Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Mamotheba

lovely place

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly staff. Modern and in a great location. Could do better with parking which was in what looked like temporary space,not easy to access
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Ascot Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel The parking space is being fixed up at the moment - but as long as you were able to park your car safely that is all that matters Thank you The Ascot Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Helpful staff

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Although smoking was not allowed in the rooms, it was allowed on the balcony resulting in the room smelling very smokey. Staff were very helpful & we moved rooms to a much less smokey room. Local area - we felt a little vulnerable walking at night to nearby eating places.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Ascot Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review We apologise if you found the room smelling smokey and we are happy that your issue was resolved with ease Thanks and hope to see you again The Ascot Team
3 out of 5
by Latif

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was extremely pleasant and the room was clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Ascot Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review
5 out of 5
by Nikki

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
Was awesome thanks, breakfasts were good the rooms were clean and spacious and comfortable and the service was great
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Ascot Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review WE are so glad you enjoyed your experience. The Ascot Team
2 out of 5
by Generalkasper

Old outdated hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
It was the oldest and most outdated hotel I've ever stayed at. No washcloth hard and uncomfortable bed. The balcony has no views and the room doesn't even have complementary bottles of water. Breakfast was ok but limited some items are not included. Wifi was weak only works at your room door or in common areas the pizza shop down the block is open 24hrs with strong fast wifi so we went there at night to use it. The staff was friendly and did their best to help us. there's a charge upon checkout that isn't listed on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Ascot Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you found our hotel so unpleasant The Ascot Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jhb

Lovely hotel in a surprising location

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Lovely hotel with only 15 rooms. In an area of shops so view from room overlooks shops. We stayed for a night away from the kids and to celebrate our anniversary. Room well appointed. Not sure if this applies to all rooms but only has a shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only faults I would point out is the attention to detail in as far as our room tea and coffee, and the fact that two major ingredients for breakfast - salmon and pastrami - were not available. We had sundowners at a bar opposite the hotel situated in "The Factory Shopping Centre" with amazing views of Johannesburg.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Ascot Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you had a peaceful time away from the kids and are glad that you enjoyed your time off. Apologies for the inconvenience with some of the ingredients not being available. As we order in fresh - our delivery had not arrived yet. Thank you again The Ascot Team
5 out of 5
by antonio

Boutique Hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
Very chic and very helpful staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Ascot Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for finding us chic and helpful - it's always so great that our guests enjoy their experience with us. The Ascot Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly service, poor location and room outdated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your room - we work hard to ensure our rooms are clean and tidy and as comfortable as possible for all of our guests - a real home away from home The Ascot Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, Nice Rooms, Poor wifi, No Gym.

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
Decent hotel in good location. Wifi poor! Advertised gym does not exist.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on our hotel. Unfortunately our gym is under renovation at this said time, as the lady who ran the gym has in fact emigrated. We are working on creating a much better space for our guests in our gym Kind Regards The Ascot Team