Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jhb

Lovely hotel in a surprising location

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Lovely hotel with only 15 rooms. In an area of shops so view from room overlooks shops. We stayed for a night away from the kids and to celebrate our anniversary. Room well appointed. Not sure if this applies to all rooms but only has a shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only faults I would point out is the attention to detail in as far as our room tea and coffee, and the fact that two major ingredients for breakfast - salmon and pastrami - were not available. We had sundowners at a bar opposite the hotel situated in "The Factory Shopping Centre" with amazing views of Johannesburg.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Ascot Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you had a peaceful time away from the kids and are glad that you enjoyed your time off. Apologies for the inconvenience with some of the ingredients not being available. As we order in fresh - our delivery had not arrived yet. Thank you again The Ascot Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly service, poor location and room outdated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your room - we work hard to ensure our rooms are clean and tidy and as comfortable as possible for all of our guests - a real home away from home The Ascot Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, Nice Rooms, Poor wifi, No Gym.

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
Decent hotel in good location. Wifi poor! Advertised gym does not exist.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on our hotel. Unfortunately our gym is under renovation at this said time, as the lady who ran the gym has in fact emigrated. We are working on creating a much better space for our guests in our gym Kind Regards The Ascot Team
4 out of 5
by antonio

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel in a good area ot town with many restaurants and supermarkets just a few steps away
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased you enjoyed the location and your stay and hope to see you again The Ascot Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Was only here for one night nice hotel but the staff at breakfast were gems :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Ascot Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review - most appreciated and we hope to see you again soon
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice hotel shame about the location

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Good hotel, clean rooms and a good breakfast.
We had a one-night stop-over between flights and thought this hotel was closer to the airport than it turned out to be, Nice hotel though, good breakfast and facilities but too far from Johannesburg if your visiting as a tourist and too far from the airport for a stop-over.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by The Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay - it is quite far to stay here if you need to do an overnighter but its actually quite centrally based to the airport Thank you The Ascot Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for granting us with 4 stars The Ascot Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Wonderful - thank you for your stars to us!!! The Ascot Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
I found quite good comfortable staff are very helpful I am impressed
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us The Ascot Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels