Ratings based on 441 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Lorette

Absolutely Stunning!!!

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
We are an American family and we wanted to celebrate our anniversary. My husband and I stayed there to renew our vows. We had a very small ceremony, but the pictures came out amazing. The hotel is beautiful and the staff were very courteous. We would absolutely stay at Moller Villa again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san fran

Amazing Hotel!

Posted May 2, 2017
This hotel is beautiful! The room was amazing; clean and well decorated and definitely worth the few extra bucks we payed compared to our first two nights in Shanghai. (Very glad we made this our last night, because if we went the other way it would have been bad!). The breakfast included was beyond our expectations! The staff was very helpful, polite, and curtious. Highly recommended!!
5 out of 5
by mingdi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the heritage element

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Orbitz
Amidst bustling shanghai - the largest in the world, this was a great return back to tranquility and sense of roots simply by the way you fell while in the place build and completed in 1936! Even the area completed in 2002 was aimed at giving the same vintage vibe! I used to be based in shanghai for three years down the road at the heritage buildings of Shanghai theater academy, so it was my first time revisiting for business and needless to mention I was in need of heritage feel, so this not only is perfect for this time around but I consider it for future returns vs Peninsula and tHe four seasons hotels ~
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Special hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
As it was the 2nd time we stayed in 10 days we got an upgrade but everything wonderful.Breakfast really not great for western people but great for chinese.
4 out of 5
by Hilary

Very different.

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
Very special hotel, not suitable for people who like the big chain hotels. Good breakfast, NO bar , teatime 14.00 until 17.00. Poor english.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from greer SC

Moller Villa hotel

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Orbitz
The hotel does not have any facility. I could not have breakfast because the restaurant does not open until 7:00am. Staff speaks limited English and not at all helpful. Metro station is about 15 minutes walk. The street is dark and not good restaurant nearby. Once they add the tax the room rate goes up.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A dream hotel with memories

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
A historical place located in the heart of Shanghai. We enjoyed our stay very much!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, unique property

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: location, friendly staff, unique architecture and design
Cons: The cleaning lady cleaned the room even though I had the "do not disturb" light on when I was out for a short time.
Location: It's very central
This was a private villa before I used to walk by everyday on the way to school when I was a teenage. Now this is a unique boutique style hotel. There's a lot of beautiful detail in the architecture inside and outside. The location is very central, this is the part of the city that hasn't changed too much. There's a restaurant called "fu Ji" across the street that has delicious curry dish and authentic ice milk tea. The standard room is a bit small, washroom is clean enough, breakfast has good Chinese and western selection. The staff is friendly, the door man will call a taxi for you if needed. Overall if you are looking for a unique interesting style hotel to stay, this is a good choice. BTW, the air quality in Shanghai in November was terrible. The family mart next door has mask for sell, if you are there for more than a few days, allergy medicine and a face mask would be recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Thank you moller villa

Posted Nov 9, 2016
i need to thank all of the staff in moller villa. w spent 3 days in the hotel. the whole experience was lovely. the hotel is located in jing'an, which apparently is a very prestigious are other than the classic bund. it was very convenient to take an airport shuttle bus to jing'an, 15mins walk to moller villa hotel. Alternatively, an uber or a cab will take u there in 5mins. heaps of food and modern shopping malls closeby. I initally booked it due to its awesome castle appearance, which didnt disappoint me at all. we spent our anniversary last night there, while it was supposed to be the first night, however, hotel staff forgot to organise welcome pack at the beginning. i was going to let it go, but last night there, one of the staff picked it up that it was our anniversary, then they gave us a nice card and a complimentary bottle of wine. i truely appreciated you guys prepare everything for us. love the breakfast there. if you love cats and fishes, you will be able to see them around the garden. i cant thank you enough to provide us last beautiful night there. very friendly staff. cleaniness is great. love that classic historical building. couple of more points, there is gym available but not swimming pool; in addition, if you guys could have improved the smell in the breakfast place, this place will be perfect!