Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uk

Our room wasn't ready for us checking at 7pm

Posted Jul 21, 2015
We just arrived at the hotel after flying from the UK, we waited for the shuttle from the airport for over an hour to finally arrive after 7pm to check in. The hotel was really busy dealing with conferences and the receptionist told us to sit and wait for our room as it's not clean yet. After over 30mins wait we were offered a double room instead of a twin we booked, or wait even longer due to the conferences. We finally got our room key about 9pm. The food, staff and room all fine at the hotel but we felt like our booking didn't count as we are 1 room and the conference matter more as they had hundreds of rooms. Wouldn't stop here again or recommend it to anyone, unless it was for a conference and not a leisure visit or stop over as this is the only type of customers that this hotel are bothered about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

15 Years ExperienceI

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: Small details which they are always willing to consider.
Location: The beautiful, well laid out and meticulously maintained grounds are great for walking or reading, restaurants on site, a small mall nearby.
I have been staying at The Birchwood when arriving/departing on my annual visit to South Africa for the past 15 years. During this time it has grown in status and stature every year providing comfort, convenience, beauty, safety and friendly service all at 5 star level and a reasonable price. This year was no exception. I would not consider anywhere else. Looking forward to next year and more after that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seychelles

Hotel very well situated and close to malls

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: facilities such as gym, spa, restaurants but unfortunately the local grill was closed for the duration of our stay due to staff holidays.
Cons: wifi should be provided in the room free of charge
Location: location is ok and near major shopping malls with free shuttle service
Pleasant but could have been better if all the facilities were available and free wifi was also available in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2014
I stayed two nights. The reception was very kind, and the room condition was excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good experience

Posted Oct 7, 2014
The hotel was very comfortable and the staff were extremely helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

convenient for the airport

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Free airport transfer
Cons: Wifi in the room, quicker check in process
Location: Location is good with close links to the airport, in a nice suburb of Joburg. There is a shopping mall next door, but most shops seem to close by 6pm
We stayed here due to previous reviews and ease of access from the motorway and airport. Our rooms were great and the shuttle service on golf cabs were fun! Complimentary airport transport was convenient and the hotel has its own desk at OR Tambo airport bus station. Only downside was no wifi in the room even though they said there was, had to go to the lobby to do that
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: all you can eat buffet breakfast is excellent for $11 dinners are excellent excellent shuttle to airport
Location: shopping mall
I use it as a sleep/rest after a long , tiring flight, before going on
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place close to airport

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Very pleasant professional staff. Could not be more pleased with the staff's efforts to please us.
2 out of 5
by Mike from Canada

Bad experience close to airport.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Planes taking off and landing all night long and no way to abate the noise. No fan or airconditioner working so we had to open the old single pane windows just to breathe. Terrible design of the place means traffic and people in stereo...ie on both sides of the room! Mostly conventioneers so lots of shouting laughing etc till late We never slept the whole night. Owners need to teardown and start again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by OB travels from Rhode island

Birchwood hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Landscape surrounding, secured fence in area welcoming front desk staff, free shuttle to airport.
Cons: I email the hotel and never got a response prior to my arrival. It would be nice if shuttle was every half hour instead of one hour interval.
Location: I was in transit, but it seem tuck away from a major road, did see a shopping mall a mile away from hotel and a few franchise eateries(kfc/Mcdonald)
Friendly check in staff, room are spacious, old style tv, nice view from the balcony of tropical landscape, price was fantastic for my short stay.