Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent Hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Hotel is in an excellent location for Rosebank Mall and other things. Good quality spa and gym, restaurants very good rooms quiet and well furnished - cannot fault this place for the money nor the staff - everyone v willing to help
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Crowne Plaza Team, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Don Jesseman Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent business hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Smart, modern, clean
I stayed at The Rosebank Hotel for a week with 4 other work colleagues. The hotel is smart, modern and well presented within its cost bracket. We were very happy with our stay and the overall value for money offered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Rosebank

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Expedia purchase included breakfast but hotel did not have record. Had to politely argue twice and produce Expedia receipt for proof. Always bring hard copies!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2016 by fom, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza The Rosebank. We do apologise for the records not filtering to us with the Breakfast Inclusive rate which we will take up directly with Expedia. We do look forward to hosting you again soon at our Hotel. Best Regards Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

4 night stay at the Crowne Plaza

Posted Nov 29, 2015
My friend and I stayed at this hotel as it was within short walking distance of the Mall and felt reasonably safe. Nice touch from the General Management team who hosted an evening for Guests to mingle which is welcomed if you are there on business travelling alone. Complimentary wine & hot/cold nibbles were available. Staff were very friendly and polite and were always keen to assist.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2015 by fom, Hotel Management
Dear Jackie, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. We are so delighted that you had a lovely stay with us and could join is for our Management cocktail party. We look forward to hosting you back again soon and indeed to host more of the cocktail events. Kind Regards Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: Pretty. Comfy beds.
Cons: More wall plugs. Get rid of that horrible see-through bathroom wall! The breakfast buffet was expensive -- make there a regular menu option.
Stayed here for our couple of nights in Joburg. Very fancy and trendy, clean, and in a beautiful area that felt very safe, and also close to the Rosebank Mall which was nice. The room itself was nice enough but we booked the King Suite thinking that it would be bigger or special someway, but it was just a typical hotel room with a king bed. There were some weird things we noticed in the room: 1) It seemed like it was designed for a single person rather than a couple. There was only one set of complimentary slippers and one housecoat. There were only wall plugs on one side of the bed which was annoyed (both my husband and I use our phones as alarm clocks and need to charge them at night.) 2) There were no wall plugs at all in the bathroom, not even for a razor. The blowdryer and straightener I brought had no where to plug in in the main room close to any sort of mirror. 3) The see-through bathroom walls, ew! I think they were originally designed to be a one-way mirror where you could see out of the bathroom into the main room, but the mirror side isn't nearly strong enough and when the lights are on in the bathroom you can see right into it from the rest of the room. So gross. D:} My husband and I could have watched each other use the toilet. That was the weirdest thing I've ever seen in a hotel and the worst part of the room. We ended up just making an agreement to keep the lights dimmed to a bare minimum just enough to see, and we'd keep our eyes averted. Ew.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2015 by FOM, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. We have taken all your comments and suggestions into great consideration and this will be addressed. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon to our Hotel. Kind Regards Hotel Manageme
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2015
excellent location, nice restaurant, extremely convenient to the mall!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2015 by JN, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. We are glad you had a memorable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon to our Hotel. Kind Regards Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Decent hotel, comfortable rooms, outdoor pool is freezing, didnt go in. Food decent, reasonably priced, would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great location, secure parking, fun decor

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Super helpful and professional staff and attention to detail in decor. Location and easy parking! Comfortable beds and lovely bathrooms.
Cons: We had no complaints at all. We always stay at the Rosebank!
Location: The food at Rosebank is great, but for a change the nearby hotel "54 on Bath" has a lovely restaurant.
We always stay at the Rosebank when in Johannesburg. The staff is always friendly, super professional, and helpful. The hotel is immaculate and the breakfast buffet wonderful with an impressive range of choices and attentive staff. Also, a plus for JHB for out of towners like us is the location! In the heart of Rosebank it has easy access secure parking. A short walk to Rosebank mall and restaurants and shops. The decor is fun and playful. We had a meeting at the hotel in early afternoon and sat in one of the fun circular seating areas in the spacious lobby and ordered light food, which was beautifully prepared.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2015 by FOM, Hotel Management
Dear KB, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. We are delighted you had a great stay in our Hotel,and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to South Africa and The Crowne Plaza Hotel. Kind Regards Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windhoek

Nice close to several restaurants at Rosebank Mall

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Very good -slight but temporary current inconvenience of only one functional lift as repairs are ongoing to another lift.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Liverpool

Very good comfortable hotel near Rosebank Mall.

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: The staff, the room.
Cons: The lift
Location: Ten minutes to mall with restaurants and shops. Also the Goutrain to the city or the airport.
Excellent hotel, ten minutes from mall. Very safe area. Only sleight problem is that one of two lifts is under maintenance and sometimes there can be a short wait.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Alwyn, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your kind recommendations of our airport transfer service as well as convenient location. I agree that our bathrooms are not necessarily the largest in the industry but provide stylish comfort in an urban environment. Do make sure you pay us another visit soon! Alwyn Hoffman - Guest Relations manager