Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Beautiful hotel & stunning rooms

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Many restaurants nearby, solid Wi-Fi connection, excellent breakfast choices.
Cons: We had some difficulty re-entering our room due to late check-out. It seemed that the hotel had deactivated our keycards prematurely.
Great location, a beautiful hotel and the standard room we booked had ample space for us. A lot of good shopping choices nearby, as well as solid food choices that were walking distance to the hotel. We utilized the travel desk, as they were very helpful in assisting our travel needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Good 5 star with great food, easily accessible.
Cons: Hotel must have own parking and not charge guest for it.
Location: check out http://melrosearch.co.za/
Excellent Staff, especially Esther at the front desk. Very accommodating and goes all out to ensure that customers are happy even on small things as checking which parking facility will be the cheapest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service

Posted Nov 29, 2016
The hotel staff are exceptional, friendly and their service and professionalism will always make me return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegant, but not stuffy. Great restaurants close.

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
The people were very friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful, and we would recommend the African Pride Melrose Arch to our friends and family.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Pretty hotel, odd bathrooms, so-so front desk

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Drivers, reasonable tour prices with a private driver, walking distance to restaurants
Cons: Front desk staff wasn't very welcoming. Bathrooms need doors.
Location: There's a mini mall and several shops and restaurants in walking distance. The area was very modern and safe. Not sure how it compares to other areas.
This appeared to be one of the better hotels in town. The lobby is gorgeous, but I wouldn't describe the rooms as comfortable. Our room was oddly shaped and the twin beds were pushed up against the bathroom curtain. Yes, curtain. There was a shower curtain separating the main room from the tub/sink and then a door to the toilet only. You can actually see from the shower into the bedroom. The food at the hotel was North America pricing where the other restaurants in walking distance were local pricing. This is a huge distinction because we felt like we were being cheated by Marriott - $20+ for a cold brunch versus full hot breakfast outside of the hotel for $10. The South African RAND is weaker than the dollar, so your money goes further... outside of the hotel. Marriott takes advantage of that in its restaurant. We didn't have dinner at the hotel for that reason. The staff was all very nice EXCEPT the front desk staff was a bit stand-offish and not as friendly as the other staff. Everyone else, cleaning, tours, drivers, servers were all terrific. We had an amazing trip to Capetown and Hoedspruit and the service there was top notch. Maybe the service in Johannesburg is different because it's the "big city"? That being said, we would stay here again because the room price was reasonable. There was nothing so special though that we just have to return, so we would probably try another property. This property is absolutely not a bad one. I am just reporting the downside.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Favorite Johannesburg Hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
One of my favorite hotels. Great service, interesting design, comfortable and fun. Rooms are really comfortable and beautifully designed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
receptionists don't really know there job in relation to interaction with clients aswell as finances(amounts charged to myself were ghost charges until i told them).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Lovely boutique hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely boutique hotel