Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
by A verified traveler from Austin Texas
Hotel not worth the price.Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: The view and staff.
Cons: Maintenance of the air conditioners and WiFi and TVs.
Location: The beach was within walking distance but far from central buzios where all the shopping and great restaurants are. You will need to taxi or Uber.
We checked in and the staff was wonderful. We were informed we would be charged a tourist tax per day when we checked out. They told us we were upgraded to a superior room free of charge. I actually booked a superior room but anyway. The room air conditioner was broken and the WiFi did not work at first. They fixed the ac and then we noticed at night the tv would stop working around 10pm. Two days later the ac totally froze up and was dripping cold water onto our bed. We called the front desk and 4 hours later they upgraded us to a suite. That was nice everything worked except the tv would stop working at night. Very frustrating. The breakfast was great and the staff was wonderful and English speaking. If they made sure the rooms were maintained and the TV and WiFi worked my review would be,different. It’s not a terrible hotel but from my experience not worth the price at all. I feel bad because the staff was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Gerente de relacionamento, Hotel Management
Dear James Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We would like to point out that we have reviewed your reservation and it has been booked in Standard category and not in Superior category, as you say in your comments. Regarding the internet, we work with the best companies in the region, but unfortunately the service offered is not compared to those of the big cities. We are looking at possible improvements. The television signal may suffer interference according to the weather (winds and heavy rains), but we checked the device and consulted with other guests and there were no new complaints. We will be more attentive to identify the problem and correct it if it happens again. We work hard in maintaining the hotel since Buzios presents many difficulties and limitations and we are always attentive to offer the best service possible. We regret that you had bad luck with the events related to air conditioning and TV signal, but our work is intensive as we try to avoid inconveniences for our customers. In relation to the value of your booking, there are periods with greater demand and occupation than others, but we believe that we offer a great cost benefit with respect to most hotels in Buzios. All your comments will be passed on to our board and studied for improvement. We hope to welcome you again to revert this image of La Pedrera.
Great stayPosted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing place, location and service!! Enjoyed every minute of the stay and will certainly return as soon as possible. Thanks for the good service!!
by Emma from Lichfield
Gorgeous view and lovely hotelPosted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
The view from our premium room and indeed the bar / pool was amazing, plus it was only a 5-10 minute walk to the nearest beach and only a 15 minute walk into the main town (which is lovely with lots of eateries). The minibar and bar costs were also reasonable - and the breakfast and daily bar food menu was great.
Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires
Unexpected extra chargePosted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: Location. Calm. View
Cons: The food, breakfast and dinner requires improvement.
Location: Joao Fernandes neighborhood, great see view, walking distance to the beach, but no so close. 2 km of the center of Buzios.
I bought a triple room- one king bed and one single bed- to invite my son and 8 years old grandson to stay at the hotel for a while if I wanted (they live in Buzios). When I arrived they pointed me that the cost of a triple room depended on the number of people occupying it and they argued that they had to charge + 33% given they had to put extra towels, etc. I said yes to have the possibility to receive my family but I felt extremely disappointed. They never added the extra towels. My conclusion: the should not offer a triple room and then charge per person. It is abuse. A triple room has 3 beds and should be offered for 3 people. I would not recommend the hotel given such unfair practices.
by A verified traveler
Absolutely amazing!Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Everything about this place was perfect. My only regret is that I didn't stay longer! I would go back to Buzios just to stay here again.
by A verified traveler from La Plata, Argentina
Endless stairsPosted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Breakfast and swimingpool.
Location: Hard to go walking to anyplace.
Terrible stair to get the room, The rooms and some common places needs updates.
by A verified traveler
Nice hotel - but we expected more for the pricePosted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels
We booked the standard room (which was the most expensive room of our long trip) but it was very basic and had hardly any storage space (& we had quite a lot of luggage). We asked to be moved and were kindly upgraded, the room was larger but still quite basic & only had a rail for clothes & a couple of open shelves, no drawers for clothes. The pool area was lovely, the spa treatment very good and the breakfast was nice too.
by Ash from London
Lovely stayPosted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels