Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

Great small hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: The size of the hotel appealed to me. The rooms are very spacious and beds comfortable.
Cons: The bathroom / showers / faucets could do with upgrading / maintenance. The decking for the pool was being maintained but could do with overhaul.
Location: The beach is within walking distance and great for children to swim in, unlike Kuta. Warung Musik across the road from the hotel was great.
Had a really pleasant stay. The staff were friendly especially Lukmin who picked us up and dropped us from the airport. Also Yves was very supportive and everyday checked on how we were going. I worked in the hotel industry and have been away from the industry for about two years now. But staying at Kupu Kupu Jimbaran made me think again about the joy of working in hotels.
4 out of 5
by UFUK

Jimbaran: a good hotel but not a good site

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
The suits were great indeed, so was the breakfast. Rather than this other restaurants within the complex is not as good as you can expect. The Beach Club is a bit far from the hotel; however there s always a little shuttle car ready to take you there and back. The beach looks nice however for this season means nothing if you are interested in swimming; because of waves it is impossible and water is because of sand, dark brown. Meanwhile since waves are running in short distance; also not interesting for surfers maybe only beginners. For sea lovers; there is no need to go to Jimbaran side (maybe valid for this season) but Sanur region is highly recommended with crystal clear water. Meanwhile if u stay there; Padang Padang and Balangan beach is worth of seeing. In case you wanna go out for another restaurant or for shopping; you can only reach by taxi, not very centric location. Have not tried SPA, cause the prices are almost more than double compared to other hotels in any part of the island.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Does not look like the pictures.

Posted May 11, 2017
The hotel does not look anything like the pictures. It was old and run down. My duplex room had creaking stairs. And it doesn't make sense that the toilets are down stairs. Why is the floors so oily, I nearly died while waking up to pee in the middle of the night. The bed dipped in the middle. The only thing keeping this hotel afloat is the enthusiesm of the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted May 10, 2017
A nicely located hotel with beautiful and spacious rooms. There are many closeby restaurants and shops. Nice breakfast and friendly staffs. The pool is small though - it is located just outside the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted May 10, 2017
A nicely located hotel with beautiful and spacious rooms. There are many closeby restaurants and shops. Nice breakfast and friendly staffs. The pool is small though - it is located just outside the room
3 out of 5
by you can find way better for the price from very close to jimbaran beach

u can find way better

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
...it was ok
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Great hotel with friendly staff and close to beach
5 out of 5
by John

Overall a great place to stay for couples

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
For some reason I had not expected that the cost was as high as the final bill. After checking my reservation it appeared correct and was my mistake. The cost was high compared to an earlier four day stay at another resort which was much better in comparison and for whatever reason had a much lower cost.Overall the hotel Kupu Kupu was very good.The personnel were friendly and helpful, the room was clean, the facility pool and breakfast were very nice, and the free ride down to the Jinbaran Beach was very nice. The wooden floors in our room had some soft spots that made walking a little unsettling and uncomfortable. Also the wooden decking around the pool is in disrepair. I would recommend this for couples as a good choice if it fits your budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Kupu Kupu Jimbaran

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Excellent staff/service. Issues were rectified in record time. Breaksfast's were great.
Cons: The finishes in the rooms are just slightly lacking. Temperamental A/C, gaps in tiling, leaky taps and shower heads just let it down a bit.
Location: The nearby beach has plenty of bars and restaurants and activities such as surf schools/board hire
We stayed at Kupu Kupu over the Easter Weekend. As we were arriving fairly late we arranged a transfer from the hotel and whilst we had to pay extra for this, the service was prompt and we had no issues getting to the hotel. We stayed in a Uluwatu suite and found this to be well appointed with a massive bed and the bathroom area was huge. The free provisions such as tea, coffee and water were plentiful and the bed very comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and polite and when we had to raise an issue around a leaky bathroom tap there was a maintenance person at the room in less than 5 minutes. We spent most of our time at the beach club which was a short walk or buggy ride away. There were plenty of sun beds and towels provided. Unfortunately we tended to eat elsewhere though as the prices were a lot higher in comparison. We didn't use the spa for the same reason. We had a very early start on the morning we left so went to settle our bill the night before and were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel even provide breakfast boxes for you to take so we could eat on the go!! Overall we were happy with the hotel and service and would recommend it to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A peaceful escape close to Jimbaran beach

Posted Mar 20, 2017
We were pleasantly surprised by a complimentary room upgrade. Having a poolside room was delightful! The Jimbaran Beach Club was low key with everything we needed (loungers, towel, shower, drinks) and not busy during our stay in March. The sushi and Indian restaurants were both excellent. The only suggestions for improvement would be better lighting around the bathroom/shower/toilet in our room. The TV reception was also poor. Overall, highly recommend!