Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Convenient and safe

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Staff and service very friendly. Bed Linen was torn and had holes which is not suitable for a 5 star hotel.
4 out of 5
by Sara

Safe area

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
The area was very safe. Shopping and great outdoor cafes. The room was non-smoking but smelled of smoke. Fortunately the sliding glass door opened and I could get fresh air. Otherwise the room was very nice. No in-room coffee though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location, comfort, service and value!

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Clean, comfortable, great location and service. You can get to all the major spots in JoBurg for about US$20 via Uber.
Cons: Wi-Fi was spotty and slow.
Location: Several excellent restaurants inside and nearby the hotel. A great wine store down thee street with free tastings of great S. African wines.
Super-comfy hotel with great food, convenient safe location and excellent service. An excellent value!
5 out of 5
by daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by thandazile

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Beautiful hotel & stunning rooms

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Many restaurants nearby, solid Wi-Fi connection, excellent breakfast choices.
Cons: We had some difficulty re-entering our room due to late check-out. It seemed that the hotel had deactivated our keycards prematurely.
Great location, a beautiful hotel and the standard room we booked had ample space for us. A lot of good shopping choices nearby, as well as solid food choices that were walking distance to the hotel. We utilized the travel desk, as they were very helpful in assisting our travel needs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service and outdated rooms

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
Service was absolutely poor. Was told by the porter to take my own bags to the room!! Worst service experience ever. Unfriendly check out. Overall pathetic service for a '5 star' hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Good 5 star with great food, easily accessible.
Cons: Hotel must have own parking and not charge guest for it.
Location: check out http://melrosearch.co.za/
Excellent Staff, especially Esther at the front desk. Very accommodating and goes all out to ensure that customers are happy even on small things as checking which parking facility will be the cheapest.
5 out of 5
by Charlene

Luxury/Good Area

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Wow! What a great team at African Pride. Friendly and helpful staff. The Library bar was a great spot for a drink. The area was really nice as well, with some great restaurants. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Manuel

Amazing Hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent amenities, excellent breakfast, very comfortable and relaxing style.