Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Dustin

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Overall was a great stay. Facilities and staff we awesome but the room was very small to be "western" room.
4 out of 5
by julio from brisbane

close to railway station in old part of town

Posted Jun 25, 2013 on Hotels
Very clean and central hotel. I had a small single room. It was small but to be expected in Japan. Most of the staff spoke little if no English. All of the room services were controlled by the key in the slot mechanism. So it took some time for the air conditioning to become effective - important as the room was on the west side of the building and very hot in the afternoon. Also the 'fridge was only lukewarm at best, so nothing could be kept in it for any length of time. The location near the train station was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tall family from North Carolina

A fine family place to stay away from home!

Posted Jun 5, 2013
Pros: An electric hot tea pot in our room with green tea each morning. The lovely hot breakfast.
Cons: The small bathroom! We were a tall family.
Location: We stayed there because of the convenience to everything! Our son who we were visiting, lived close by.
We enjoyed the delicious hot breakfast served at 7:00am. Our rooms had an electric hot water container for instant hot green tea packets & tea cups provided every day. The housekeeping staff were helpful to remind us to turn the green card over in our bedroom for service to have fresh bed linens. I had forgotten to turn the card over one day & we didn't have the service. I had them send up fresh linens & I remembered after that experience to go green! I was told to remember to use the door knob sign to show I'm sleeping or have the room cleaned. The staff placed the necessary amenities in our bathroom for our comfort. These amenities consisted of 2 inclosed vacuum packed sanitized bath sponges, 2 bagged sanitized toothbrushes with onetime use toothpaste tube, 2 sanitized bagged fold-up hair brushes, & 2 bagged razors with a shaving cream packet in each. There is a laundry room access on 1rst floor. The cost to wash & dry is only $4. We payed $3 in Japanese coins to wash & $1 in Japanese coins to dry. Our family has stayed at this Loisir Hotel each time we have visited Joetsu, Japan. We have fond memories there & they welcomed us back each time. Satisfied family from North Carolina
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nathan from Australia

Happy

Posted May 17, 2013
Location: Close to Takada train station and restaurants
Pleasant staff always willing to go that extra distance to help you with your questions. Top floor restaurant disappointingly had no menu in English...but that was half the fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Martin from London, UK

good hotel for short stay

Posted Apr 26, 2013
This is a very pleasant hotel conveniently located just few minutes walk from the station. there are shops and restaurants near by so whatever you need is within reach. Staff is very nice but not everyone speaks English which can complicate things a little bit. Over all we had a good time in very clean and quiet room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sakura hanami

Posted Apr 13, 2013 on Hotels
Great service. The amenity brand was something I personally use so I was happy. The room is nice and clean. The location was perfect because my priority was to stay somewhere near the train station for easy access.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from Queensland, Australia

Wonderful surprise

Posted Apr 17, 2012
Pros: location
Cons: none
Location: very convenient
This hotel was a real surprise. We weren't sure what to expect in such an out of the way place, but it was excellent in all respects. A short walk from the quaint railway station, and around a 20 minute walk to the gardens.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joshua from Otterbach, Germany

Decent hotel, not close to ski park.

Posted Mar 19, 2012
Pros: Clean Friendly staff.
Cons: Location. Almost everything around it was closed even at 5pm and not particularly near anything. Already paying to stay at the hotel, why parking?
We decided to use this hotel because Expedia said this hotel is near Nozawa Onsen Ski Resort. While it is 29km away, it took over 1 hour to get there (no traffic). The hotel itself was nice, though. Normal room size, bed, bathroom for Japanese hotels. Breakfast wasn't free and is a bit subpar, though. Parking is 500円 after voucher.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
普通のビジネスホテルです。                   トイレの便座が冷たかった。                
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
シングルのお部屋は狭いが十分。受付の方が親身に応対してくれました。 でもそれは高田の人の気質なのかも。居酒屋に書類を忘れたのですが、お店の方が名前だけを頼りにホテルに電話しまくって届けてくださいました。 感激しました。