Ratings based on 619 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not my favorite hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Bed sheet was dirty and disgusting. Stains on room carpet. JING'an Metro is about 15 to 20 minutes walk away from hotel. Staff was not friendly and unfamiliar with foreign guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: just the way it is
good, never a problem. Have stayed many times over the years. I alway keep coming back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prime Location, Room Condition Need Improvement

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
additional charges on pool and gym access prime location, close to Huaihai Road and Former French Concession. Food is very good. Room condition def need improvement
2 out of 5
by Shant

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
Sheets were not charged for my duration. Food was average, not worth the money. Had to pay 100RMB to use the swimming pool or, a tiny 2 man steam room every time. Gym also wasn't included, again extra money. Had to share my bed with silver fish. My height is 178cm, my feet just hung over the bed. Heater in the rooms were set at a constant temperature which I couldn't change. Hotel needs a foreigner present at reception to make others welcome and to advise where to go, if need be.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Location is great but that's all.

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Concierge staff were great!
Cons: friendliness of front desk and hotel rooms need an upgrade.
Location: Near French Concession, and subway stops.
The front desk staff is very unfriendly. The concierge staff were amazing! My room wasn't ready which was fine, I went outside to explore for couple of hours. But once I came back and got into my room. The room was clean but smelled like smoke which was strange because there is a letter stating that all the rooms are non-smoking but there were ashtrays with matches. I went to go to the bathroom and notice that my toilet seat had dried up urine and splashes of number 2 stains. They immediately changed my room to the room next door which was a lot cleaner and didn't smell like smoke but again there was an ashtray and matches but had a note stating the rooms were non-smoking. Housekeeping brought me fruit, I'm guessing either as a welcome or an apology for the 1st room. Overall, the hotel is in a great location. The breakfast was good (basic). The rooms were not so great! It reminded me of a motel room not a hotel room. Would I stay here again? Absolutely not! I would pay the extra and stay at a Marriott or Hilton.
3 out of 5
by YOUNG

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lars

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel in walking distance from Jin'an temple. Breakfast was very good with a good combination of Chinese and western food. Very good hotel for the price. I will come back
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Debt

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: All
Cons: Service
Location: Good
Hi City Hotel Shanghai, you blocked about 2400 Chinese Yuan from my credit card and still didn't pay it back after I payed all the debts in cash. Where is my money? My name is Rauf Hasanli
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Nice cheap hotel at the city center

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Location location location!!! The hotel is located in Former French Concession, very close to the heart of the city. Easily accessible to the metro lines #2 #10 #1. Pretty sidewalks along the shopping streets. If you are looking for a decent place to stay for a day or two, it is reasonably priced hotel! Breakfast was good too!