Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2017
it was so nice to finally find a firstclass hotel in a quiet, bucolic setting away from all the noise and bustle of a major city centre. the staff even more friendly, i felt that i was being spoiled by each and every one. sarah handled the check in and made me feel right at home. ana made the breakfast and it was one of the best omelettes i ever had. that's saying a lot, since i'm so very picky. but the turn down service was the bomb. i was almost brought to tears, as i saw the hot water bottle in my bed, just like my great grandma roth used to do when i spent nights with her. she has since passed 15 yrs ago, but her memory still vividly lives on. thank you for this small detail, but as i told susan, the proprietor, it was the small details that really made a difference and set this guest house apart from any other. i dare you to find any hotel in this day and age that provides a hot water bottle for the turn down service in the evening. just a wonderful setting with a moroccan flare and an eclectic aesthetic that is very homey and pleasing to the soul.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Susan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your special review and for appreciating the small things. For us small things are big things. Susan Berry-Owner
5 out of 5
by MR COLIN DOUGLAS

Great location for restaurants of Linden

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great stay in this stylish clean and comfortable guesthouse.No need for a car and within walking distance of shops and restaurants.Thank you to friendly staff who cooked is breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Western Cape

Room for improvement on facilities

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Staff is very friendly and make you feel welcome.
Cons: Area around the house - walking area's, lights outside, wifi.
Location: Good neighbourhoud
When the front door of the guesthouse is locked in the evening you need to walk around the house to your room and it is dark and there is no light at all. Area also not in a condition to roll your suitcase on the wheels, you have to carry it. Wifi not good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Owner, Hotel Management
Guests who stays in the section where the main front door is do have a key for the front door as well as for their room. This guest were seemingly booked in at the section of the guest house at the back , next to the swimming pool. Guests are supplied with a key for the front door to their section together with their room key. There is a way through the main house and then on a paved are to this section where the guest stayed. We use this normally when guests arrive with their suitcases. I assume that this guest has arrived late at night and the main section has been locked already. The Wi-Fi is using a fibre line, uncapped with high speed. Would have liked to know what was exactly the problem with the Wi-Fi so that we could have contacted the supplier. We will have a look at the lighting in the back to add then to the existing lighting. Thank you. We appreciate any feedback,
4 out of 5
by Eva

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful staff and lovely guest house

Posted May 3, 2016
I had a lovely stay at the wonderful Gooseberry Guest House. The rooms were of a very high standard and very comfortable. The staff were so caring like a family. There was nothing that was ever too much for them and made my stay away from home really wonderful. I will definitely be going back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Sudan

Hard to locate. Should consider airport shuttle

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Room looks good
Cons: Meals and airport transfers
Location: Not much. The shopping mall is quite some distance from the hotel
Though the place is ok, no meals are served for lunch and dinner making it difficult for someone who is not prepared to go out in search of food
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Owner, Hotel Management
There are Mr Delivery booklets available for guest who would prefer to have food delivered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Geol

Exclusive & quiet neighborhood

Posted May 7, 2015 on CheapTickets
The place is good for retreat. Located far from city center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by QTee

Absolutely Wonderful!

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Orbitz
I received a warm greeting upon arrival, with very helpful staff. The gardens are so lovely, and the beautiful swimming pool. The establishment exudes warmth and elegance. There is even a salon on the premises where I could have my nails done and a pedicure. The breakfasts are something to look forward to, absolutely delicious! Susan, the hostess is so very lovely - I so enjoyed my stay! I can't wait to return! I highly recommend 5th Avenue Gooseberry to everyone!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elder G.

Very friendly staff

Posted May 5, 2014 on CheapTickets
It was like being with old friends We felt at home and really enjoyed the artwork!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Vivian from KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

Quality and style, best yet!

Posted May 13, 2013
The staff were superb, breakfast delightful, surroundings luxurious and relaxing. Great location, convenient access for any one on business or travelling.