Ratings based on 452 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey UK

Hotel stop over in JNB

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Proximity to airport, staff and facilities.
Great cost effective accommodation near to O.R Tambo airport. Excellent pool, room facilities and staff made for an excellent stay and the breakfast is cooked to order.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Excellent location and good value

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Staff - everyone very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Keep up the good work
We were warmly welcomed and shown to our very spacious room. Everything in our room was well presented, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed a delicious evening meal and we're served by friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was very good too. We are happy to be returning in 3 weeks time!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ATL

Guest house conveniently near OR Tambo

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: The convenient location to the airport, the transfer service to the guest house, and the friendly staff. I also liked the chalet-type room.
Cons: The second room in which I was booked could be a bit more updated & is noticeably different in its amenities; should be priced lower than chalet room
I stayed at the Aero Guest Lodge for two separate nights on a weekend. I was placed in two very different rooms and will speak about both. However, first I will share my thoughts about this guest house. First, the guest house is very convenient to OR Tambo--the staff picked me up right outside international arrivals, and in short order. I needed to wait only about 10 minutes maximum. The reception staff was very nice, and showed me to the first room of two that I stayed in over the weekend (Thursday/Saturday). Second, the rooms. On the first night of my stay (Thursday), I was placed in a stand alone chalet type room (Room 16, I believe) and was very spacious and across from the breakfast/dining area. The bathroom was separate from the living area, and the room had a small flatscreen television with six or seven channels available. The bathroom was well appointed and updated, and very spacious. There was a large armoire for clothes, a coffee/tea station, and a standing fan. The bed was comfortable. The jet/airplane noise from Tambo was quite noticeable and reached into the late hours of the evening. However, I was still able to get rest--no problem. On the second night (Saturday), I was placed in Room 14 which is the room furthest from the dining area. It was small, with fairly low ceilings. The bathroom is open to where the bed is, so if you're with a friend, you may want to ask for the larger chalet-type room. For the price, the guest house is good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Close to the airport, reasonable rates

Posted Oct 18, 2017
I stayed for two nights at the AeroLodge guesthouse. The first night, I was placed in a chalet, Room 16, with high ceilings in a very spacious room and right across from the breakfast/dinner area. The room was very nice, had a fan, and Tea-making facilities. The bathroom is set apart from the main room. The shower was nice, and there was plenty of room. The dinner/breakfast was good. The lodge provides for a hot breakfast, and cold items as well. There was enough food, and the quality was quite good. A day later, I stayed at the same hotel. I was put in room 14, which was the room furthest from reception and from the breakfast/dinner area. The room was quite small, the bed taste towards the door and the bathroom had no door or privacy. In fact, you could see the toilet from the bed. If you don't mind and you have a partner, this might be OK. However if you plan to share a room this would not be ideal. The cost of the rooms was exactly the same. The lodge perhaps should charge more for the individual chalets, rather than the small rooms. The room itself was tight, there were no tea- making facilities. Well the rooms looked as if they were slightly updated, it's still a fairly old place. The transfers to the airport and back were great and the staff is very friendly. This lodge is only about 15 minutes if that from the airport. The shuttles run every hour on the hour. however, the lodge will pick you up at the airport, and it was very easy to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cape cod MA

Such a pretty lodge.

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Very pretty lodge. Johannesburg was a stop over on my way to Swaziland. As my first experience in Africa it was delightful. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful, willing to help in all matters.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Fl

Nice basic hotel near airport

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Aero Guest Lodge serves breakfast (incl) and dinner daily. Food is good although at times certain items may not be available at dinner. Staff is friendly and go out of their way to help. Shuttle to and from airport is also included.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from delaware

Want to Exoerience being on an Aircraft Carrier.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Within the security walls and gates, things were fine. Staff were friendly and welcoming.
Cons: New location needed.
Location: Don't go outside the perimeter....
From 7 - 9:30 pm jumbo jets larch over the hotel; and starting ar 6 am, they begin landing...feels just like being on an aircraft carrier. Without gps, very difficult to locate in a rather unsavory neighborhood with many seedy indivuals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Nice very reasonably pricedlodge close to airport.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The staff was amaxing. Our luggage was delayed. They let us use the phone and wash our clothes. It is fenced in for safety but we felt very safe. Served dinner in their restaurant that was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2017
An absolute fantastic welcome . Very helful and caring personnel attended to our every whim. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Cute relaxing lodge!

Posted Aug 18, 2017
We absolutely loved the environment and style of this lodge. I only stayed here one night before I had to leave for the airport, and was so sad that I couldn't have stayed longer. It is a cozy comfortable lodge with very well taken care of facilities, the pool table is in great condition and was a fun way to hang out with friends. I LOVED the honesty bar that is open 24 hours, you just take a drink from the fridge and write down what you had to pay upon checkout. The rooms were stunning. Very modern showers with beautiful shower heads, which was very relieving to us after staying at a few places with very poor water pressure!! The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast and service at breakfast was amazing, especially for it being free! You could choose from many options for free on the breakfast menu, including bacon and eggs. LOVED THIS LODGE!!! Can't wait to come back to South Africa to stay at it again!!!