Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is beautiful and located in a quiet area. The room service was bad, order took too long and when delivered it was wrong order and the food was cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Velmorè Hotel Estate following your stay. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused during your experience with our room service. We do hope that you visit us again in the near future so that we can exceed your expectations. Warm Regards Staff and Management Velmorè Hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the Velmore Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay to your satisfaction. Valuable feedback like yours helps us to know the we are delivering the standard we aim towards. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your valued support. Warm Regards Staff and Management Velmore Hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is beautiful but for a 4* i expected better reception,we checked in at reception an was allocated to the other side of the hotel,to my disappointment the was no one to take nor show us to the room when we got there there was no one mending the reception and we had to literally look for someone to help us carry our laguage secondly the stoep and furniture on our patio was dirty not cleaned 3rd the rooms are not far from the spa can they refrain from beating drums at 7h30 for their guests cause it wakes u up a 4* hotel i expected better service than this they must take their staff for more training
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Velmorè Hotel Estate following your stay with us. We would like to apologise for the service and cleanliness you may have experienced as well as the drumming early in the morning. We do hope that you will visit us again in the near future. Warm Regards Staff and Management Velmorè Hotel Etstate
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms were neat and tidy, laminated floors were creaky, bedside tables are mounted too far from actual bed. Restaurant was tidy and modern, but didn't fit in with the rest of the decor of hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the Velmore Hotel. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be reviewed by the Line Manager concerned. We do look forward to welcoming you once again in the very near future. Warm Regards Staff and Management Velmore Hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight accomodation

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful property. The room was good enough for a good nights sleep. TV had poor reception. The restaurant service was shocking. There was a wedding at the hotel on the day so that's where their focus was. Service was extremely slow, the waiter was clueless and couldn't answer questions about the menu. When our food finally arrived more than half of the ingredients from the menu was left out. When we complained the chef came out full of explanations that their busy catering for the wedding and they just threw something together and send it out. He did make up for it by taking the food away, preparing a proper dish before sending it out. Of the 4 couples in the restaurant that evening everyone had issues with the food. Can't say that I'll eat there again. The Bakwena spa, that's on site, which we used the following day was very good and had a relaxing day there. Can recommend them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the Velmore Hotel. Valuable feedback like yours helps us to know the we are delivering the standard we aim towards and where improvement is required. Having said that, your comments will definitely be reviewed by the Line Manager concerned. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced on this occasion. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your valued support. Warm Regards Staff and Management Velmore Hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

Phenomenal Velmore Hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
When I initially booked I was very sceptical as I usually stay at one of the bigger, more well known hotels but I was simply blown away by Velmore Hotel. Certainly will be my FIRST choice for future Pretoria business trips.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your great review following your stay at Velmore Hotel Estate & Spa. We appreciate your kind words. We would like to thank you for your support and we would love for you to visit us again in the very near future. Warm Regards Staff and Management Velmore Hotel Estate & Spa
2 out of 5
by Unity from Pretoria CbD

Gorgeous but dissappointing

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
I had a horrible stay in this beautiful place, there was no water on the day of checking-in, and then no Hot water the next morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reviewing the Velmore, Banquet & Conference Estate. We are concerned to learn of your dissatisfaction with certain aspects of our services. Your feedback is valuable to us. Your comments have been forwarded to the Line Manager concerned. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience that you may have encountered on this occasion. We can only express the hope that it will not deter you from using the Velmore Hotel. Warm regards Staff and Management Velmore Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from johannesburg

Posted May 17, 2016
We had a good time with friends. Rooms were clean and comfortable although needing attention in the bathrooms, old toilet seat, mix matched and cracked tiles. The staff were pleasant. Disappointed that manager insisted on closing the bar at 11pm for a large group all staying at the hotel, even though there was another event on the property that continued until the wee hours of the morning. Perhaps she did not see the business opportunity.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2016 by Antoinette Kleyn, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Velmore Hotel Estate & Spa following your stay. We are please to see that you have enjoyed your stay, and would like to apologise for the bar closing at 11pm. We do hope that you will visit us again in the near future. Warm Regards Staff and Management Velmore Hotel Estate & Spa
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
We were invited to a birthday dinner by friends and a few of us stayed over for a night. The rooms are large and the beds comfortable with linen clean. Towels were clean but old. The safe in our room was not working. There was no hotel doorman. The hotel had additional rooms located at a different buiding. Check in however was only available at what seemed to be the "main" hotel, meaning if your room was in the other building you would have to walk between buildings to check in and access the dinning room. The second building reception area was cluttered with chairs - looked more like a storage facility. We had a buffet dinner and breakfast. The food was ok - nothing special. It was also noisy so I struggled to sleep. If they put a little attention to detail it would be a lovely place.
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Client, Thank you for your review following your stay at Velmore Hotel Estate & Spa. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with us, senior management have been brought in to attend to these matters. We do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to win back your most valued business. Warm Regards Staff and Management Velmore Hotel Estate & Spa
4 out of 5
by Melita from Vereeniging

A night out

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
The room was clean and everything else was fine except that the one side lamp was not working , other than that we enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was exceptionally delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Melita, Thank you for taking the time to review Velmore Hotel Estate & Spa following your night out. We are thrilled to see that you have enjoyed your stay and the great breakfast! We would love for you to visit us again Warm Regards Staff and Management Velmore Hotel Estate & Spa