Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent service

Posted Nov 29, 2016
The hotel staff are exceptional, friendly and their service and professionalism will always make me return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Pretty hotel, odd bathrooms, so-so front desk

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Drivers, reasonable tour prices with a private driver, walking distance to restaurants
Cons: Front desk staff wasn't very welcoming. Bathrooms need doors.
Location: There's a mini mall and several shops and restaurants in walking distance. The area was very modern and safe. Not sure how it compares to other areas.
This appeared to be one of the better hotels in town. The lobby is gorgeous, but I wouldn't describe the rooms as comfortable. Our room was oddly shaped and the twin beds were pushed up against the bathroom curtain. Yes, curtain. There was a shower curtain separating the main room from the tub/sink and then a door to the toilet only. You can actually see from the shower into the bedroom. The food at the hotel was North America pricing where the other restaurants in walking distance were local pricing. This is a huge distinction because we felt like we were being cheated by Marriott - $20+ for a cold brunch versus full hot breakfast outside of the hotel for $10. The South African RAND is weaker than the dollar, so your money goes further... outside of the hotel. Marriott takes advantage of that in its restaurant. We didn't have dinner at the hotel for that reason. The staff was all very nice EXCEPT the front desk staff was a bit stand-offish and not as friendly as the other staff. Everyone else, cleaning, tours, drivers, servers were all terrific. We had an amazing trip to Capetown and Hoedspruit and the service there was top notch. Maybe the service in Johannesburg is different because it's the "big city"? That being said, we would stay here again because the room price was reasonable. There was nothing so special though that we just have to return, so we would probably try another property. This property is absolutely not a bad one. I am just reporting the downside.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
receptionists don't really know there job in relation to interaction with clients aswell as finances(amounts charged to myself were ghost charges until i told them).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney.

Great weeks stay at the African pride hotel.

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Very enjoyable stay with excellent service from the employees.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Good hotel, good location

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Location. Easy acces from freeway.
Well siriated at Melrose Arch Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms nice size, contemporary furnishings. Comfy beds and many pillow options. Ample parking but at a charge. No gym but you can purchase a day pass to the nearby private club. Should be complimentary, in my option, as any 5 star hotel should have its own facility. Also the lobby, bar, lounge and dinning room are freezing. Seems there is no heating besides a few fireplaces which are not adequate to warm the area. Staff walk around in overcoats.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Authentic luxury African hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Expedia
Location: Shops, restaurants etc
Excellent location, superlative luxurious hotel in African decor. Miles ahead of Intercontinental or similar hotels. African welcome.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

sehr schönes Hotel in einer guten Umgebung.

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
2 Tage in Johannisburg. Das Hotel ist super gelegen. Frühstücksbuffet ist sehr vielseitig und fein. Zimmer sind originell eingerichtet. Toll
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sheila

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2016 by Tania Malan, Hotel Management
Dear Sheila Thank you so much for taking the time to rate your stay at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel! We certainly look most forward to welcoming you back to our property in the very near future. Warmest regards The African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel TEAM
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2016 by Tania Malan, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you so much for taking the time to rate your stay at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel! We certainly look most forward to welcoming you back to our property in the very near future. Warmest regards The African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel TEAM