Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Botswana

Disappointing Stay

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: Honor rooms booked until the check-in time. Value the customer. Clearly publish the changes in breakfast times. Move the shower!
Location: Close to OR Tambo.
We arrived around 8:40 PM traveling from out-of-country and needing to catch a mid-morning flight the next day. We had booked an executive room with two king beds and a fireplace to accommodate our family. Check-in is supposed to be until 11 so thought all was well. However our room had been given away to someone else and we ended up with two double beds and no fireplace so things were very tight. Room was only set up for three people instead of four. The shower was in the same room as the beds offering NO privacy. (Who does that?) Breakfast was supposed to be free and begin at 6, so we were told. However because it was Saturday they move breakfast to 7 am, which was the time we had to leave for the airport. No apologies were ever offered, in fact the staff was cold . This is obviously a business first and customer service is not valued. I booked after reading other positive reviews so while our experience is probably the exception we will not be back nor recommend this place to anyone based on our experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, Australia

Easy drive from O.R.TamboAirport or free pickup

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The spacious grounds, rooms very comfortable , the price ,good restaurant meal and breakfast.
Cons: For the price great value ,I like it as it is.
Location: Close to airport , I used it as an overnight stop and it provided for all my needs.
Overnighted on way to Kruger, since my last stay they now have a restaurant which means one can remain on the premises and enjoy the spacious well kept grounds.T
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windhoek

Great place bear airport

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Excellent open space. Not narrow rooms. Awesome scenery with ostriches on the range. Near local dam. Cool breeze in the morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Lovely Setting , Wild life Awesome, Rooms Large and Comfortable - Sadly unable to get out the Gate several Times and very Little Cover in the Pouring rain .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

close to airport nice and quiet

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Nice quiet location with 2 pools, good shuttle service to airport running every hour.
The game lodge is about 15 mins from the airport but it is nice and quiet with little noise from the airport. You would think you are in the countryside. There are a few game on site which you can feed, the hotel is very relaxed with friendly staff. The breakfast room is small but provides the usual breakfast fayre from cereals to a cooked breakfast. Through the day a snack menu is available and at night an evening meal can be taken at the restaurant bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Excellent value for money, close to the airport

Posted Feb 18, 2017
I would recommend to any kind of a travellers for a base to stay whilst exploring Johannesburg or for a overnight accommodation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Airport Game Lodge was a peaceful haven.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: I loved the friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Leaving a card in my room letting me know how to contact reception at any time would have been helpful.
Location: It is near the airport. On site they had quite a lot to do. You can go swimming, walking as it is a large plot or feed the animals that they have.
I unexpectedly had to book an overnight stay at this hotel when I realised my connecting flight to London was not going to be for a further 24 hours from Joburg. I book via expedia and was pleasantly surprised. I was picked up from the airport. You need to give them a call, they don't come automatically. It only took about 15 minutes to get to the Lodge once I was picked up. I booked in and was shown straight to my room. I was asked by Rodney who works at the Lodge if I wanted to do something the next day as I had quite alot of time on my hands. I was able to negotiate a round trip to see Nelson Mandela museum and his house and home town. I really had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Convenient and Beautiful

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Excellent value for money in most beautiful setting, yet very close to the airport! Will definitely recommend to others and use again myself. Very child friendly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mi,usa

Nice hotel close to airport

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Quick pickup (15 minutes after call), friendly service staff and lots of space with animals just over the fence. Pool looked clean and they offer free breakfast and you can easily book tours leaving there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Very nice place to stay in Joburg

Posted Jan 16, 2017
We enjoyed this place very much. They have a free shuttle to and from the airport, an excellent full breakfast, good wifi, very courteous and accommodating staff. The location feels far outside of the city, with lush grounds, animals, beautiful pool, etc...and yet is only 15 minutes from the airport. They have a restaurant onsite which offers good food at affordable prices. Although on our last stay they only offered a buffet dinner option which we found to be too pricey for a family of five. We will most certainly stay here again if we are flying into Joburg. Excellent value for your money!