Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uk

Our room wasn't ready for us checking at 7pm

Posted Jul 21, 2015
We just arrived at the hotel after flying from the UK, we waited for the shuttle from the airport for over an hour to finally arrive after 7pm to check in. The hotel was really busy dealing with conferences and the receptionist told us to sit and wait for our room as it's not clean yet. After over 30mins wait we were offered a double room instead of a twin we booked, or wait even longer due to the conferences. We finally got our room key about 9pm. The food, staff and room all fine at the hotel but we felt like our booking didn't count as we are 1 room and the conference matter more as they had hundreds of rooms. Wouldn't stop here again or recommend it to anyone, unless it was for a conference and not a leisure visit or stop over as this is the only type of customers that this hotel are bothered about.
3 out of 5
by Jesper from Lynæs

Stort, slidt konferencested nær lufthavn

Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
Værelser ligger som rækkehus-bebyggelser med P-plads direkte foran hver indgangsdør. Ret store afstande fra værelser til reception, morgenmadsrestaurant, konference-lokaler o.s.v. Man skal bevæge sig udendørs mellem faciliteterne - fint i godt vejr, men mindre hensigtsmæssigt i stærk hede eller regnvejr. Værelser har det mest nødvendige og er store, men lidt slidte/gamle, med helt antikveret billedrørs-TV. En del støj fra generatorer til back-up af el-system - de kørte næsten uafbrudt i de tre dage, jeg var der. Meget lav hastighed på internet/WiFi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Transit at Johannesburg

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
My stay was very pleasant except for the annoying power cut which resulted in me being moved to another room as I was too close to the noisy back up generator that had to be activated. The staff was quick to apologies and made the room transfer with no hassle what so ever.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

CKD Summit

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed for only one night. It takes too long to get hot water in the shower and the shower rooms are too slippery.
4 out of 5
by Carlos Henrique from Belo Horizonte

Bom hotel, mas longe do centro.

Posted May 6, 2015 on Hotels
Correu quase tudo bem com o Birchwood Hotel. Apenas achamos a iluminação do quarto um pouco deficiente, sobretudo no banheiro. O restaurante de carnes (Grill) do hotel tinha preços bons, mas boa parte dos pratos não estava disponível. Por outro lado, o restaurante Tazza Café tinha preços ainda melhores e estava servindo o que aparecia no menu. O principal problema foi que o hotel, próximo do aeroporto internacional, fica a cerca de 30 kms do centro da cidade, em um subúrbio de Joanesburgo. E o transporte público em toda a cidade é incrivelmente deficiente. Os taxis não podem ser pegos na rua. É preciso contratá-los nos hotéis e os preços tendem a ser abusivos. A distância de caminhada do hotel ficam alguns outlets de marcas conhecidas e um pequeno mall, que não chega a ser um shopping center, mas quebra o galho. É importante notar que o hotel tem um shuttle gratuito conectando com o aeroporto, que nos pareceu bastante útil e eficiente.
4 out of 5
by Nicolette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zutphen

Excellent first time in a new Silverbirch room

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Not to forget: a breakfast in the Petit Restaurant is a very friendly and delicious start of the day. Thanks very much Thomas & others!
2 out of 5
by MERCEDES from Buenos Aires

Solo para pasar la noche cerca del aeropuerto

Posted Apr 2, 2015 on Hotels
Bien por el precio que pagué
4 out of 5
by Stephen from Manchester

Good but needs improvement.

Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
Even though I made the booking with Hotels.com (and paid) over three months before my stay, the hotel had no record of me when I arrived. After a long day, this was irritating and unnecessary. After about half an hour, the management agreed to provide a room against a credit card imprint, and from then on, the stay was pretty good. By the time I left, an e-mail had been sent to me home PC confirming that the booking was found and that no additional extra would be taken. This aspect needs to be tidied up. The location is a busy conference centre on an extensive site, so golf carts take guests to and from reception.When I was leaving, I called for a cart but seven calls and two and a half hours later, I walked ten minutes to reception to check out, with no cart in evidence. I had agreed that in the circumstances, this "late" check-out was not a problem. Luckily, I was in no hurry to hit the road, so no harm done, but if I had been leaving for the airport, I would have been stressed! Needs a little polishing, but I would certainly stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Rando from Zürich

Comfortable Stay near OR Tamboo

Posted Mar 25, 2015 on Hotels
Quite and verry usefull