Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Beautiful hotel & stunning rooms

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Many restaurants nearby, solid Wi-Fi connection, excellent breakfast choices.
Cons: We had some difficulty re-entering our room due to late check-out. It seemed that the hotel had deactivated our keycards prematurely.
Great location, a beautiful hotel and the standard room we booked had ample space for us. A lot of good shopping choices nearby, as well as solid food choices that were walking distance to the hotel. We utilized the travel desk, as they were very helpful in assisting our travel needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Good 5 star with great food, easily accessible.
Cons: Hotel must have own parking and not charge guest for it.
Location: check out http://melrosearch.co.za/
Excellent Staff, especially Esther at the front desk. Very accommodating and goes all out to ensure that customers are happy even on small things as checking which parking facility will be the cheapest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service

Posted Nov 29, 2016
The hotel staff are exceptional, friendly and their service and professionalism will always make me return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Pretty hotel, odd bathrooms, so-so front desk

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Drivers, reasonable tour prices with a private driver, walking distance to restaurants
Cons: Front desk staff wasn't very welcoming. Bathrooms need doors.
Location: There's a mini mall and several shops and restaurants in walking distance. The area was very modern and safe. Not sure how it compares to other areas.
This appeared to be one of the better hotels in town. The lobby is gorgeous, but I wouldn't describe the rooms as comfortable. Our room was oddly shaped and the twin beds were pushed up against the bathroom curtain. Yes, curtain. There was a shower curtain separating the main room from the tub/sink and then a door to the toilet only. You can actually see from the shower into the bedroom. The food at the hotel was North America pricing where the other restaurants in walking distance were local pricing. This is a huge distinction because we felt like we were being cheated by Marriott - $20+ for a cold brunch versus full hot breakfast outside of the hotel for $10. The South African RAND is weaker than the dollar, so your money goes further... outside of the hotel. Marriott takes advantage of that in its restaurant. We didn't have dinner at the hotel for that reason. The staff was all very nice EXCEPT the front desk staff was a bit stand-offish and not as friendly as the other staff. Everyone else, cleaning, tours, drivers, servers were all terrific. We had an amazing trip to Capetown and Hoedspruit and the service there was top notch. Maybe the service in Johannesburg is different because it's the "big city"? That being said, we would stay here again because the room price was reasonable. There was nothing so special though that we just have to return, so we would probably try another property. This property is absolutely not a bad one. I am just reporting the downside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
receptionists don't really know there job in relation to interaction with clients aswell as finances(amounts charged to myself were ghost charges until i told them).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Good hotel, good location

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Location. Easy acces from freeway.
Well siriated at Melrose Arch Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms nice size, contemporary furnishings. Comfy beds and many pillow options. Ample parking but at a charge. No gym but you can purchase a day pass to the nearby private club. Should be complimentary, in my option, as any 5 star hotel should have its own facility. Also the lobby, bar, lounge and dinning room are freezing. Seems there is no heating besides a few fireplaces which are not adequate to warm the area. Staff walk around in overcoats.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Authentic luxury African hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Expedia
Location: Shops, restaurants etc
Excellent location, superlative luxurious hotel in African decor. Miles ahead of Intercontinental or similar hotels. African welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Lovely hotel

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Lovely hotel, Staff and food excellent. Great location. Only negative was slow check in and room not ready at 2.30pm even though 2pm check in is advertised and was important to us. Would stay again and recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2016 by African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel TEAM, Hotel Management
Dear Lesley Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel! I am truly delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and will most definitely relay your wonderful comment to our chef. I am so sorry to hear that you had to wait for a room upon check in, I can assure you that this is definitely not the standard we are know for and would like to humbly apologize for any inconveniences caused. Wishing you a lovely day further and looking forward to welcoming you back to our esteemed property in the very near future, Best regards African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel TEAM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montréal Canada

A unique decor and clever use of space.

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Room is very comfortable and quiet. Perfect.location and great staff. The food at breakfast will blow you away quality and selection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2016 by African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel TEAM, Hotel Management
Dear Mario Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel! It is heartwarming to receive such a great review; I will most definitely ensure to relay your kind words to the TEAM. I am so glad that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you found the Melrose Arch Precinct perfect for your stay. We are really fortunate to be situated within one of the most secure areas in Johannesburg, South Africa. We are indeed know for serving the best breakfast in Jozi and are happy to see your confirmation of that. We strive to meet and exceed each and every one of our GUEST's expectations with every opportunity! Thank you once again for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback. It is so appreciated and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our esteemed property in the very near future! Warmest regards The African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel TEAM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Nice overall. Great staff and good facilities. I had a problem on my first day because the toilet wasn't cleaned before I arrived which was close to midnight. Someone came it to clean it immediately afterwards but this experience affected the rest of my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2016 by The African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel TEAM, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel. I am truly saddened to hear that the cleanliness of your bathroom wasn't up to standard and that it effected the rest of your stay. I can assure you that it is definitely not the standard that we are know for. I would like to humbly apologize for this and assure you that it has been taken up with the relevant department. I am however glad to hear that our STAFF and facilities met and exceeded your expectations; we continuously strive to give each and every GUEST our best GUEST service. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback. It is so appreciated and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our esteemed property in the very near future! Warmest regards The African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel TEAM