hotel caters mostly to Chinese and that therefore their main focus is not the Western food, but my suggestion would be to offer a little less of everything and focus on a few things trying to get them right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2015 by Yoyo, Hotel Management
Dear Carola, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service. Hotel Management
5 out of 5
by Richard from London

5 stat hotel with 5 star service

Posted Jul 9, 2015 on Hotels
Truly one of the best and most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in. What however also makes it one of the best is the service provided. Efficient, helpful friendly and yet professional service. 5 star indeed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2015 by Yoyo, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thanks a lot for your feedback and appreciation! There is more enjoyable moments we wanna share with you. We are looking forward to meeting you again in this paradise city ! Have a nice day! Yoyo Ge Distribution Manager
3 out of 5
by Michel from Blainville qc, Canada

Quiet stay in Hangzhou

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
Annual business trip. Usually stay near West Lake. Thought I would try something different. Not a good idea. Location is out of the way and you can't walk anywhere. Nice hotel, but average food buffet and nothing going on. The place is dead!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels