Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN, USA

Fantastic location

Posted Dec 11, 2017
If location is important to you, this would be a good choice, but only for that reason. The staff here are great, but the breakfast cost $50 and was terrible. The rooms are old and dated. Definitely not what I would expect from an upscale hotel like the Ritz Carlton. The shops and restaurants in the viscinity are amazing. This is the pulsing center of Shanghai.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Short Hills, NJ

Center of Shanghai's certral location

Posted Nov 8, 2017
When I checked in, the front desk couldn't offfer what I requested 2 twins room a month ago when I reserved with Expedia . I was told Expedia sent them 1 King as reservation and I should contact travel agent - she couldn't do much about Expedia's mistake. This seems rude to Ritz Carlton customer. I had to escalate to manager to solve the issue. I like to praise its manager's good attitude but staff training should be improved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great Service

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: See above
Location: Excellent location. Very close to many restaurants and shops, and only about 2 blocks from the Metro. The location was very convenient.
This hotel offers excellent service. The employees are constantly asking if you need help. They even assign you with a Guest Relations Officer. Our officer was Cheryl Yao, who was very nice and pleasant. Every time we would see her she would always ask if we needed any assistance. We totally appreciated her assistance and everyone at the Portman Ritz Carlton.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Dr. Saleh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Philip

Good value

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
The Portman Ritz-Carlton is not the most impressive of the Ritz-Carlton line nor is it the nicest hotel at which I've stayed in Shanghai, but it is an excellent value. The hotel gets high marks for its first rate gym and spa facilities. The room was in excellent condition but lacking some of the high-end amenities that other five-star hotels provide (no wall switch or ipad to operate the drapes, etc). Most notably missing was a real coffee maker; only instant coffee packets are provided. On the whole, I prefer the Fairmont Peace Hotel or the Waldorf Astoria on the Bund, but the Portman Ritz-Carlton offers a very comfortable stay at a good value on West Nanjing Rd.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, older hotel.

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Excellent location, nice restaurants, a supermarket, banks, starbucks in the hotel complex.
Cons: Carpets on the hallway was moldy and not so clean on some floors and corners.
Location: 5-10 mins walk to two MRT stations. (It is between NanjiWest Rd and Jin An temple station), no. 2, and no, 7 line.
Service was great, staff were attentive. The room had a musty moldy smell.. the bed support was not as comfortable as many other 5 star hotels, also felt itchy on the first night in bed, but felt alright after the sheets were changed on the second day.
5 out of 5
by Wai Leung

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Simon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Xianwu

Perfect location and service, ordinary facility.

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
The location is wonderful, really couldn't be better. Service and staffs were also ideal. However, the bathtub cannot function smoothly, and the shower stopped providing water for a few minutes on 3 am, hope these were rare cases.