Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by MrsFoz from London

Great views

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the language barrier was a slight issue but luckily google translate helped us out! The hotel has amazing views but be warned there are very steep hills from the beach and town to achieve this view. Definitely worth paying for a sea view as the room downstairs was a little dark and dingy next to a loud barking dog!
4 out of 5
by ChicagoFoodies

By the Baia

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels
Buzios has become a very popular vacation spot with a very wide range of accomadation from hostels for the backpacking set to lux for the rich, some of whom may be famous. Baia do Joao Pousada is a moderately priced hotel and thats needs to considered. That said, it is very comfortable place to stay starting with a great locatioin and rooms that overlook the bay. Caveat, the great view means being up a hill so be prepared for a nice hike. The rooms are fine, clean and more than adequate-since are not coming to Buzios to stay in your room. They have wifi in the rooms. The shower in ours was a bit small, but doable. As a small hotel, the service is quite personal-Ricardo, the owner is a warm, cheeful pleasant guy-who speaks English and Italian, in addition to quite naturally, Spanish and Portugeuse. We enjoyed our stay and hope you enjoy yours.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Awesome

Posted Jun 21, 2011 on Hotels
I was at the hotel for a week, while attending a trade show in Macae (75Km away) it was worth the commute to come back to this amazing place. The breakfast was included and was even better because of the great views. I highly recommend this hotel especially if you are traveling with a loved one.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

A gem!

Posted Mar 20, 2011 on Hotels
We picked this inn based on other good reviews and were not disappointed. It was perfect and better than the pictures! The room was simple but perfectly fine in every way, it lacked nothing. The lobby/bar and breakfast area was sunny & pleasant with spectacular views over the pool/patio area-- impossible to beat! This location is absolutely perfect! We read reviews that said this, but I guess we didn't really believe them because we were blown away when we got there. Beach access (to a couple different beaches) is just at the bottom of a short (but steep hill) maybe 5 min walk? and town is a 40min stroll (? maybe more or less) -we were so entertained along the way, stopping to people watch and swim and shop, I really don't remember how long it took because we were in no hurry. it is the perfect outing. The innkeeper couldn't be more hospitable. He speaks English, Portuguese, Italian and Spanish. He is simply delightful and even drove us to dinner and the bus when we left. We have such warm feelings about this place I want to spread the word. It the kind of place you hope to find but only sometimes do...it was wonderful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Regular

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
Un hotel con muy buena vista un poco alejado del centro caminando y con un desayuno no muy variado
5 out of 5
by Daiana from Curitiba

Perfeito!

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Tudo perfeito!!! Atendimento excelente, hotel super confortável e uma vista incrível.
3 out of 5
by Rodrigo from Florianopolis

Boa

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
Pousada bem localizada na praia com uma bela vista para o mar, serviços simples e local agradavel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pousada baia de joao

Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
La habitación tenía una vista muy bonita pero le faltaba mantenimiento. El placar tenia un olor muy feo que no permitía guardar la ropa y se extendía a toda la habitación, había que ventilarla permanentemente. El desayuno es bastante pobre. El colchón no es muy cómodo.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Pedro from Rio de Janeiro

Fim de semana rápido

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
O serviço é atencioso e não tivemos grandes problemas. O café da manhã pode melhorar um pouco, mas não é ruim. A localização é boa apesar de termos que descer e subir uma boa ladeira para ir e voltar da praia. Problemas da topografia de Búzios. Ganhamos assim uma excelente vista.