Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Charming, great atmosphere

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Charming, great atmosphere. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Westerners should be prepared for small bathrooms with just ok showers. Good restaurant on site. Perfect for 1-2 night stay in Pingyao
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Traditional courtyard house - a step into the past

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: The Yide is in the old walled city of Pingyao. You can explore the whole area on foot. You buy a ticket which gives you entry to many small museums.
There are twenty odd rooms set around various courtyards. The traditional courtyard setting offers a unique experience where you feel you have stepped into the past. In our room, a large 'kang' style bed took up most of the space and the rest of the furniture was also traditional - an unforgettable experience. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The restaurant serves good food.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Bristol

Real China..........

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great placer to stay in Pingyao. Very historic and authentic Chinese courtyard conversion. Closest to the real china we had hoped to see. Exceptional staff and very good catering
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel!

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Authenticity - architecture, experience Staff Location Cleanliness
Cons: Nothing
Location: Good location. Close to everything. We loved wandering the streets off the main drags. The tiny Catholic church is charming - a pink ceiling!
The Yide is one of the most wonderful hotels we have stayed at in our travels throughout China. The location is just right - off the beaten path, but close enough to the action. The staff was amazing - cordial and warm, attentive to our needs and pro-active in helping us with our plans. The room was clean, spacious and authentically China. We especially loved the kang bed. We would highly recommend the Yide.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A traditional experience of what a wealthy family

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: The old traditional style of the buildings and rooms.
Very old style but clean and neat. Staff all spoke relatively good English and were very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Friendly, helpful. Historic building, great area, good restaurant too
4 out of 5
by Sara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sara from London, UK

Amazing hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel was superb. Perfect location, visually very beautiful, the room was spacious enough for 2, the service was impeccable and the food at the restaurant was simply delicious. Wouldn't hesitate to book again or recommend to my family and friends.
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey

3 Weeks in China

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
Very cool historical hotel to stay at. The rooms are very clean, the attached restuarant was excellent, and service was great. They even helped me arrange a private driver that drove me to Hanging Temples, the Yungang grottoes, and then to Beijing...only wish I had more time to stay in this amazing little town.
5 out of 5
by Diana from USA

Wonderful

Posted Jun 21, 2015 on Hotels
Really wonderful hotel with such delicious restaurant!! Food is a little expensive but pretty worth it. And the staff was so helpful to me. They made it so worth it!! I highly highly recommend!!!!